We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant experience right in the heart of tourist London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Ranked #198 of 1,064 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience right in the heart of tourist London”
Reviewed 10 August 2010

My business trips usually conclude in London and I have stayed twice at Club Quarters since my company became members. Club Quarters provides comfortable and functional accomodations for business travelers. On weekends, the rates available to travelers (whose firms are members) are a steal (though you must email or call the hotel directly to get the rates). I paid about $145/night to stay literally steps from Trafalgar Square and minutes from a lot of the key highlights of London. The accomodations are quite comfortable and spacious (for Europe), and in my multiple stays at Club Quarters in London and the states have always had a positive stay experience.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMS171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    963
    802
    217
    67
    27
See reviews for
513
716
110
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2010

Having stayed at Club Quarters before in the US I didn't expect a lot when we booked this. However my friend and I were pleasantly surprised we arrived. Though our room was as far as you could get from the elevators it was clean and bright. It was great to be able to open up the window and let the fresh air in instead of having to have the air conditioning going all the time.

The location was excellent to for seeing a lot of the attractions in London. We either walked or took the Tube to places (the Charing Cross station is just down the street from the hotel).

The front desk people were helpful enough though probably not the friendliest I've ever encountered. Folks at the bar though were definitely top notch.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2010

We booked this hotel for 2 nights in May through londontown.com and pretty much revolved our whole weekend around the hotel, we booked theatre tickets for a show nearby and a restaurant that was within walking distance. We arrived at the hotel only to be told by a very rude receptionist that we were not on the booking and had "accidentally" been booked into a hotel right across town. She claimed that the website had made the mistake even though it clearly said that hotel on our booking form. We found her quite rude, in particular when she claimed that rooms in that hotel go for 3 times what we had paid, making us feel like we didn't deserve to stay there! She then booked a taxi for us to go to the other hotel which took around half an hour because of the bad traffic. It also meant getting the tube everywhere as we were in the business district of London and meant we couldn't see as much of London as we wanted to. When we arrived home we got in touch with londontown.com and they assured us we were booked with the Trafalgar Square hotel, we then made a complaint to the hotel and have heard nothing back since. We wondered when returning, because we got the room for a cheap price, whether they had sold the room to someone who had been prepared to pay more therefore putting us in a lower star hotel in a less desirable area.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank SazBroughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2010 with our 3-year old. Absolutely loved the location! We could walk it down in quick time to Buckingham Palace and Westminster and catch the tube nearby for other attractions! We stayed in a studio room which was fairly comfortable for the three of us. The automated check-in and check-out were convenient enough to use contrary to some of the other experiences posted here on TripAdvisor. A tad expensive at around $300 per night but, all in all, definitely worth it if you are traveling with young children and need a central location for sightseeing in London! The Garfunkel's restaurant down the road and the Tesco Express next to it were convenient for a quick meal/snack before embarking on more sightseeing outings. Tried room service from the restaurant downstairs but, found the service and food fairly average.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garimell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
265 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

After an aweful experience at another London hotel we moved to the Club Quarters. Wow. What a difference. Arrived very early and our room was not ready. They quickly grabbed and stored our bags. When we returned late at night thay were carefully placed in our room that had a great view of London. Huge king bed. Lots of storage. Nice bathroom. Free bottled filtered water. Free expresso, capacino or lattes. Friendly helpful staff. Free laundry including soap. Wow. A great stay and great time. Right off Trafalger Square so close to evrything. Easy access tot the Charing Cross tube station. It was very warm, no problem. A nice fan and voila. I loved this place and will return

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Have stayed in several Club Quarters over the years and they are consistently good value for money. Rooms comfortable and well set up for business traveller. Usually you don't get a bath which I think is a shame as nice to soak in a hot tub after a busy day in the city, but it seems showers are the standard. Bit skimpy on the towels too - they are no way 'bath' size towels. Standard set of toiletries not very comprehensive either - bring your own shower cap if you use one. Bedroom good though - big desk, lots of power points, flat screen TV well positioned, large display alarm clock, and even some books about London to hand. I have always stayed at the back of the hotel and the views are of internal buildings unless you are on the top floor - ask for a high floor for more daylight if that's important for you. Worst thing for me is the check-in using a machine on the ground floor - rooms automatically allocated and feels very impersonal. Staff on hand if goes wrong though. Not a luxurious hotel by miles but perfectly adequate and great value for money given its location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Currie_McCormick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

Having been warned about the high costs and tight spaces associated with London hotels, I was shocked at the value and comfort afforded at the Club Quarters at Trafalgar Square. The hotel is less than one block from the square and a short walk from a number of attractions. I was overwhelmed with the many options London has but feel I lucked out with one of the best locations imaginable for a first-time visitor.

This hotel has more than just location going for it. The facilities are clean, modern, and well maintained. The check-in area is a bit tight, but there is a lobby space on the first (second for us Americans) floor that gives guests some elbow room. The second floor also features two computer terminals with access to free printing, which came in handy when I needed to print out directions on my way out of town.

I was given a street-facing room several floors up and had no issues with noise. In fact, I was surprised by how quiet it was at night! The room was spacious by European standards and was appointed with everything I needed. Comfy bed? Check. Desk space with free wi-fi? Check. Flat-screen TV with decent channel selection? Check. Clean bathroom? Check. My only beef is the location of the flush buttons for the toilet, which are directly behind where the lid goes when it is put up.

Welcome added bonuses are the free refillable water bottles and the filtered water dispensers in the hallways. I filled up every day before setting out and did not become dehydrated as a result. If only every hotel did this instead of pushing off overpriced water bottles that inevitably pollute landfills after a single use!

Overall, I was very happy with my stay and recommend this hotel to everyone, especially first-time visitors. Tube access is great and Waterloo Station is not too far away, so business travelers and return visitors should find this location good as well.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davdaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#188 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Citadines Trafalgar Square London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
The Royal Horseguards
The Royal Horseguards
#105 of 1,064 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,514 reviews
St. James's
The Trafalgar Hotel
The Trafalgar Hotel
#361 of 1,064 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Address: 8 Northumberland Avenue | Northumberland House, London WC2N 5BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in London
#161 Business Hotel in London
#165 Romantic Hotel in London
#169 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square 4*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, London - Trafalgar Square provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere with 234 rooms at Trafalgar Square within the restored, historic landmark, Northumberland House. Featuring a spectacular entry hall, first-class restaurants and state-of-the-art amenities including in-room ergonomic work-stations and complimentary Internet access, the hotel is a true find. Just steps away from The National Gallery, Big Ben, The Houses of Parliament, Buckingham Palace and other fabulous London attractions, the Club Quarters is an inspired destination for business or leisure travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Quarters At Trafalgar Square Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing