We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd visit - just as good!”
Review of Slemani Restaurant

Slemani Restaurant
Ranked #10,741 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Marylebone
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“2nd visit - just as good!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Visited today after a day out in the city, arrived fairly early for dinner (4.30pm) but the staff were more than happy to serve us, and food came very quickly.
When i was choosing what to order, the waiter was very helpful, explaining that the dish i had was a dry dish (it was roasted lamb, with rice) came with a choice of sides. Top notch. Husband had the mixed grill and that was also lovely. Lots of breads included, so much so that we couldn't finish them all!
Yogurty drink was a bit strange, but i'm sure if you're used to it then its lovely!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank welshiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    9
    4
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Iraqi/Kurdish food and service”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We are an Anglo-Iraqi family who now always use Slemani for our reunions- Food is excellent. Portions are large, Service is good and the ambience superb.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calypsofish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Slemani Is OK...”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We decided to try this place as a change from eating at our regular.

The Pros: The restaurant is very cozy. The service was spot on with very attentive waiters.

The Cons: We found the food to be very bland.The dishes we ordered lacked seasoning. In my opinion eating food without the adequate seasoning equals a very poor dining experience. Everything from the Houmous right down to the Kebabs where under seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic chilli all the things that help pack up great flavors.

Would we eat here again - NO.

We will stick to what we know best - Ranoush/Maroush.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeandVee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible service. Horrible experience. Stay away”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I don't what happened to the service there. Its going from worse to worst. I have been there recently with family and I have asked for this famous Iraqi dish (Paja) and was taken back when they brought me such a cold, smelly soup with few floating pieces of meat. Obviously it was not the Paja I have tried few times with Iraqi friends. When I raised the flag to the waiter and told him that I have been to some nearby Iraqi restaurants and the service and quality of food was much higher, he answered abruptly and arrogantly said take it or leave it. I was really disappointed to find out that still in London that there is such a horrible service attitude.
My advice is that you can make the effort and walk down Edgware Rd and you will find much better better restaurants around. Stay away please

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Popular Middle East restaurant”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Authentic Middle Eastern food and one of the most popular restaurants along Edgware Road. The Lamb Tikka is our favourite, followed by the Grilled Sea Bass. Generous supply of Naan comes with each dish. Consistently good cooking, great service and friendly atmosphere. Prices are moderate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank EmFLoge33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slemani Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Slemani Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing