We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value for Money Quality Hotel in Central Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Ranked #197 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Carnforth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best Value for Money Quality Hotel in Central Location”
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Location just south of Trafalgar Square. Walking distance to tube with 5 different lines - easy walk to Leicester Square, Piccadilly, South Bank etc. Such a great location to walk or commute to other parts of London.
Hotel is historic building with lots of character. Rooms are spacious, very clean and organised... not a lot of fluff! shower rooms not bathrooms, but showers are excellent. Provide large flat screen tvs, pay to view movies and media board so you can plug in your own laptop, phone etc and watch via tv. Internet access available and free. club room available with pc's and printer on line foc with water, tea, coffee etc foc. children not allowed in club room.
Two bars and restaurants. Boyds have a spectacular lobby bar and restaurant behind, bar food including burgers salads etc. A lovely sushi/japanese high end restaurant and bar called Watatsumi. Both restaurants provide room service.
Have stayed in a lot of hotels in London but value for money with such fabulouse rooms here is exceptional and the location hard to beat !
Would recommend to anyone!

Room Tip: Great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank humberlouisesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    812
    219
    67
    27
See reviews for
520
729
110
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Stayed for 1 night only. Was on the front of the building with windows onto Trafalgar Sq. There were Two windows – one old fashioned sash, then a second sound insulated single paned window – however it was not enough to keep out the sound of the busses and the traffic outside. If you are disturbed by noise – this hotel is not for you, even with ear plugs in you can hear the traffic outside all night.
Reception staff were all friendly, although only 2 for a very large hotel means there are queues for attention. Rooms were superb – with lovely old fashioned heavy dark wooden furnishings – giving it a very plush feeling. Nice TV, free internet, tea and coffee provided, there is also a purififed water fountain on every floor – which is nice. The bed were very comfy. We had a twin room and the twin beds were very large, much wider than normal singles – but not quite double size.
Would I stay again – definitely – although I would ask for a room not opening onto the road – if they exist?

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tompel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trauk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

As our booking had been fairly cheap I was not expecting much, despite the other reviews, but this hotel was great! The room was nice and clean, the bathroom was clean and the shower was good. No bath, but I've never had a bath in a hotel so not an issue for me!
The location is probably it's main feature though, just off Trafalgar Square, we had no need to use the tube/bus or get taxi's anywhere.
We didn't try the hotel bar or room service though so I can't comment on that!
Really nice hotel, nice staff, super location.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

This is such a convenient hotel in London - so central and the rooms have everything you need. There is a large tv kettle small perfectly adequate shower room (never a bath and I have stayed in lots of rooms here on business) even an ironing board and iron in the wardrobe.

There is a free standing hairdryer and even an umbrella to borrow and some books on London.

The bar is beautiful with an incredible chandelier but it is a real racket - the chap charged us service (in the UK!) on serving two drinks and presented in a way that made you think it was part of the deal, he then put the change on the saucer as if expecting a tip. If you are from overseas we dont generally expect a service charge when we go out for a drink - just in restaurants. It was an utter scam on the hotels part. But I enjoyed the treat of champagne in a wonderful setting so you may want to grit your teeth and do it once.

The food is ok in the adjoining eating area in the hotel - but again as with the drinks mightily expensive -you would be better going out and up the road to Trafalgar. The Prezzos opposite is really good with pleasant service (Italian food)

I have never bothered to have breakfast there (yes expensive) so why not go out there are lots of places such as the M and S at the Charing X station where you could buy breakfast take it back and have it with a cup of coffee. There is a starbucks nearby too.

The room is so well appointed that so just use this as a base for work (bit far from the City and too far if your offices are in Canary Wharf) we happen to have offices off the Strand - just dont plan to have any meals there.

It is a lovely building with an impressive foyer and really comfortable basic rooms (no views generally) so I would recommend. You check yourself in and out it is pretty anonymous but the staff are pleasant if you need help.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarquisofCaribas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lufkin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2011

We stayed three nights, Thursday through Sunday, this was our second time to stay at this hotel and we will stay there again next time. Location, there are three tube stations and two train stations very close, so with an Oster Card and Map you can go anywhere from there. Oh and its only yards from Trafalgar Square, near the Theratre District, many restauants and a conveience store a half a block away. This hotel provided, free of charge, all ice(ice machines on each floor) and all the cold purified, bottled water you want, is available on each floor. Rooms are modern and well equiped. Staff is excellent. Internet available in each room and computers with printers are free on the second floor.
Also we reserved transportation from Heathrow to the Hotel through riversidecarslondon.com; we got a driver and prepaid costs to and from airport and hotel at well below Black Cab Costs with no meter costs if stuck in traffic. Our costs to the hotel from Heathrow 50 Pounds; Hotel to Heathrow 45 Pounds, very good service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRCZAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Trafalgar Square is an excellent location to stay in - Big Ben, National Gallery, Buckingham Palace, London Eye-all within walking distance. Club Quarter's rooms, though small are quite good. Make sure you hang out at the Sherlock Holmes pub for excellent beer and a 'taste' of the pub culture.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rd_hegde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside, California
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2011

Our family reunion was planned for Christmas week in London. We reserved rooms at Club Quarters, Trafalgar through Orbitz. All travelers were diverted to airports other than London for 3-4 days because of snow conditions at Heathrow. Everyone called this hotel and let them know we would not arrive until later in the week and why. We understand not refunding the first night (24-hour cancellation policy), but the hotel refused to refund ANY of the succeeding nights (totaling $1200, without the first night for 4 rooms) in spite of repeated requests from both the family members and Orbitz. Orbitz should not use this hotel or recommend people to it. I would also recommend NOT USING ORBITZ FOR RESERVATIONS SINCE THEY DID NOT STAND BY THEIR CUSTOMERS TO GET REFUNDS.

We we finally did get there, and asked about refund policy, we were treated rudely at what passes for a front desk. No one had the authority to speak to us and we were told to go to Orbitz. Orbitz failed to get them to refund five nights accommodation even though it clearly stated on our reservation that refund with 24 hours notice. The place was well-located, but other than that service was extremely mimimal. BAD CHOICE!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#196 of 1,067 in London
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,067 in London
3,668 reviews
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#357 of 1,067 in London
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue | Northumberland House, London WC2N 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
#161 Business Hotel in London
#165 Romantic Hotel in London
#169 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, London - Trafalgar Square provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 234 rooms at Trafalgar Square within the restored, historic landmark, Northumberland House. Featuring a spectacular entry hall, first-class restaurants and state-of-the-art amenities including in-room ergonomic work-stations and complimentary Internet access, the hotel is a true find. Just steps away from The National Gallery, Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace and other fabulous London attractions, the Club Quarters is an inspired destination for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters At Trafalgar Square Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing