We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Doesn't deserve to be called an apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dylan Apartments Kensington
Ranked #431 of 566 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The room we had, no 315, was at the top of the building. To get there we had to lug cases up 3 flights of narrow stairs. The bed was squashed up against the wall and the mattress was so soft that you felt as if you were going to roll off the edge. The wardrobe looked like a very cheap diy job. The bathroom was the size of a bath. Outside was Warwick Road, it appears to be a main thoroughfare. You hear traffic all day and night, made even worse by the fact you will get ambulances going through with sirens blazing, even in the early hours of the morning. The room is stifling hot. If you open the window, you cannot hear yourself think with the noise outside. There is a fan, which doesn't help. There is no air conditioning.
We booked the apartment as being fully serviced. This basically means they pull the duvet (too thick for the time of year) and put a few clean towels out. The apartment is self-catering. We did cook a meal, but with only a saucepan and a frying pan, two hobs and a microwave, you are restricted to what you can cook. Being fully serviced, we were expecting the used cookware and plates etc to be washed by the next evening. When we arrived back in the evening we found nothing had been washed. We also found none of the bins had been emptied. We have stayed in other fully serviced apartments and everything has been cleaned and tidied away.
The shower, although hot, provides you with a trickle of water. The toilet seat is not seated properly on the toilet, so you are not sitting properly on it. The fridge requires defrosting and the kitchen sink does not drain properly. The carpet in the room and on the stairs looks as if it needs a thorough clean.
The whole room, looks as if it has been created on the cheap and with no care put in to it. It is not an apartment, it is far too small to deserve that title, It is just a cheap room in London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank del12x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

More than a week after no response at all to my written report on safety, fire, health and security issues to the single owner director ...my advice would be to look at the company register and assets and liabilities and various blogs and reviews about this 'chain' before you book and then whether the assessed risk is worth it and whether their corporate silence indicates anything...this Dylan Lettings Worldwide Ltd one of three ..Paddington, Earls Court and Kensington seems to operate differently judging by research across reviewers across a number of traveller blog organisations ...no room inspection allowed prior to paying, no response to complaints, 5% surcharge on debit/credit cards ...staff who have little knowledge of emergency procedures ...etc

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trailswest2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Let me start by saying I am a business traveller who stays in 3 star average accommodation in London a few nights every week for many years. I do not expect bells and whistles for £100 - £130 pounds. When I entered the reception another guest was leaving and warned me how bad it was. So I requested that I see the room before paying, I was informed this was not possible and after a long day and flight I agreed on the guarantee that it was a recently refurbished room. The room was horrendous and stank. I have stayed in better 2 star accommodation in third world countries!!

I got sent to another apartment a10 min walk away which was no better.

I have spent the last 2 hours walking around every hotel in the area and type this from the refuge of another room paid for at my own expense.

Book this dump at your peril.

Room Tip: Don't book any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scully390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The worst hotel I've ever stayed in, this hotel is filthy, we had no hot running water the shower was just a trickle, the carpet was frayed and dirty (Dangerous) there was a smell of raw sewage coming through vent into Bedroom, the staff were dirty very unhelpful, today after 12 phone calls to their head office no has replied to any of my complaint…… I would only recommend this hotel to my very worst enemy

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark7892013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

I have just returned home after a three night stay at Dylan Apartments Kensigton. Disgusted that in 2013 accommodation like this still exists.
Having looked on the Dylan website we decided to book 2 rooms. The website shows them all as newly refurbished but this was quite simply not the case!
We checked in at 60 Warwick Road and were directed to a building accross the street. On entering the building we were instantly overcome with dread. Bad smell, mousetraps, stained carpets, loose floor boards and a lot of damage were what we were met with on arrival. When we got to the rooms we could see that they had been redecorated but certainly not completely refurbished. The bathrooms were disgraceful. The shower had thick brown mould all over it and the mirror was held together with celotape. The bedroom was small with a single wardrobe in the corner which sat at an angle because of the sloping floors. The kitchenette was certainly not "well equipped" and lacked something as basic as a glass!
Because there was nowhere to hang our used towels we had to keep asking for them to be replaced - much to the disgust of the unhelpful receptionist.
We did however have a fantastic few days in London but had we had more time/resources we would have definitely looked for something else.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjsmith15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was a very sweet twin bed apartment, with small kitchenette area. It was very clean and fresh, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room looked out the back which had a lot of trees / greenery and birds. Lovely! However, the room didn't cope well in a heatwave. On the first night, at 5am the room temperature was still at 29.5 degrees. Provision of a small fan in these circumstances would have been appreciated (or install a ceiling fan). Also the windows were dirty and there were no plugs for either the kitchen or bathroom sinks. A 'welcome pack' of small washing up liquid, dish brush, tea towel, or kitchen towel would be a boon for short stays. These could even be on sale at reception. The bathroom didn't have an extractor fan - vital in an enclosed space - and some smells came up from the basin as it didn't have a drain cover. Also an old broken toilet roll holder and some random screws with rawl plugs remained attached to the wall. However, the main reason I didn't give a 5-star rating was because the stair carpet was so grubby and stained, all the way to the top floor. Not the best welcome on arrival! These are just suggestions for improvement, but I would still give 4 stars for a most enjoyable stay, and would definitely come again and recommend this accommodation to others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back; then if it's too hot, you can have the window open all night without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

WHAT CAN I SAY , BUT" WHAT A DUMP".
The first room we were in had a dripping tap in the sink (fixed the next day),a hole in the wall with a very loose grid over it(it was later the same day fixed to the hole properly with plaster) The shower head did not work properly so it was just a stream of water..At 6.30am after somebody upstairs had a shower you could here a continuous dripping sound from within the walls.
The second morning water actually started dripping into the bathroom through the electrical ventiliation grid, luckily it was not on at the time.
We were then changed to another room on the top floor (with some very narrow and dangerous stairs to get to it)and all the time (or at least at night) there was a tapping noise from within the pipes. In general the rooms are shoddy with old furniture and old curtains that you can't close properly, the bathrooms have absolutely no hooks to hang a towel or clothes as you are showering or to hang wet towels afterwards and the bathroom cabinet(for use of a better word) is useless..I would not return to these studios under any circumstances, or recommend them to anybody else. The only good thing about them is their location and the fact that we went out in the morning and only came back late at night to try and sleep while listening to the tapping or dripping noises coming from the pipes.

Room Tip: Do not stay here under any circumstances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missjudy59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#747 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington Court Hotel
Kensington Court Hotel
#834 of 1,076 in London
418 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#789 of 1,076 in London
656 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#559 of 1,076 in London
1,028 reviews
Earls Court
The Paramount Hotel
The Paramount Hotel
#194 of 566 in London
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Apartments Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Kensington

Address: 60/109 Warwick Road, London SW5 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #431 of 566 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £51 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dylan Apartments Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments features include private ensuite facilities with showers, televisions and fully equipped kitchenettes with a full range of utensils. Dylan Apartments Kensington is only a few steps away from Earl's Court Tube Station and "Exhibition Centre". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dylan Apartments Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing