We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for a visit to London of 5 days or more”
Review of Crompton Court

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crompton Court
Ranked #281 of 857 Speciality Lodging in London
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent base for a visit to London of 5 days or more”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

After staying in an apartment in Paris and the freedom and space that offered, we cancelled a hotel in London and decided to pick an apartment. We looked at a Tube map, picked a main line (Piccadilly Line) and worked our way back from the terminus (Cock Fosters) through the villages/towns searching for an apartment. We came across Crompton Court and were lucky enough to snag a 2 bedroom/2 bathroom apartment for a reasonable cost, similar to what the majority of London hotels were offering per night. We were a bit worried about the location from reading some other reviews but as we do not roam around at night we went ahead and we were really happy we did. The location is terrific; 2 minutes' walk to the Tube station at Wood Green which has you in Piccadilly Circus central London under half an hour. 2 minutes's walk another direction to the a huge shopping centre and buzzing HIgh Road. Staying in Wood Green gave us a taste of what real London living is about with its United Nations of people, shops, etc and we took the opportunity to take some local bus trips too, in addition to some days in the centre of London doing the tourist sites.

Check-in at the hotel was quick and easy and the apartment was excellent. Two large bedrooms, two full bathrooms (one with full bath and shower, the ensuite having a fabulous fun electric shower: radio, steam, various jets, etc), large fully equipped kitchen including salt and pepper, tea towel, variety of sharp knives, dishwasher, fridge and freezer with filled ice cube tray, washing machine and dryer in its own room with a drying rack, large lounge with comfortable lounge and two chairs, Sony Bravia TV, DVD player, dining table for 6, and a bonus large balcony with sunshine streaming in on the sunny days.

It was a very quiet block, we did not hear anyone and only saw one family one day, the location was on a secondary road so there was some noise but there was double glazing so it was not too bad (putting on the fan helped to block noise) Central heating was also in place. Overall we would not hesitate to stay there again.

An outdoor setting on the balcony would have been nice; we took the dining chairs outside

Room Tip: the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment offers plenty of space and room to move (we had apartment number...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LydiaNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    14
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
37
10
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Apparent are very well furnished and clean, comfortable and affordable for a family, all amenities were available and felt very secure.

The apartment is near wood green tube station and Morrison so getting into London central was very easy.

It is a shame about the locality, the hotel has no control over it, unfortunately that is how most of north London looks like nowadays, with filthy streets and rundown buildings, walking the streets after sunset not advisable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mkhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed for 11 nights in July with 2 kids. It's good to see that pictures of the apartment available in the web correspond with reality - i.e. it's as good as it looks on photos. Well equipped and nice apartments. We had 2 bedroom/1 bathroom + kitchen/living room apartment - enough space for family of 4.
Near-by Piccadilly line Wood Green stop, it makes it easy to get to London city with 20-30 minutes.
If you come from Heathrow then Piccadilly line will connect you directly from airport to the hotel. With other airports you need to use train + tube combination.
Around the hotel there are good local shopping facilities incl. food stores 2-3 minutes walk away (Morrison supermarket and Lidl, but also few smaller food stores) and several places for eating out.
Very nice welcome meeting by staff - helping to carry heavy luggage upstairs (no elevator, but it's max. 2 floors up), explaining surrounding and giving out some essential maps for moving around in London.
Price/quality relation is very good considering London and alternatives we could found. We are quite certain that we would use them again when planning another family trip to London.
Only small "complain" would be about not having AC - but this is relevant only because we happened to experience unusually hot weather (+30 degrees Celsius) during all days. With more normal +20 to +25 it would probably be OK without AC.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller123Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed for 5 days in Crompton Court in June 2013. The apartment was very, very spacious and had everything one would need. Our unit faced the backyard and was a quiet one. The Wood Green tube station is a couple of minites away, so one can get to Central London in 20 minutes or so. The surroundings were not the best piece of London, yet how long doyou stay in the suburbs when you're in London. The staff was very helpful and assisted us with the luggage, as our return flight was late in the evening and we wanted to collect it late. Alexandra Park is a stone-throw away and is a nice place for an evening walk.

The apartment was very clean and the beds were very comfy.

I think the only item that can be added to the amenities and appliances of the apartment is an UK visitor adaptor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Very helpful staff. Very clean and well thought out accommodation. Little details mean a lot such as dishwasher tablets, tea, coffee, milk, clean dishcloths and bags etc. A nice balcony overlooked the road and alexander palace! Very comfy bed offered a great nights sleep! 10 mins walk to wood green tube and 20 from there to kings cross. Local shops and supermarkets all next to the tube station. Busy multicultural London area not touristy. We liked it and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jpgpvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Excelsior, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed there as a family with two kids (15 & 11) from Saturday to Friday and needed something decent that wasn't going to cost us an arm and a leg which is pretty much impossible in central London. Had considered the London Hostel, but this was almost the same price with great amenities. It was so great to be on the Piccadilly line - easy peasy travel to all the tourist destinations, just be prepared for a 20-30 minute commute for starters. Great kabob restaurants available in the neighborhood along with cafes and an H&M (needed to buy a coat because of the freezing weather). We were there over Easter and really appreciated the diversity of the location because our son had a fever and we needed an open pharmacy.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

So nice to come "home" to after 12 hrs of sight seeing. My friend Sarah and I stayed in #7 for 5 nights..Apt. was spacious, very clean and comfortable. Kitchen was well laid out (easy for 2 people to be in the kitchen at same time) and totally stocked with every thing to prepare a full meal...We had breakfast every morning and light meal when getting home at 10-10:30pm..Short walk to the Tube and grocery market...Totally enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this property...Plan to return next year...and yes, return to Crompton Court.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.7 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#388 of 1,068 in London
209 reviews
0.5 mi away
Linton Apartments
Linton Apartments
#27 of 857 in London
179 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roseview Hotel
Roseview Hotel
#232 of 555 in London
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Arnos Apartments
#269 of 857 in London
6 reviews
1.4 mi away
No photo provided
1.6 mi away
Lodge Drive Apartments
Lodge Drive Apartments
#177 of 857 in London
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crompton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crompton Court

Property: Crompton Court
Address: 120-128 Mayes Road | Wood Green, London N22 6SY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 857 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crompton Court 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crompton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing