We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Cheap isn't always worth it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #253 of 573 London B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
“Going Cheap isn't always worth it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I don't really have anything good to say about this hotel. It was certainly the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. My friend and I stayed for a week, during which time housekeeping only showed up one on the final day to bring towels. The Wifi only worked a few days during the trip, and the shower didn't work, so we had to atke baths. The continental breakfast was never open on time so we never had a chance to check that. We tried calling the front desk several times, but no one ever answered the phone. I could not in good conscience recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    14
    17
    14
    18
See reviews for
17
20
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

Booked this over the internet as a hotel & accepted it's description, however on arrival it was clear it was not as described. It was dirty & run down from the outside & worse inside, & room was appalling, run down & dirty. Clearly it was 'digs' & not a hotel for traveller/holiday maker. We paid £90 for 1 night stay which was extortionate (also now note hotel double room is advertised as being up to £65, so don't know where £90 price came from).Wish we had taken photos but was in shock & didn't stay long as fortunately we had a choice & spent less than 2 minutes in the place before leaving & booking in the Hilton in Islington for not much more. If the owners have any conscience they will give the money we paid to a homeless charity or spend it on doing it up for the poor souls who have no choice but to stay there. Book this 'hotel' at your peril !!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

horrible place there is no1 at reception half the time, its a good ten minutes walk from the majority of the shops, along a long winding road and then a bridge, theres no way its a `stone throw` from golders green road, as i was originally told.
also if you have shopping bags, it takes a good 15 minutes to drag it all the way round too.


the wifi is abysmal, the room has a very stale old smell to it, the building feels clostrophobic, campy and little space to move around, there is mould on some of the ceilings,

if you want budget, this is for you
if you want comfort, find somewhere else and pay a bit more

this hotel definatly resembles the saying `you get what you pay for`

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank c b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2010

Booked this hotel as I needed a place to stay at short noticeand the premier inns etc had no vacancies in this part of London. That is all that it is suitable for. The staff are very helpful but only the actual bed sheets seemed clean. The rest of the bedding, the curtains, carpet and bathroom are dreadful. The reception desk is only open at certain hours. It is cheap but not worth the money as the whole place needs cleaned and painted.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatcitynext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Good location, easy access to transportation, good breakfast..
Staff cooperative. Clean sheets and washroom.
I would stay there gain if they would replace old blankets and bed spreads for new ones. It was not pretty pulling an old ugly blanket over you to sleep at nights, it just did not feel good.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pink014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

We only stayed here because it was the cheapest en suite room we could find in London while we were moving flats. Luckily it is also in our neighborhood in North London. If you are not from London, be aware that there is nothing "central" about this hotel. It lies in Golders Green, which is a neighborhood in North London (zone 3). It is a nice area and the hotel is walking distance to the tube.

I am not picky, but this place was so unreasonably run-down... paint peeling off the walls, old shower with chipped tile, dank smell, old shabby blankets, filthy glasses and tea cups in the room. We never tried the breakfast for fear that it wouldn't be sanitary.

Also the boiler broke down one day and we had no hot water. We were made to take all of our toiletries and change of clothes to a room in the other annex of the building (with outdoor access only). We were told by the duty manager that we would receive compensation, but never did.

Also- the internet never worked.

Seriously- pay 10-15pounds more per night and stay somewhere decent.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Paddington Hotel
#858 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
South Kensington
Kensington House Hotel
Kensington House Hotel
#488 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#988 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Croft Court Hotel
#78 of 573 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
The Victoria
#117 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Anchor House Hotel
#88 of 573 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Property: Central Hotel
Address: 35 Hoop Lane, London NW11 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 573 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing