We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful”
Review of Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #433 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Awful”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Travelled to England from Canada and booked this "hotel" online before arriving. First off, it is very cheap. For 2 people it was 210 pounds for 3 nights. Very good location, walking distance to Euston Stn. It was more of a hostel rather than a hotel. It was under construction when we were there, we were awakened by 10-15 Indian men around 7:30am (after a long flight,3 train rides + jetlag) we wanted a decent sleep. The lock on the door obviously didn't work because 2 men decided to walk into our room (2 young under 25y.o girls) and ask us how we were doing. All other hotels in the area were fully booked unfortunately. Asked for clean towels and the man behind the desk was very confused and told me we were given clean towels on the first day. He told me that it was a small hotel and the "manager" did not allow him to give out clean towels everyday. After sleeping in a filthy bed with strange men walking around 24/7 you will want a shower. I must say the bathroom was quite clean for a hostel. Very small but clean. Bring your own towel and shampoo/soap etc. We barely had any room for our luggage as the "bed" took up 3/4 of the room. There were brown stains all over the walls and cigarette burns in the carpet. DON'T WALK AROUND BARE FOOT! honestly if you are on a tight budget, a male, and only need to stay for 1 night MAXIMUM, stay at this hostel. Otherwise, book in ADVANCE somewhere else in the same area (many hotels within walking distance) and be prepared to pay more but be comfortable.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roxie266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    12
    38
    30
    102
See reviews for
27
61
21
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

2 young female Australians, we booked before we got to London. Upon first impression, doesn't look too bad, had to pay money upfront before seeing the room, big mistake. Rooms are nothing like the website, very false advertising. Ongoing renovation works, plaster falling off the walls, very dirty, disorganised, very strong curry smell. Hotel is run by a group of male Indians. We were given a basement room which smelt bad and had a window which didn't lock. Bathrooms were absolutely disgusting. We didn't feel safe and so forfeited our money and booked another hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brigitte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Goodwood Hotel would be honestly better to set more realistic expectations, if it were to turn around it's poor trip advisor reviews and proactively deal with situations like mine, where we (four business people) simply just walked out of the hotel having paid £400 deposit for 4 rooms. We later went on that evening to spend £250 each for a room.

As a marketing person, could I suggest that their website, keeps it real. Rather than call the hotel a Boutique Hotel, which I am sure could not be further from the truth, why not say.

The Goodwood Hotel is a very basic, hotel, think, bed and breakfast, with shared toilets and bathrooms and more that likely decorating in progress. Our furniture is basic and the rooms are small. If you would be happy to stay in a low quality bedsit for the night - "you'll love it here'

Then say "we are CHEAP", and if you need a no frills room for the night, just to get your head down or need a hotel for some illicit activities ;-) - then at 50% the price of the cheapest London hotel, we are the place to book.

If they take my advice they'll sell more rooms and build a great business within the niche of poor quality, cheap, low expectations.

On this Basis, I would love a refund for our stay for the free advice I have imparted :-) ?

Oh and although checking in was like visiting a 24 hour taxi rank booking office, the bloke served us had a nice smile and was welcoming :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpencerGallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I'm a london taxi driver lookin 2 spend a night in london but without payin top london prices,so this hotel was perfect for this reason !! Great positioning ,cheap clean no frills ......this place ain't the ritz but if ur payin hostel money I don't think u could do better...... It's 2 easy to criticise so I won't !!! Be lucky..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxiboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2014

On arrival I was informed our booking wasn't available due to them over booking can even though they sorted us someone where at a different hotel the whole situation was unconvinent and not ideal.i feel I won't be using this site again due to maybe that could of been the problem how the double booking took place

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel last night, worst hotel I've ever stayed in, 5flights of stairs to get to the room, booked a double room and no way was it a double room, the bed was like a prison bed! Cramped for space and the cleanliness was shocking! Stay away from here!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ash6262626367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

In one word...its terrible...however, the manager was cordial.
Please think twice to book at this hotel. Apparently, seems that the room rate is low but once you are there you will agree that it should be within GBP 20. The photos that they deliver is totally fake. The rooms are fit for pets.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#891 of 1,069 in London
148 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#541 of 1,069 in London
965 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#247 of 554 in London
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#56 of 554 in London
586 reviews
Bloomsbury
Judd Hotel
Judd Hotel
#239 of 554 in London
619 reviews
Bloomsbury
Leigh House Hotel
Leigh House Hotel
#340 of 554 in London
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Hotel

Property: Goodwood Hotel
Address: 38-40 Tavistock Place, London WC1H 9RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #433 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Goodwood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing