We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Mediocre Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountain House Apartments
Ranked #692 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We stayed in the Penthouse over the holidays for 10-days. Based soley on the accomodations my rating would have been a poor rating however the location brings it up to average.

You can't beat the location. It is right accross the street from Lancaster Gate tube station and four blocks away from Paddington Station. Hyde Park is also across the street and it is a 15-minute walk to many other ammenities and shopping. There are also several good restuarants, pubs and small markets within a 5-minute walk.

The accomodations unfortuantely did not measure up to the rates charged or the impressive portrayal on the website. Also don't assume there is a grand lobby and concierge. There only exists a rotating manager that mans and office from 9 AM - 10 PM daily. Like several others have mentioned the apartment was in dire need of upgrades and repairs. Among the items which didn't work or needed repairs were; washer-dryer, heating system, light bulbs needing replacement thoughout. We brought all of these items up to the manager with either no action taken or attempts made with no sucess in fixing the faulty items. New flooring, painting, and window coverings would also be a big improvement.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ngkorte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Fountain House Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

Poor maintenance. Washing machine broke down, heater broke down , cabinet door broke down very small amount Of utensil.
Service is poor even we complained that all dryer was not working. Lots of things broken.
It not worth staying in this apartment at all. Very poor service and no compromise for late check out. We asked for N hour late check out. The guy said I hv to pay half day.
We spent in this apartment 2 weeks with 3 bed room apt and 2 bed room apt.
The guy did not care at all even if this is my second time here.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saoyai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

We spent a week over Thanksging in apartment #8. These could be fabulous apartments with just a few improvements. Ventilation fans in the bathroom would prevent all the peeling paint. Some paint color on the walls would add some interest and highlight the architectural details. There are no table or floor lamps - only overhead lights. The walls are completely bare - some lovely artwork on the walls would have made it feel more finished. A coat tree or wall hooks near the front door would have been welcome.

The kitchen has been recently remodeled and it is fully fitted, but not stocked well. There were 19 kitchen knives of all sizes, but not a single spatula, corkscrew, or serving spoon. 12 different frying pans, but no lids to fit any of the pots and no colander. I've never stayed in an apartment that didn't come supplied with basic spices (salt, pepper, sugar).

The bathroom is huge and there was plenty of hot water for showers. The tile is sophisticated and well done. Bad ventilation has caused the paint to peel very badly making the place feel cheap and dirty.

The beds are hard, but springy and not uncomfortable. We all slept well. The white sheets and duvets were spotless. It would have been nice to have night stands with bedside lighting. The supplied lamp did not work. A dresser in the master bedroom would also have been an improvement.

The living room is odd. There are two fold-out sofabeds facing each other. This layout makes it completely impossible to open either one. A glass coffee table between the sofas further complicates the layout and creates a hazard which we all banged into many times. There is also a large dining table that is difficult to sit around in the tiny room. The sofabeds are FILTHY and badly in need of replacement. We placed bath towels on them before sitting. Again, no floor or table lighting makes this a difficult room in which to spend any time.

The washer/dryer was the main reason we chose to stay here, but it would not drain or dry our clothes. The housekeeping staff graciously washed and dryed our laundry for us. Several complaints to the front desk did not result in any attempt to determine the problem with the washer.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GenericUserID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed about 1 week at the penthouse with 4 bedroom and 4 bathroom.
It is a nice penthouse, clean, spacious, every bathroom has bidet!, complete amenities.
Staff are helpful.
Very near to Lancaster Gate tube station and Hyde Park

Disadvantage:
You cannot park near the roadside since it is right in front of a corner. So it is really troublesome for those who travel with heavy and big bags. Plus, the lift is very small.......

Room Tip: Choose the penthouse :)
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smokey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

beautiful pent house at level 7 and very good service, very close to underground station, facing the Hyde Park every Sunday there will be a lots of people selling painting at the corner of the apartment.

Room Tip: if you come more than 3 person this is the place ask for pent house at level 7
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaZulkifli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Visit London 2 weeks ago. Stay with my kids in fountain house was a great experience and excellent hospitality. Now I know that London people and very kind and friendly. We rented 2 bed rooms apt which was facing towards Hyde Park....when the sun come up every morning a very gentle breeze will fill the apt with fragrance of flower and fresh air.
Apt was excellent and rooms were cleans and staff was very friendly and helpful...during the stay we were feeling like at home.
Me and my kids enjoy our week of stay in London and have lots of fun.We will remember it for ever.

Room Tip: I like my 2 bed rooms Apt 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nighat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We are a family of 5, we stayed in a 2 bedroom Superior apartment at Fountain House, we stayed end of August for 1 week. , the staff were very good and helpful.

Flat was nicely decorated and clean, Apartment had a good view to Hyde Park which is really a beautiful place and all you have to do is to leave the building

and cross over the street and you are there at Hyde Park, so many Bus Routes and also the Metro station is again across the street

Price is very reasonable, Location is fantastic, Service and Staff are friendly, the apartment itself is very nice and has A.C.

My other sister lives in America and next year we will meet in London hopefully at Fountain house.

Maid service is daily except Sunday. Just to say thank you for the good time we had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RgP293960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
London Elizabeth Hotel
#724 of 1,072 in London
1,515 reviews
Royal Lancaster London
#233 of 1,072 in London
3,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
130 Queen's Gate
130 Queen's Gate
#458 of 1,072 in London
203 reviews
The Westbourne Hyde Park
#113 of 1,072 in London
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain House Apartments

Address: 1 Lancaster Terrace, London W2 3PF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#363 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: £174 - £403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fountain House Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lux-ury Ser-viced Apart-ments in Bayswa-ter: if a cen-tral Lon-don loca-tion, good trans-port links and mag-nif-i-cent views of Hyde Park appeal to you, then look no fur-ther. Foun-tain House is a beau-ti-ful prop-erty offer-ing 17 ser-viced apart-ments sit-u-ated right across the road from Hyde Park (oppo-site Lan-caster Gate tube sta-tion) and within min-utes from Padding-ton Sta-tion and the Heathrow Express. This is the per-fect base from which to explore and enjoy the cap-i-tal with London's many attrac-tions close by. Foun-tain House is close to the shop-ping hub of Oxford Street, world-famous restau-rants of Queensway, fash-ion-able Not-ting Hill, Edge-ware Road and con-ve-nient trans-port links are on the doorstep. All the apart-ments are designed for com-fort and equipped with mod-ern ameni-ties, includ-ing broad-band, satel-lite tele-vi-sion, fully-fitted Kitchens and 24-hour mon-i-tored secu-rity by Recep-tion desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Fountain House Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain House Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing