We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Roseview Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Roseview Hotel
Ranked #243 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Decided to stay here due to it being walking disctance to the Alexanda Palace, we stayed during the Snooker Masters. Staff were all very friendly and the hotel clean. Only disapointment we found was the small breakfast buffet, not a large selection but very yummy!!! We arrived a few hours early (on the off chance we could either check in early or leave our bags in a safe place) and we were able to check in after just 10 mins of waiting! great service. Would go back and would recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

People do exaggerate things this hotel isn't as bad as people are making out me and my fiancé went for the darts and new year the hotel is in a great location there's lots of restaurants and bars just minuets walk away our room was small but was clean and I grew to find it extremely cosy it was lovely and warm and the bed was comfy I didn't find the hotel noisy at all we enjoyed our stay the breakfast is basic but I'm not fussed about breakfast anyway the staff on the reception was friendly and helped us with the trains and how to get to winter wonderland they rang us taxis when we needed them if we decide to come to the darts again next year we would most likely stay here again :)

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Quirky hotel with lots of stairs. Very helpful staff and nice and clean. Great buffet style continental breakfast with eggs and omelettes. Close to shops and restaurants and walking distance to Alexander Palace. Would definitely stay here again if going to this part of London.

Room Tip: Family room was great size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed here for the darts & NYE and returned home thoroughly shattered after getting very little sleep. We were in a loft-type room and, despite receiving an e-mail advising that the room would be available from 2pm, it wasn't. We arrived at 3.30pm and the cleaner still hadn't done this room from the previous occupants, so we had to dump our stuff and head out for some late lunch. There is damp & mould on the wallpaper, the shower has to be run for 20 mins before anything resembling heat arrives, there's a lightbulb out that means the room is poorly lit, but worst of all is the noise. This could easily be solved with some basic maintenance of the door closers on the door in the corridor and surrounding bedrooms, but they all slam, so loudly that our room shook and we were constantly being woken all night as a result. We were so tired we passed up on the breakfast experience both mornings during our stay. I wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKRDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Not sure where to start really, booked 2 nights here at £125 per night for the darts at Alexandra palace but we left after the first night and demanded our money back and here is why.
We arrived and car is parked in back ally with many people in that ally smoking and generally I was not comfortable leaving my car there, we checked in and our room was top floor in the roof basically, if there was a fire we would have no chance of getting out, the room was small, the shower was simply dripping, no power at all and the missis could not even rinse her hair properly, we went out for the evening and mentioned the shower problems when we arrived back that evening and was told there had never been any other complaints, seriously?? Also said he was not a Plummer and could not help, we went to bed not impressed but the real issues was to arise when we woke up and went to breakfast.
Breakfast is served until 9.30 and was suppose to be included in my £125 per night room rate, we arrived for breakfast at 9.20 and there was hardly anything left and staff already clearing things away, and then I asked about a cooked breakfast to be told you have to pay for cooked breakfast?? So I pay 125.00 a night and have to pay for a cooked breakfast?? It was this time I stormed to reception and asked for a explanation, the guy did offer us the breakfast for free but this was not the point, why was there hardly no choice for breakfast and why was staff clearing stuff away when we arrived for breakfast?? All Waht was left for us to eat was chocolate mini rolls, yes chocolate mini rolls, mince pies, cheese and cucumber, and cereal, the food was a complete joke and to be told we had to pay for cooked breakfast was the final straw, while we was in the breakfast room I looked online to see the hotel room rates for the same evening we were there and to my horror the rate was £65 per night, why was we charged £125 per night??the guy on reception could not answer, We demanded a refund and we went upstairs and got our things and left and spent our second nite in a different hotel which was cheaper and a proper hotel.
The roseview is under new management apparently and I can only describe this place as totally shocking and the breakfast a serious joke, when we handed the keys back to reception there was no apology and there was also another couple complaining about the breakfast, I would never stay here again if it was free.
I was basically being ripped off in poor conditions with poor food, I would suggest to anyone thinking of staying here to find a bus shelter instead, it is beyond awful, you have been warned.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayneshaw05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean S, Manager at Roseview Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review . I am very sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations during your stay at Roseview Hotel. We take all complaints very seriously and can assure you have been investigating and doing our utmost to rectify all the issues you mentioned.

I must admit that we were overwhelmed by the Darts Championship which made us fully booked due to the high demand for our rooms, which resulted in higher prices. Unfortunately the large number of people put a lot of pressure on the water system from reaching the top floor rooms sufficiently. However we are currently in the process of reviewing our water pressure system for the top floor and hope to resolve this very soon.

Our CCTV records show that you arrived to the breakfast room at 9.28 am (2 minutes before breakfast was due to finish). Unfortunately the Breakfast morning staff struggled during the Darts to replenish the Buffet in time as large groups of guests came down to have breakfast at the same time. However we have had quality circles with all staff to ensure that this situation is not repeated. We do try to be as flexible as possible and our Complimentary continental breakfast items include a selection of Cooked eggs, Meat cuts and Salami, Cheese, salads, cereals, fresh fruit, croissants, bakery breads, yoghurts and blueberry muffins and cakes.

Our staff did offer you a free cooked breakfast as a goodwill gesture and offered to change your room to a better lower floor room where the water pressure was fine. However you declined the offer, therefore unfortunately didn't give us the chance to improve your stay with us, which naturally left you with a negative final impression upon check out.

With regards to your comment about staying in a bus shelter, we find that an unnecessary exaggeration considering that our staff did sincerely try to help. However I respect that you were disappointed especially at the peak -price quoted. Our apologies again that we could not meet your expectations.


Best Wishes
Dean Sheriff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I stayed there for two nights and was pleasantly surprised by a reasonable price, cleanliness of the room and a very friendly staff. The room was nice, clean, no noise, the bed was very comfortable. There was a good selection of the food for breakfast. The hotel was very easy to find. I enjoyed my stay there and will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Silvia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here because we were planned to go to Alexandra palace for a gig. The hotel is very close to Muswell hill so we were able to get food nearby. The room was very small almost like a corridor with a bed in it! It was fine for one night but any more might have been challenging. Let's put it this way you couldn't walk round the bed. The carpet was looking very shabby in places. The lights took over all the space the bedside tables which meant no room for anything else.

Even though it wasn't on the road side, it was still a bit noisy at the back with people shouting. There is free wi-fi and there was a small tv in the room. The bathroom was clean and looked fairly newly fitted. Towels were a bit threadbare.

The actual hotel seems a bit like it needs updating, the furnishing in the corridors seemed a bit old. A few of the storage cupboards had doors that need attention! Our room and the corridor outside smelt of stale smoke which was quite unpleasant.

Breakfast was basic, omelettes were nice but the muffins were dry. No cooked breakfast offered just toast and cereal, sufficient but not brilliant.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1066girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
1.3 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#404 of 1,075 in London
217 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western London Highbury
Best Western London Highbury
#564 of 1,075 in London
505 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ramada London Finchley
Ramada London Finchley
#660 of 1,075 in London
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn London Archway
Premier Inn London Archway
#95 of 1,075 in London
693 reviews
2.3 mi away
Glenlyn Hotel
Glenlyn Hotel
#482 of 1,075 in London
537 reviews
1.4 mi away
Crompton Court
Crompton Court
#316 of 908 in London
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseview Hotel

Address: 2 Queens Avenue | Muswell Hill, London N10 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £68 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Roseview Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Postcode N10 3NR ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Roseview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing