We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Ranked #198 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a 2 night stay. The location of this hotel could not be better if you want somewhere that's close to all the well known sights. The staff were also excellent. This will definitely be where we stay on future visits to this wonderful city.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    824
    223
    70
    27
See reviews for
527
742
113
441
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As a couple of provincials working for meagre salaries in the public sector, it was painful staying here. We knew the price was good by London standards, and the location was amazingly convenient, but nonetheless it hurt. We usually choose cheaper options on the outskirts of London and travel into the centre by train but this time we threw caution to the wind.

I am sensitive to noise so I was concerned about staying in a hotel in a busy part of town. However, I have to say that, despite all the 24 hour traffic and hubbub on the street below us, we were not greatly affected by noise. This historic building has been secondary glazed and this is remarkably effective - although I still used earplugs to block out the occasional overly enthusiastic revving of engines in the middle of the night.

Our room was absolutely fine in terms of cleanliness, décor and comfort. The bed was particularly good. Unfortunately, the TV reception was dreadful. We also lacked sufficient pillows and had no teaspoons. We rang the reception desk for additional supplies and these arrived fairly swiftly - although it seemed to take a long time for the phone to be answered. Our contact with the hotel staff was minimal but we had no complaints.

The best part of the hotel is the entrance lobby and bar area, although it perhaps gives the impression that the hotel is far grander than is actually the case. The best thing about the hotel is its location. It was a pleasure to walk around central London late at night knowing that as soon as we had had enough, bed was not too far away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This is probably the closest hotel you can get to Trafalgar Square, less than 100 yards from the south side of the square, and what is surprising is that it did not cost a fortune to stay there. It is a great location if you are spending time exploring the sites of central London; Buckingham Palace, The Houses of Parliament (of The Palace of Westminster to give it its proper name), Downing Street, West End threatres, The National Gallery, Westminster Cathredral, and the River Thames are all within walking distance. Additionally Charing Cross train station is across the street and there are four tube stations within 5 minutes walk. There are also hundreds of bars and restuarants all within walking distance and a couple of both within the hotel.

The hotel itself is beautiful (you will rarely see me using this word) as the lobby bar and restuarant are a reminder of days gone by, in terms of ambiance, decor and service. Check-in can be a little unusual as they want you to check-in at self service kiosks, and more often than not the staff have to intervene to help you out, similarly checking out was not as smooth as it should be (but probaby because I was changing payment details, which the system could not manage!!).

The room was very comfortable, well-appointed and very clean. I had a room at the rear of the building so the view was rather unappealing, but I experienced no noise from outside and no noise from other guests, conseqently a great sleep ensued on the very comfortable bed.

I have no hestitation recommending this hotel to anyone visting central London for business or pleasure, I will be back!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ivanrmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed at Club Quarters Trafalgar Square for four nights in May, 2014. Conveniently located to Charing Cross and Embankment stations, and walking distance to many sights. Staff was courteous and professional. The standard room was clean and as advertised, no issues or concerns whatsoever. Housekeeping response to request for additional clean towels was quick and attentive. Wifi in the room was somewhat weak and a bit slow. Did not opt for breakfast at the hotel; Garfunkel's (restaurant chain) serves breakfast, and is on the same block, same side of street. Very pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shodapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We booked this hotel online and I was not disappointed. It is located just across the street from Trafalgar Square, a central location in London. It is close to the subway and bus services. The room was excellent, although strangely located on a "half" floor in the hotel. Nevertheless, it had a window that let in a lot of light (when the sun was shining, which is not all that often in London).
The restaurant off the lobby was good; we enjoyed their breakfasts, and one lunch.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
Because of it's great location and cleanliness, I am happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The really good view is over a very busy street. we stayed in the back and the room was nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Club Quarters Hotel is a beautiful place in a perfect location just a block from Trafalgar Square. The staff is friendly and helpful. The restaurant and bar are excellent. We needed a wheelchair accessible room with a roll in shower and found the room to be spacious and well equipped. I would recommend staying here especially if you need an accessible room.The room was clean and we had a wonderful view of the tree-lined street below. The only problem we had was with the air conditioner and it was repaired. The windows open and that was a nice treat. One other thing about London is that all black cabs are accessible! You will need assistance from a traveling companion or the cab driver to get up the ramp, but all but one driver was eager to help.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurabok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorks
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Despite the beautiful pictures of public areas, this hotel was a bit disappointing from arrival until departure. At check-in the receptionist kept making comments about my outfit (‘I see you like blue’, as she points at my forest green top with a black collar. She proceeded to detail how ‘my whole party loves blue’ my whole party consisting of my husband in grey and myself) Bizarre but at least an attempt to be friendly. When we reached our room, one of the electronic keys didn’t work. Returned to receptionist who told me I must have put it near a magnet – not sure where I would have found a magnet in that short space of time, but hey ho.

We booked a Superior Room with Kitchenette but the room was far from superior, functional and 2-star would be a better description. On the plus side, it was spotlessly clean on arrival, even if it was never cleaned properly again during out stay (particularly the shower-room) Bed was firm, kitchenette has a full size fridge, microwave, 2-ring hob and some crockery, cutlery & cooking utensils and a kettle. There was also a table for 2 which was pleasant. However, we’d booked this class of room mistakenly thinking (from photos) there would be a sofa. Nope, only one armchair.

The bathroom was poor. No bath, only a shower with a fabric curtain that was too short for the cubicle so the floor tiles had lifted with the continual soaking they must get as a result. And only one hand-towel for a 2-person room?!

It wasn’t all bad though. On every floor is a chilled water dispenser with plastic bottles, extra blankets and pillows, extra tea/coffee and a few other bits to help yourself to. This was brilliant as I love having loads of pillows. Bit weird though is the sugar. You get 2 sachets in a pack with 2 sweeteners, a serviette and a plastic stirrer – seems like a bit of a waste to me!

Be warned though, we asked reception (there’s no concierge) to order us a taxi to the Royal Albert Hall. A very pleasant man arrived but had no licence on show or on his car, didn’t know where the Hall was and charged us £20 for the pleasure. Our black cab cost £12 on the return journey. I can only surmise the first ‘taxi’ was not properly licenced. If you need a cab, walk a little up to Trafalgar Square and stick your hand out.

The location is brilliant, but there are a lot of hotels in this area so do yourself a favour and find a different one.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EastYorksBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#178 of 1,068 in London
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#17 of 1,068 in London
3,714 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#365 of 1,068 in London
2,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue | Northumberland House, London WC2N 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
#161 Business Hotel in London
#165 Romantic Hotel in London
#169 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, London - Trafalgar Square provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 234 rooms at Trafalgar Square within the restored, historic landmark, Northumberland House. Featuring a spectacular entry hall, first-class restaurants and state-of-the-art amenities including in-room ergonomic work-stations and complimentary Internet access, the hotel is a true find. Just steps away from The National Gallery, Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace and other fabulous London attractions, the Club Quarters is an inspired destination for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters At Trafalgar Square Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing