We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendous”
Review of Hotel 261

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 261
Ranked #330 of 582 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 May 2014

First of all, The chap at the front desk was well mannered and ok, But this isn't about that. We had a one night stay as there was an event at the apollo. With the parking on top of the room it came to just short of £90. Our room was NOTHING like the pictures, It was horrendous. Hairs in the bed and shower, Stains of what i can only desribe as human fluid on the curtains and a bathroom you couldn't turn around in, The cups left next to the kettle looked to have been wiped out with the same cloth as had 'gone over' the bathroom. But that wasn;t even the worst part. Asda smart price orange? In a room that cost £90? Give me a break! Would not use again. The curtains didn't fully close so privacy was an issue and the loo roll was like wiping my rear end on a cactus. Overall not impressed :(

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob8789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Jorge F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Found this hotel to be a perfectly acceptable standard for the price. Nearly a mile down uxbridge road from shepherds bush station- actually its closer to shepherds bush market station, but it was a nice sunny weekend and we travelled light so we didn't mind the walk. Would be easy to get a bus. Clean room, comfy bed, friendly staff- much nicer than a travel lodge anyway!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natluckyno57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Yes it's a budget hotel but the service was outstanding. Manager let us park there even after we'd checked out.

Room was clean, bed comfy.

There are plenty of eateries nearby and some nice pubs.

The nearest tube station is about 15 walk away. And if that's too far...get a bus! They are very regular.

We were going to the Shepherds Bush Empire and this hotel is within walking distance. We come to London a lot and this is ideal purely for the parking. It's £15 to park for the day and well worth it.

Happy to recommend and would stop there again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel has lots of bad reviews but thought I would give it a try anyway. I was really pleased with my decision. For a budget hotel it was more than adequate. The room was modern, clean and well kept, and the staff were great. The only down side was that you really needed a bus to the nearest tube station. This however was only a 15minute walk. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

There's a lot of bad reviews on here, but when myself and my partner came here, we had lovely stay! We were given a room with a double bed, and en suite, that was quite spacious and had a big flat screen TV.
The room and bathroom was spotless, and we were given fresh towels and bedding. The room was really cosy, it was well decorated and had a really warm, welcoming and relaxing feeling about it.The hotel is a family business, and you really feel that personal touch that you don't get at mainstream hotel chains as the owners are really friendly and strive to make sure you enjoy your stay.
It's also very close to Westfield London and is a short bus journey away, and the bus stop is opposite the hotel. Located in zone 2, so shepards bush market station was the local tube stop for us to go in to central london, which didn't take long at all!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samsara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

One of the plus sides of the room was that it had walls and a roof. In fact those were pretty well the only plus sides. One other plus point was the disused picture hook on the wall which came in handy as there was no wardrobe, hanging rail or even a coat hook!!!
It was badly dated and the carpets could have been used in a period drama. The room was so small I went back to the reception to ask whether it was a single or a double. The furniture had missing handles and was not clean. The TV had a tick layer of dust. There were stains on the pillow cases and I found a lot of long dark hairs on the towel.
Sitting on the loo was a challenge and I am not a big person but I was in contact with two walls! I would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TartanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Venture Hostels
#710 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
East End / East London
Kip Hotel
Kip Hotel
#581 of 1,081 in London
198 reviews
Clapham / Battersea 
Clapham Guest House
Clapham Guest House
#144 of 582 in London
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Norbury Apart Hotel
#176 of 582 in London
70 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#343 of 582 in London
296 reviews
The Antigallican Hotel
#224 of 582 in London
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 261? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 261

Address: 261 Uxbridge Road, | Shepherds Bush, London W12 9DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #330 of 582 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £49 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel 261 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel 261 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing