We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DEATH TRAP... KEEP OUT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot Hyde Park Hotel
Ranked #1,000 of 1,067 Hotels in London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DEATH TRAP... KEEP OUT”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

i stayed at this hotel in March 2011.
do not go of the photos from there web site. the hotel is dirty, and unsafe.
after booking in, i got into the shower, within ten seconds four tiles fell from the wall and in bedded my foot. the hotel staff, are not from this planet. there is no first aid kit,the staff were not even interested that my leg was bleeding, not even a sorry. this thing must happen so often it must be second nature to them.
we were moved to a second room. the tiles did not come off this time, but i was electrocuted from the socket as i plunged in the kettle.
i spent two months in hospital, two operations, and the hotel refused to give me a refund as in there eyes, i did not have a good enough reason to have one....
Take it from me. this hotel is not worth staying at.
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE stay well away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Adriansnip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    56
    122
    104
    394
See reviews for
176
182
77
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The staff is really bad. They dont know how to deal with customers. They're not friendly and also try to charge me for things included in the price like Wifi. They wanted me to pay some services twice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
2 Thank RobertChichester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just stayed over for work/business, as had a very early start nearby. The room was modern, looked recently refurbished. Wood laminate furniture, clean and well presented bed. En-suite not as new, but clean. Can't understand the other reviews being so poor. I thought I maybe got lucky!

Roman on the front desk was excellent, friendly and courteous, and showed me to my room which was in an annexe.

Only negatives were only: one of the blankets stored in the wardrobe was stained, as was a towel - it was not dirty, but the stains had not washed out. Lastly not much toilet roll left.

Otherwise I was pleasantly surprised. This is not a Premier Inn, so I did not expect the best, but my room had a juliet balcony with large opening doors in this hot summer weather and was a modern clean room - great night!

Room Tip: Ask for a juliet balcony in the hot summer - though some street noise until late
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dixielolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked this place as it was one of the cheapest we could find and we were going to a big event in London. We were worried after reading some of the reviews. However we were pleasantly surprised.
The check in wasn't the friendliest but we went to our room, which was on the top floor, the lift isn't brilliant and wont carry lots of luggage so beware of that.
once we got to our room though we was really pleased, it was clean and well equipped we had a double and a single bed, towels and soap and shampoo were provided.
We didn't eat breakfast here so cant comment but there's a fantastic cafe next door that sells a fantastic breakfast for a fiver.
If you want luxury don't bother but if you want somewhere for a night close to the train station, this should be ideal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a perfect location in Paddington. It is on the same block as the District/Circle line Paddington tube stop. The Hammersmith&City tube stop is about 3 blocks away. The room was the size of a shoebox. The bathroom was very clean and shower was great. There was no AC, and the front desk personnel sucked. It's cheap and great for budget travelers. If you're looking for American standards of a 3-star hotel, don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmflucus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Only booked this hotel as we visited London for the night as last train was at a 10pm, Got it through hotels.com and was only £38 so we did not expect much. Checking in was quick and easy and we had a room on the top floor, room was very basic and looked well used, but was clean, everything in the room worked tv, hair dyer, lights and shower (not very powerful though). Bed was adequate and done the job and was clean. Would only recommend this hotel if you need a place to crash for the night and not fussy. Basic and seen better days, but done the job

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Rude staff and dirty rooms. We asked for an extra pillow and hairdryer but never got them. There was no blanket, we had to use the disgusting bedspread. Toiletpaper also run out so we had to ask more. Toilet was dirty and didn't work properly. Luggage storage also costs extra and also the wifi. We have been in the cheap hotels before, but they are always somewhat decent. Ascot hyde park was awful and i recommend to go someplace else.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annamaria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Tudor Court Hotel
#804 of 1,067 in London
615 reviews
Royal Eagle Hotel
#838 of 1,067 in London
1,060 reviews
Ashley London
#888 of 1,067 in London
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#686 of 1,067 in London
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hyde Park Hotel

Property: Ascot Hyde Park Hotel
Address: 11 Craven Road, London W2 3BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,000 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ascot Hyde Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ascot Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hyde Park Hotel Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing