We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dylan Apartments Kensington
Ranked #420 of 579 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Upon arrival (at night), we were sent to another address - "no problem not far to walk" we were told. The first thing we noticed when entering reception, we could smell was someone cooking curry.
We squeezed into the lift, and walked sideways down the hallway to our room. The room was TINY - you could not see the whole tv from one of the beds due to the rickety wardrobe standing in the middle of the room. The bathroom was third world, except there was a toilet and not a hole in the ground.
Location was satisfactory. But for two nights at 168 GBP, this placed would have had to be on the grounds of Buckingham Palace to be worth that.
NEVER NEVER stay at this "accommodation"
The room looked nothing like the pictures online either

Room Tip: If you want a "good room" my tip is to look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malurthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Just spend as little time as possible in your rooms... its horrible. The front desk person left our bags unattended when we were waiting to check-in!!! not very safe. The water was leaking out from the floor from the fridge.... all night! Lamps not working. Was given incorrect Internet password. AVOID this "hotel"... Even though it's cheap it's not worth it. If I could give it a lower score I would.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Acamstory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

After paying £85 to stay in your Paddington apartments, for a starter on arrival the room was ridiculously hot. We opened the window and turned the radiator off, only to return four hours later to a still ridiculous hot room. This was one of the factors that left us having a sleepless night. Also you can not move at all on the already small double bed without it creaking so loud it wakes you up. Everyone who entered and left the building woke us and every movement upstairs did, including them using the taps as the pipes were down our walls and noisy. The water pressure in the bathroom and kitchen were awful and pretty unusable and the shower never got any more than luke warm. The sheets had yellow stains on and the pillows and curtains had blood marks on and other general dirt. Also out of the plugs only 3 worked, meaning we had to use the kitchen plugs for charging stuff. After complaining to reception and calling your main desk, neither offered any help or an apology. I have now emailed your customer service email twice and they have no responded to me.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jadelab93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Me and my partner don't expect the Ritz for £140 for 2 nights, but the least we did expect was everything listed in the description to be in order and the rooms to look the same or similar to those in the photos. We could not believe the dump we had to stay in it looked like a squat! As you can see in the photos that others have listed... this is what the rooms are like NOT what they have advertised.
The receptionist who 'greeted' us was rude and arrogant. I felt sorry for the couple with a baby who checked in in front of us as their stay came to nearly £400 god knows how long they had to put up with that place for! No place for a Child or any human for that matter.
The rooms we stayed in was over the road opposite the reception. The building and the room stunk, there was mold everywhere, no hair dryer, iron or flat screen tv as advertised. I asked to switch rooms the man on reception was rude and said maybe tomorrow, he didn't really care when we told him how disgusting it is and how the advertisement is a far cry from the reality of this dump.
On our second day I went to reception where a lady who was much more polite than the man, told us we could move rooms but it would be the room below ours in the same building so it would be just the same! so we didn't bother, couldn't face the shock of another room looking the same as ours. A maid- who was lovely and smiley brought us the iron and board over very promptly and came and made the beds and changed the towels even though we didn't go out until late afternoon.
The only upside to this hotel is the location, the bed was pretty comfortable (although I daren't look at the mattress) and the lovely maid.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody! Do not go here!

Room Tip: "Add a tip to help travellers choose a good room"- Choose room in a completely different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenosborne1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We booked this studio apartment through Hoseasons, it was just a horrible experience.

Firstly - I rang the apartments to ask a couple of questions prior to arrival - it never bodes well when a business just answers the phone with 'hello' and you have to confirm whether you are actually ringing a reception desk!!

On arrival the staff were rude, and I felt that they were borderline intimidating.

The carpets going up to the rooms were stained filthy and the smell was disgusting.

when we got into our apartment ( I use the word apartment in the loosest of terms) it was a single bedroom with a double bed squeezed in up against the wall, with a tiny kitchenette, and a bathroom which you could barely turn around in.
The overwhelming stench of filth and mould hit us immediately.
the bathroom ceiling was covered in mould, and there were pubic hairs in the sink.

We didn't feel able to complain, as I feared we had nowhere else to stay, and they gave the impression that 'if you dont like it, you can get out'

needless to say, we have contacted Hoseasons to inform them of the kind of place they are acting as an agent for.

Despite all this, there is no denying that this is a great location - a few minutes walk from Earls court station, and walkable to shops, restaurants etc.

However, avoid, avoid, avoid.

Room Tip: I would't recommend any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieLou1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just got back from 4 night stay in a twin room (307) and the first thing i noticed was that the room didn't look anything like the pictures on booking.com. The hall/stairway is quite filthy and there is a bad musty smell, it feels quite a bit run down. However it was fine in the room , which was much smaller than i expected and everything was functioning. We didn't spend much time in the room during the day so the state of the apartment didn't bother us that much. The reception staff were ok, just a tad bit too aloof for my liking but we had no problems with them. The only reason to stay there would be for the location itself and i would definitely not stay there during the summer as it was quite stuffy and warm in the room for October!!! God knows what it would be like during the summer. In short, it was alright , but i would've expected better for my money and will be asking Booking.com to request that they show ALL rooms in their pictures!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danozard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

I cannot begin to describe how awful this place is. The room was dirty and very smelly. The staff were so rude. It was much smaller than a standard hotel room despite being advertised as a 'serviced apartment' I would strongly advise against staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manderley7614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#597 of 1,081 in London
1,047 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#791 of 1,081 in London
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Best Western Seraphine Kensington Olympia Hotel
Clapham / Battersea 
Clapham Guest House
Clapham Guest House
#142 of 579 in London
318 reviews
Charlotte Guest House
#14 of 579 in London
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Apartments Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Kensington

Address: 60/109 Warwick Road, London SW5 9EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #420 of 579 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £41 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dylan Apartments Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments features include private ensuite facilities with showers, televisions and fully equipped kitchenettes with a full range of utensils. Dylan Apartments Kensington is only a few steps away from Earl's Court Tube Station and "Exhibition Centre". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Dylan Apartments Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing