We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only a dump but a dangerous dump!”
Review of Central Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Hotel
Ranked #288 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This Hotel is an absolute disgrace, not only is it dirty (see pictures) but presents a risk to those who stay there. We found fire doors propped open using fire extinguishers and the extinguishers themselves were out of date. The last test date on the ones we saw was 2006 which is illegal and asks a number of questions about the overall safety of this building. The room we were in was filthy, there was mould on the walls in the bathroom, curtains hanging off the rails and thick dust/fluff where the room had not been properly cleaned. The carpet was covered in stains and looked as if it had never been cleaned. The television did not work properly there was intermittent Wi-Fi and there was no milk provided so we could not make a drink. There was no room telephone as advertised. Also be warned the doors are not self locking and must be locked as you exit. The only saving grace was that the breakfast staff were friendly and the sheets and towels were clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveM236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Central Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

The bedroom is not clean. The floor is not clean. It was very cold in the bedroom. The breakfast is not an english BREAKFAST. There is just the eggs the sunday not bacon. I won t come back at this Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Christian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Right, well
All I can say is this place needs to be closed down! I mean as soon as u walk in its like a hostel out of one of those thriller movies.
The whole place stinks of smoke and damp. The rooms are in desperate need of an interior designer and a contemporary feel. The walls are dirty, the curtains hang which creates draft and a haggard look to the room... And the beds are really uncomfortable.
The breakfast is pathetic, you might as well bring a packed lunch with you because you will starve.
I woke up to shower and the water ran cold for an HOUR with no reply or sign of reception to resolve it.
This place is just a joke to be perfectly honest. I'm not going to lie and help people wase thier good money here. Just stay at home with a take away and a nice movie. These people are a joke and the place is a tip. Dot bother

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qamis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I booked this hotel out of desperation for somewhere to stay, I walked up the stairs which were disgustingly dirty,with a putrid smell of damp as you scaled them! The lobby itself was a joke with wallpaper hanging off the walls. The hotel is well away from the centre o Golders Green with the parking very tight to say the least. Upon entering my room it smelt like a nightclub ashtray from 20 years ago, there was mould on the bath and generally dirty. That was enough for me so I proceeded to go back to the lobby to de,and a refund! It was the best thing I done as the whole hotel is absolutely disgusting!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smiffy1870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

Used to be a nice convenient place to stay. The elderly lady who used to work there was wonderful but now she's left the place had gone downhill. Twice they forgot to clean our room, so we had no clean towels, toilet roll, no tea and coffee or clean cups. One morning the breakfast room was locked as no staff had turned up so we didn't get breakfast. When we did get breakfast we had to keep asking for stuff like cutlery, cereal bowls and cups. All the tables were left dirty and we had to wait for someone to clean one so we could sit down. We won't be staying there again.

Room Tip: They advertise 30 pound a night rooms but for some reason there is never one available.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizgog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
London
1
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I don't really have anything good to say about this hotel. It was certainly the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. My friend and I stayed for a week, during which time housekeeping only showed up one on the final day to bring towels. The Wifi only worked a few days during the trip, and the shower didn't work, so we had to atke baths. The continental breakfast was never open on time so we never had a chance to check that. We tried calling the front desk several times, but no one ever answered the phone. I could not in good conscience recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Booked this over the internet as a hotel & accepted it's description, however on arrival it was clear it was not as described. It was dirty & run down from the outside & worse inside, & room was appalling, run down & dirty. Clearly it was 'digs' & not a hotel for traveller/holiday maker. We paid £90 for 1 night stay which was extortionate (also now note hotel double room is advertised as being up to £65, so don't know where £90 price came from).Wish we had taken photos but was in shock & didn't stay long as fortunately we had a choice & spent less than 2 minutes in the place before leaving & booking in the Hilton in Islington for not much more. If the owners have any conscience they will give the money we paid to a homeless charity or spend it on doing it up for the poor souls who have no choice but to stay there. Book this 'hotel' at your peril !!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
The Paddington Hotel
#874 of 1,072 in London
385 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
The Bridge Hotel
#634 of 1,072 in London
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Royal National Hotel
Royal National Hotel
#875 of 1,072 in London
8,098 reviews
South Kensington
Kensington House Hotel
Kensington House Hotel
#521 of 1,072 in London
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Hotel

Address: 35 Hoop Lane, London NW11 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #288 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £52 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing