We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a Party Night at Northumberland Avenue”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Ranked #195 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This was a good hotel in Trafalgar Square and I suppose because of the location the rooms where fine .... but I was expecting something a little more plush I guess.... the food in Boyds Brasserie was wonderful and the staff where excellent... and a great, quiet location handy to Buckingham Palace and Horseguards.

Room Tip: London is busy and all the rooms appear to have some level of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPUDSCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,623 - 1,629 of 2,315 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2012

Club quarters have got an amazing concept between the automated registration and check out booth, and the cupboard with all the stuff you need on your floor. With also free internet!
The staffs are very helpful and cheerful. I really enjoyed my stay. Not only the location is unbeatable, the place is really nice, and has got a nice relaxing feel about it.
I’m very happy that I found this place as I travel to London very often and now I found my new home in London. Will not stay anywhere else anymore, this place has got it all!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel. It is very clean, has modern rooms and was so close to many of London's excellent attractions. The building is the former Ministry of Defense so the lobby is all marble and quite elegant. We had some problems with our baggage arriving from New York and the staff was outstanding in trying to help us with calls and whatever essentials they could provide us with.
The hotel is about a half block from Trafalgar square, a short walk to the TKTS, the Strand, Convent Garden , the Thames and even Buckingham Palace.
If you want a reasonably priced hotel in the center of London..this is the place. Weekend rates are very moderate.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrich1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Perfect location for a weekend visit that included theatre and a meal in the west end. the rooms are functional clean and comfortable with soft, large beds. Staff friendly a check in, check out a bit chaotic as so many people trying to access a small desk. Recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Decent 4 star hotel in an excellent location - fitness room and free purified water on each floor - right near the Mall/Trafalgar Square

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012

For a London hotel, this place seemed relatively cheap. The rooms, whilst aged, were in good condition and relatively spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful and it had all the touches that make a difference like complimentary wifi and filtered water. Best of all though is the location which you can't beat - with 15 minutes walk you can get to Buckingham Palace, Picadilly Circus, West End, Covent Gardens, Oxford Street, Soho, Westminster or the London Eye. Trafalgar Square and Nelson's Column plus the National Gallery are literally 2 minutes' walk. I'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This hotel is in a very good location, near to Charings Cross station and Trafalgar Square.
The bedroom was very big, clean and well decorated. It was often noisy due to emergency services vehicles as the room overlooked the main road. There is plenty of space to do work if you are on travelling on business as there is a large desk and free cable/ethernet internet.
There was only a shower in my room (no bath) which did not affect me but others may prefer to ask for a room with one.
When I arrived at the hotel i was extremely disappointed by the reception staff. I was asked for my name, and payment method - no 'hello', etc, and handed my door card - I wasnt even told my room number or where to go to find the lifts. The room key then didnt work, so I had to go all the way back down from the 6th floor to ask the staff to sort a working key out. This was done relatively quickly but manners/apology was lacking.
Check out was however very simple, with a friendly and helpful receptionist checking me out via the electronic check out system. Check out took all of around 30 seconds which I was impressed with.
I had room service on two occasions - room service from the hotel was very expensive and steak, chips and a coke came to around £36 and the food was not of high quality. A different night I used the takeaway menu which can be delivered to your room, this was a lot cheaper however was not of good quality, therefore i would not use this again. Being in the centre of London there are plenty of better places to eat, however I did not have time due to work committments and was therefore a bit disappointed with the room service food.
The fitness centre is well equiped for a hotel with treadmills, crosstrainers, free weights and cable weights machine.
Overall, the hotel is in a great location and the room was of very good quality and size, but considering the price was nearly £200 per night on average, the noise and poor service let this hotel down.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unitedlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#24 of 1,077 in London
4,145 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#183 of 1,077 in London
1,265 reviews
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#116 of 1,077 in London
4,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square

Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue | Northumberland House, London WC2N 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#149 Luxury Hotel in London
#160 Business Hotel in London
#165 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £112 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, London - Trafalgar Square provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 234 rooms at Trafalgar Square within the restored, historic landmark, Northumberland House. Featuring a spectacular entry hall, first-class restaurants and state-of-the-art amenities including in-room ergonomic work-stations and complimentary Internet access, the hotel is a true find. Just steps away from The National Gallery, Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace and other fabulous London attractions, the Club Quarters is an inspired destination for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters At Trafalgar Square Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing