We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere for meeting friends”
Review of The Drayton Arms

The Drayton Arms
Ranked #6,080 of 23,877 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$11 - US$22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South Kensington
Description: The Drayton Arms Dining and Theatre is an eclectic mix of trusty local pub, stylish South Kensington nightspot and fabulous fringe Theatre. As sunlight floods through our floor to ceiling windows, soak up the imposing Jacobean features with a pint of real ale or over our hangover-busting brunch. On Saturday night, trade in your pint for a Cosmopolitan and embrace the sophistication of our prestigious postcode with laidback aplomb. Upstairs you will find a cosy 50 seat fringe theatre, with delightful shows every day including old favourites, new writing, cabaret and comedy.
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Attended an afternoon birthday celebration with friends. Leigh who manages the Drayton personally oversaw the event which was a fantastic success. The bar service was excellent and attentive, tables dressed with balloons and food (nibbles) arrived on time for 40 guests. Nice local pub with a welcoming atmosphere.

Jessica R

Thank XXXJessicaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear XXXJessicaR

Thank you so much for your kind review of the Drayton Arms.

I'm so glad that you had a fabulous time and enjoyed the party, food and atmosphere.

I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 114 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Made a reservation for 8 people in June - pub wasn't busy so it would not have been necessary. I can't say enough poor about this establishment. One member of our party ordered a salad and asked for no anchovies but got them anyway. She pointed out the problem, and the salad returned a few minutes later still with anchovies (she didn't bother to complain again). My chicken was rubbery and tasteless and completely unedible, and the "roasted" potatoes were so disgustingly rubberized that I think they were left over from earlier in the week and left for days before being reheated. The service was so incredibly slow and the food took a good hour to arrive in the poor condition we received it. Would not recommend and will never return. As far as the beer - I pay for beer not foam and this establishment serve big portions of foam. On a plus note, after my grumbles, the lousy chicken dinner was removed from the bill - it helped ease the indigestion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LondonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear LondonLee

Thank you for taking the time to feedback about your visit to the pub.

I'm so sorry about your experience and have passed your feedback onto the bar and kitchen teams.

With regards to the pints you were served, many of our beers are continental style are served in oversized glasses to allow for an authentic head, that said we are always happy to serve pints without any head on if any guest requires this and I am sorry that this was not explained to you at time.

Once again I am truly sorry about the poor experience you had, this is certainly not what we aim for.

Kind regards

Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Hoping to spend a relaxing evening with some upscale pub food we decided to dine at Drayton Arms. The menu looked promising but didn't deliver. We had reserved a table in advance for 3 people and were given a very small round table, despite the fact that there were larger tables available which hadn't been reserved. We placed our food order at the bar and were told it was taking about 30 minuets to get food. While we were hungry, we had no where else we had to be so agreed to wait. And wait we did. It took at least 45 minutes to get our first course and then another 30 minutes to get our main course. We were told that the kitchen was very small with only one person working in it and that an order for 27 people had been placed shortly before we ordered. The food, once it came, was fine but nothing special and certainly not worth waiting an hour and a half for. Given that it was a large pub with an extensive menu i would have expected them to have a kitchen that could handle multiple orders. If they can't they should scale back their offerings to those which the kitchen can prepare efficiently. We won't be back!

Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Wendy W

Thank you for taking the time to review our business. I'm so sorry your experience was not up to scratch. This is certainly not the level of service that we aim for.

As our team on the night said, our kitchen is indeed small, unfortunately one of the restrictions of being in such a beautiful grade 2 listed building is that we can not do much to modernise the building and make the rooms bigger. Normally this is of no consequence as we only have a limited amount of dining tables and can deliver food in a timely manner, however, the large booking that night had previously informed us they would not be eating and then changed their mind on arrival.

The team should have informed you more accurately about the delays and should have managed the whole situation better, I am truly sorry this did not happen and have now passed your feedback onto them.

I do hope you will give us a second chance if you are in London again.

Kind regards

Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Visited this pub with colleagues. The ambiance is excellent, with outside seating area, great for smoking lovers. Location is excellent. Waiters and service are average. pricy pub.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Mhaww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Mhaww

Thank you for taking the time to review our business.

I'm so please that you enjoyed our little terrace and outside seating an the ambience.

I do hope we can welcome you back if you are in the area.

Kind regards

Leigh
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

If you want to try best fish & chips, visit this amazing place!

After visiting Natural History Museum with some relatives from abroad, their wish to try some traditional fish & chips, was led by Google search to Drayton Arms.

Loved the place!!!!

Its just in the middle of nice quite neighborhood, not too many people, light and bright interior and not too many people. Ordered fish & chips, as asked by our guests, up until today, we have them reminding us of it.

Therefore took my own family, when they visited to same place, try out same food. And I wasn't failed second time as well!

The only downfall was that we came, I guess to early, while chef was on break, but seems like, he/she tries to make up for the wait with amazing food. And the staff behind the bar are great!

I really recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a nice place to sit down in west London, and try some traditional English pub food. You won't be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Meanextreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeighP73, General Manager at The Drayton Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Meanextreme

Thanks for your brilliant review of our fish and chips, it's certainly one of the more popular dishes on our menu and I'm so glad that you enjoyed it too.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Leigh Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Drayton Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Drayton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing