We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location for a stable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Ranked #199 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 December 2012

Aside from expensive room service charges, this stable is affordable. Imagine ordering a £3 bottle of water, and then being charged an extra £4.5 for the service to pick it up from the bar!

Anyway's this place does have an excellent location. Its within 5 minutes trot from the Horse Guards, which is perfect considering the prices of most cheap stables in London. However on the down side my stable housing area had an odd smell, meaning I woke up with a head ache. On the other hand the stable experience has been authentic, meaning I've never felt more like a lame horse in my life. Will I visit again? neigh!

Room Tip: The Corinthia is next door. Stay there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rybohamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,534 - 1,540 of 2,275 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2012

Pros: The front desk was helpful (provided us with adapter plugs, answered all of our questions, checked us in/out quickly). The room, the double standard, was clean & large by European standards. The Wifi worked flawlessly and in the event that it didn't, the room is outfitted with a USB internet connector as well for you to plug right into your laptop.
Cons: We had room 621 and the room was insufferably warm and hot. The thermostat was broken and the room would not cool down. The windows were not fashioned to be opened so we couldn't crack it open to get some fresh air. When we called the front desk they sent someone up with a small fan. While it was a nice gesture, the nicer gesture would have been moving us to another room with a functioning thermostat.
Location: The location can't be beat. There is a main tube station roughly 1.5 blocks away from the hotel and the immediate area is very charming and walkable. I would stay here again, as long as I had a room with a functioning cooling/heating system!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloud9shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I booked this hotel on recommendation from a family member, in short it's about 30 second walk from Nelsons column, so the location is great, walking distance to hundreds of bars and restaurants like Jamie's Italian, and numerous others. Covent garden is a little further on, but rich with bars and trendy shopping etc.
The hotel is a shared building also incorporating The Grand, in all honesty it doesn't have the wow factor I was expecting as the lobby is very small and served by a self service check in, it lacks the personal experience I'd expect from a four star hotel.
The room (number 264) it's self was booked last minute so I wasn't surprised to find that my view was facing a white washed wall about 6 feet away.
The room was on the small side, and very hot, the air conditioning seemed to pump out hot air regardless of temperature setting. Turning it off and opening the window proved to be a more successful option.
The bed was superb, very comfortable, on a par with Premier inn, and Marriott beds.
The room comes equipped with a hair dryer, and umbrella, which were a nice touch.
The bathroom was adequate, but showing its age, and again on the small side. No bath either, just a shower, which wasn't a problem, but some people may expect both.
Boyds bar on the ground floor is a standard hotel bar set up, seating is limited but the bar tender was professional and polite.
Checkout was automated and painless. Overall a good stay, but the location of the hotel is the primary benefit of staying here.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DixonDMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This is our second time staying at this Club Quarters. Still a terrific location...Clean rooms, good service ..Plus we got early morning checkin so we were able to sleep after an overnight flight. definitely a great location..right off Trafalgar Square ..near the National Gallery as well as a short walk to the Thames and the Jubilee Bridge..Would definitely stay there again.Great rates for corporate or business people on weekends. Do inquire if you can snag one of these rates.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrich1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a good alternative to standard London hotels having a more residence feel, with an excellent restaurant and bar on the ground floor. The rooms are big by London standards and well equipped with excellent bathrooms. Free mineral water is a good touch, but the staff are the key difference particularly within the bar and restaurant who are very helpful and happy to help; even when the bar is closing! Breakfast can be a bit crowded but it is worth the wait compared with usual hotels as food quality is very good, just plan for a later start.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nickg450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I was very surprised at the poor service and quality of this hotel. If you need somewhere to rest your head then even a travel lodge or premier inn would be better. You pay for the location but the rooms are quite basic. When we checked in the girl behind the desk was quite rude, not making eye contact or smiling the whole time and giving abrupt answers to our questions. We asked for a queen bed and got a double. Had no glasses in our room and took 30 mins to get some sent up. When we checked out, services that we hadn't signed for had been added to our bill because they'd made a mistake with room numbers. They did refund immediately but seemed typical that this would happen.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Here on business for an overnight. Travelling alone, so didn't use public areas. Used self check-in, as reception was small and busy on arrival. I did not ask for a smoker's room, but was allocated one, which stank. Rang reception and was asked to go to reception to collect new room key, after a long day I declined and asked to meet a member of staff at the alternative room. The staff member met me at the room, and let me in using a skeleton key, then told me to go to reception to get a new key, again I refused and asked for him to bring it to me, which he reluctantly agreed to do. Room service was OK, but nothing special. There was a microwave and empty fridge in the room, and the new room had a strong smell of disinfectant. At £175 per night with enough milk and coffee/ tea for 2 cups in a (small)double room, no biscuits, nothing in the fridge over priced under delivered, will not be returning. There are far better places to sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lincs-Lady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,068 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#184 of 1,077 in London
1,236 reviews
Holborn
Club Quarters Hotel, Lincoln's Inn Fields
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square

Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue | Northumberland House, London WC2N 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
#161 Business Hotel in London
#165 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £125 - £294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, London - Trafalgar Square provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 234 rooms at Trafalgar Square within the restored, historic landmark, Northumberland House. Featuring a spectacular entry hall, first-class restaurants and state-of-the-art amenities including in-room ergonomic work-stations and complimentary Internet access, the hotel is a true find. Just steps away from The National Gallery, Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace and other fabulous London attractions, the Club Quarters is an inspired destination for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters At Trafalgar Square Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing