We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wrong hotel”
Review of Elmwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elmwood Hotel
Ranked #385 of 554 London B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“wrong hotel”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

For the price we have to pay for staying in this hotel, we've expected more comfort, a good bed to sleep in and a bigger room. The bathroom was also very small.
The breakfast room was very small and there was not enough place to sit down.
I"ve have stay in any hotels in londen, but this one was the most bad one.
I'm sorry to write such a bad review, but this is my real opinion about this hotel

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Annelies d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear our guest,
Thanks for your review on this website towards your stay at the Elmwood hotel
First of all I am so sorry to hear that you were disappointed about our hotel service.
I do agree with you that some of our rooms is such a smaller than others in the hotel.
But this is because of the central location where the hotel located.
We are trying everything possible to satisfy our clients, and you should have asked to change your room or to resolve your problems with our 24 hours reception.
I would love to welcoming you again in our small bed and breakfast hotel in the near future.
And I hoe you don't judge us from one visit,
John Girgis
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    94
    152
    107
    131
See reviews for
158
120
71
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Hotel is situated 3-minutes walking from Kings Cross station that is a huge transport hub - so, it's very easy to reach city center and almost every place of interest.
Keep in mind that rooms are very small. This hotel suits for those who come to stay in London for a few days and don't want to pay much for the night.
Breakfast is included in price and it is rather good: juices, toasts, eggs, yoghurts, cheese, bacon, different jams. It will save you approximetly 6-8 pounds daily for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliza_ustinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Near the tube and trains at Kings Cross. small dubbelbeds. I misses the bacon and brand fore breakfast. Kindly staff

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I should have read the reviews before booking this place... Booked in a hurry, for only reason - close to Kings Cross station. Regretted about my decision from the first second as arrived... Place is unpleasant, rooms small, cold, smell in the corridors, internet - the slowest I've ever seen. It's far too high price to pay for such a s...hole

Room Tip: Chose another hotel, then you probably have a chance for the good room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback on tripsdvisor website,
Regarding your 1 night stay at the Elmwood hotel,
Firstly please accept my apologies for the unpleasant stay you experienced,
But most of your comment are related to the hotel standards, which you knew well that you
Booked at bed & breakfast hotel, and for en-suite room with shower and toilet , breakfast and VAT included for £40 , I beleive it is fair, however you are not satisfy about the standard, I feel so sorry for that, please note that there is many star rated hotels just few yards from us, just you need to your money out of your Wallet, and no need get all of this worry, at the end I would love to thank you once again for your participation on this site with your feed, you as hol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Hammerfest, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

God location and Value. Skall rooms, but in a very quiet street. Lost og restaurants and puls close by.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank RaymondR712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I don't know what to say, this was one of the worst hotel experiences I've had. The room never got warm enough to stop feeling cold (this was Feb so maybe that's why), the water stopped running after 10pm (this meant no evening shower or flushing the toilet) and the room was small even by London standards. The front desk staff did nothing to change my view, I was happy to check out after one night and forfeit a fee to cancel my coming reservation.

It should be noted that there is wifi but the signal isn't strong enough to get you past the first set of stairs after the lobby and will not reach your room.

Room Tip: Just don't do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bryagha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear our guest,
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor website towards your last stay at the Elmwood hotel,
first of all please accept my apologies for the experience and the inconvenience caused during your stay, I just wanted to let you know, Yes, it was a management fault, as the boiler had some errors and we were extremely working hard and doing everything possible to sort this issue with the boiler to prevent complaints, this issue didn't last more that 24 hours and it has been resolved, I would like to inform you this is not the level you expect of service< I do agree, but please do not judge the hotel from only one short visit didn't last for 24 hours, please accept my apologies one more time, and next time you will stay with us I will make sure the your stay more comfortable
please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assist.
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#563 of 1,068 in London
910 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#736 of 1,068 in London
543 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#80 of 554 in London
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#28 of 554 in London
220 reviews
Bloomsbury
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#56 of 554 in London
380 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#65 of 554 in London
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Hotel

Property: Elmwood Hotel
Address: 19 Argyle Square | Kings cross London, London WC1H 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Hotel is convenient for all London Travelers, leisure or Business travelers, The Elmwood hotel is located just few minutes walk from kings Cross International,National and local under ground station,where is the Euro Star Train & the Direct connection to Paris, and all the UK cities and Towns, also the very central Location of the Elmwood hotel gives you a special experience and saves your time,The hotel close and 15 minutes walking to the British Museum, and Library, also to Euston train station, and few stops to Madam Tussaud's Museum, and 10 minutes by tube to the west end, Piccadilly, Covent garden and Trafalgar Square, nothing else you need when you are in London to be in a very central location such our Location, we are proud to provide this family run business of 35 en-suite bedrooms, budget clean and nice accommodation,with free WIFI,and breakfast. All our rooms with private en-suite shower and toilet, LCD & DVD TV, coffee and Tea facilities in the room,24 hours central heating,room safe deposit,and 24 hours front office.if you think of arranging a sightseeing tour in or outside London or having a trouble to manage your trip in the City, you will find us helping you in organizing your trip and planing it for you via our helpful front office staff and our reception desk, we will great you since the first minutes of your arrival with your free London city map, and up to your departure with our shuttle bus and the direct connection transfer to your airport.Our Job is to please you and seeing you smile and returning back to us, with out 12 years hotel experience we trust and ensure that your stay is trouble free with Elmwood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms and HotelsClick so you can book your Elmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing