We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient & Good Value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Presidential Apartments Kensington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Presidential Apartments Kensington
Ranked #81 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Norway
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Convenient & Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I booked this after an internet search for hotels in London where I was travelling to for a few days with my son.

The building is located in a quiet street close to Earls Court Underground Station. The property is not designated as a hotel but Serviced Apartments. There is a 24 hour reception where the staff were extremely helpful. We had a De Luxe one bedroomed apartment on the 3rd floor (of four). The room came with very possible extra, Cooking facilities, all utilities, dishwasher, washing machine, knives, forks glasses, etc. The bedroom and the living area each had seperate flatscreen TV and DVD player. There was even a bowl of fresh fruit on the table. The beds though relatively narrow were very comfortable. We had a room facing the gardens at the back of the building.

Close by, 2 minutes walk was Earls Court High Street with pubs, shops, Post Office etc.
The Tube Station with access to the rest of London is here. A trip from Earls Court to Covent Garden takes about 15 minutes with trains leaving every two minutes. All in all I'd recommend this property highly especially for families. The apartment we had could sleep up to 4 people and the cost was very reasonable (around 110UKP/night). I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the garden side are very pleasant. I'd probably ask for a room on the top floor next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presk, Manager at Presidential Apartments Kensington, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for writing such a nice review about our apartments and wish to welcome you in the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    217
    88
    34
    33
See reviews for
273
86
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houten, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Last January when I planned our trip to London, I came across the Presidential Kensington. They offered rooms for three adults, at a decent price including 20 % off. I booked one for a weekend in march, when I would take my two teenage boys to London. There was a sofa bed involved, but I didn't worry. Didn't the sign depict three adults, meaning that the sofabed would be big enough? My assumption proved wrong! Two weeks before departure, I came across some very disturbing reviews regarding this hotel, stating that the sofa bed was very small. I called booking.com about this and asked if they could contact the hotel to check the actual size of this bed. The shortest of my boys is 1.9m and I wanted to make sure he would fit in the bed. It turned out, the sofa was 1.50m wide and 1,70m long! No way any of us was going to fit in there! We asked the hotel for a solution. They couldn't place an extra bed, they said. The sofa was good for a grown up! We asked if we could annul the reservation or book an extra room for the same price we had booked the first one in january. They replied that the reservation was non-refundable and that we could only book an extra room for the full amount. Finally, when booking.com contacted them for the fourth time, they offered to put an inflatable (!) bed in the room. By that time I was so angry with this hotel for misinforming their customers on their booking site and not taking any responsibility for it (they actually told the person helping us at booking.com that we should have checked the size of the sofa bed with them in advance!) that we didn't go there at all. I found a five-star hotel, closer to the centre of London for about the same price the Not-so-Presidential-Apartments thought were going to sell us the second room for, alone. So, let this be a warning for anyone traveling with a company of three: the sofa bed is for small children only!

Room Tip: Take two if you are traveling with a company of three.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank annes64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

This is a great apartment complex two minutes of walk from Earl's Court Tube station. Rooms are quite big and have all required equipment. Sofa bed is not so comfortable and balconies shown on the web page are only present in Presidential Suites, but otherwise delivers what is promised. Free Wifi and rich cable TV add to the value.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leventmolla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed at the Presidential Apartments Kensington last week for our first visit to London. We were there for one week. I honestly don't think the others who have posted here have stayed at the same location as we did! From check in to check out we had a fantastic experience. We stayed in a one bedroom open floor plan apartment that was extremely large with a separate kitchen. We had all the amenities described, dishwasher, large refridgerator,oven and washer/dryer. Not to mention the 2 large flatscreen tv's, dvd player and cd player. The wireless internet worked fine. Like others we had a little trouble figuring out how to use some of the amenities but after reading the very detailed instruction book that was in the apartment, it was absolutely no problem. When we did have problems(heat being the major one) someone came to the apartment and showed us how to shut the heat off. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly providing us with directions to various restaurants and different sights.
The apartment was immaculately spotless! It was cleaned daily and they even did my breakfast dishes, which wasn't expected. I would categorize the washer/dryer as just a washer. It is a combo aplliance and quite simply it is impossible to turn a washing machine into a dryer. The heat coming out was just too damp. Thank goodness it was just a small load of whites which dried quickly in the room, after a 4 hr cycle in the "dryer".
The location was fantastic as the Earl's Ct. station has 3 lines running from it- which gets you to virtually anywhere in London. I didn't realize how important that was prior to booking the apartment but I was very glad it worked out that way!
There were several great pub's/restaurants within walking distance so after a long day of sightseeing we could come back to our apartment and not have to wander very far for a great meal.
As far as the reference to noise and construction, we heard nothing and we slept with our windows open every night. We had an extremely mild week of weather by London standards.
Our apartment( #305) was virtually soundproof. We heard no one around us or any outside noise at all. Previous suggestions had recommended asking for a higher floor for less noise which is what we did.
I would highly recommend this apartment. It was worth every penney!

Room Tip: We had room #305 and it was very quiet. It overlooked the back courtyard and neighborhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelluvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Very large rooms with all the ammenities that you can imagine. Perfect for our three-people family. The coach easily turned into a confortable bed. Two large flat screen TV's and a kitchen are little perks. The small remarks: the heating system is too complicated and the (small) bathrooms was so hot, it felt like a sauna. There was bath, but a very large shower. I always take showers, so that was fine for me.
The location is perfect, close to Earl's Court. There is no restaurant, but who cares with lots of pubs and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. A breakfast was brought to the room in the morning. Perfect!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathias19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
234 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

First, the good: the hotel is modern, clean, and the staff are friendly.

Plus it's great to have a kitchen and refrigerator in London.

Now, the negative: the hardwood floors creaked, the light/temperature controls were ridiculously complicated, a little too 'high-tech' for our taste.

We booked via a special offer, but it was still expensive considering the size of the room.

The hotel is in a neighborhood where there is heavy construction (late February 2012), which gave me a headache.

Overall, disappointing.

Room Tip: Avoid the basement rooms, room 303 is small but good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanCDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We booked an Executive Studio, which supposed to be a superior room. The room in terms of space and equipment was ok, but it was located on the basement under and back of the building having a view of a wall 2 meters from all the windows!
And this was under a "special offer" of 170 euros/night !!!
What a rip-off...

Insulation was inexistent. We were able to hear everything from next room! Talking, doors closing, toilet flushes etc. Having that in mind, add 2 children ~10 years old playing and running all day and you have the perfect place you cannot sleep!

One day we left the bedroom at 08.30 and returned at 16.30. The room was not cleaned until then! We said nothing, we putted the do not disturb on the door and we felt to sleep a couple of hours. The cleaning services although we had the do not disturb sign they knocked on our door once. We didn't reply and a couple of minutes later they also called us on the phone (!) to ask to clean the room!..
I guess they are cleaning randomly, without schedule, and do not disturb means nothing to them.

However, we didn't complaint for anything of the above and the only thing we asked after four days of staying there was instead of 12.00 to checkout an hour later at 13.00. And they said that the best they can do is 12.30 because they will not have time to clean the room (which they couldn't clean until 16.30 the previous day).

Amateurs & overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gadgetakias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#188 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Henley House Hotel
Henley House Hotel
#280 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Marylebone
Presidential  Apartments
Presidential Apartments
#89 of 828 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidential Apartments Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidential Apartments Kensington

Property: Presidential Apartments Kensington
Address: 6-12 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 828 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidential Apartments Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Presidential Apartments Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidential Apartments Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing