We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the breakfasts” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The French Kitchen - CLOSED

The French Kitchen
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Neighbourhood: Holborn
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Try the breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A full English breakfast in a (posh) cafe called the French Kitchen may sound slightly obscene, but don't let the name put you off. They do a smashing Eggs Benedict too. The service is swift, and off-peak this is a great location for a low-key informal business meeting.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TittiBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    8
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the Mac n Cheese, it is delicious...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

A bit pricey this restaurant, but well worth it - try the mac n cheese with a side of fries, it is delicious. I am ashamed to say I always order a burger when I go out to eat, but here I tried something else and I am so glad I did. I would recommend booking ahead if you can.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraMayWritten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
481 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Average French bistro”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

The first challenge with this place is what it's called. It seemed to have sneakily changed its name to Hush Brasserie between booking the table and arriving there! The result was that all our party walked past it several times. The location is a good one, however, being only a 5 minute walk from Holborn tube station.

My overall impression of the experience was average so if you want something reasonably safe in a central location, this may be for you, but don't expect anything stunning. It's not particularly good value - a group of us paid around £40 a head for a three course meal. The menu is primarily mainstream bistro with a few unusual dishes. Starters were of the asparagus and crab and avocado variety and mains typically steak and frites, chicken and frites, sea bass. All the food was OK nothing was actually bad but nothing special either. We had a couple of bottles of reasonably priced white wine. One small criticism of the dining room - which was generally very pleasant, open and airy - they have an open kitchen so your clothes do smell of cooking when you leave.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

We had two breakfasts and dinner here while in London because it was conveniently located next door to our hotel, The Citadines High Holborn. Actually, we had our first meal in London here. We ate breakfast as we waited for our room to become available. The food was quite good. The eggs were always perfect - not too runny or hard. The creme brulee was fantastic. I think it was even better than I had in Paris. The service was great each time we ate here.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bellaalma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

My wife and met up some of our US relatives for Sunday lunch. The food was only average at best. The crab and avocado starter was OK but small and not that tasty, duck confit was fairly good but lacked real flavour. My wife was disappointed with her choices too. Our US relatives were possibly too polite to say much about the food. At least it was good to see them and they were staying nearby so it was convenient. Some items on the menu were not available when we arrived at 1.15 PM, surely they had not already sold out, there were not many other customers. A Pimms was requested but the eastern European waitress said they did not have any fruit !

Only good if you cannot get in elsewhere.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Edgware_LondonNevuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The French Kitchen also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing