We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no big complaints, but service not very personal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex London Wall Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“no big complaints, but service not very personal”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

After an email correspondence with the General Manager in advance to my stay I was hoping to at least find a little note on my room from the management. Nothing!
Check-in (and check-out) and room-service were efficient and quick, but no highlights regarding personal service and attention.
The room and bathroom were big in size, but small in creating a warm atmosphere. Besides this there was a very unpleasant smell in the bath room.
The hotel should really concentrate on giving each guest the feeling of being special not to be just one of the many checking in and staying each week.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for providing this feedback. I was delighted to read of your positive comments regarding the efficiency of service during your check in and check out and the size of bedroom which like yourself a number of other customers have commented favourably on.

I was however most concerned that you felt we did not deliver on the more personal service touches. At Apex London Wall we are extremely proud of our service reputation and always endeavour to go the extra mile for our customers ensuring they feel “home away from home”. This is something that we work on daily with an ambition of consistently exceeding our customers’ expectations and I am disappointed that on this occasion you felt we have fallen short of this benchmark.

Overall the hotel receives many positive reviews regarding our personal, friendly and professional service and I believe that your experience was not atypical of that which many previous guests have enjoyed. I would welcome the opportunity to host you again on any future visits you may have planned to the city and will ensure your stay is more comfortable. I will send you a message separately.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of being of service to you again and to welcoming you back to the Apex London Wall Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    398
    59
    12
    4
See reviews for
192
1,005
102
350
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level 6 Contributor
882 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Stay at this hotel if you want to be in this location and want a nice room. Service was really good. Rooms are clean with large beds, flat screen TVs, and new/remodeled look. Bathrooms have perfumed soaps and lush towels. The robes are really nice. Some free snacks, like Pringles and jelly beans. Coffee, tea, and water are also free. Wifi is free and works pretty well. 24h gym. Location is in the City of London, convenient to financial district and many tourist attractions. Easy walk to Millinial Bridge and St Pauls. Also very close (500m) to Livrpool st station, which has rapid transit to Stansted airport as well as other lines. Few drawbacks: rooms are not large, just large enough for big bed; expensive, though not for London; the temperature in the room kept going from too hot/too cold. Also,the chair was not on rolling wheels which was a little annoyance for me. The neighborhood pretty much shuts down on the weekend it seems. Bar/restaurant on ground floor.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitcher84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

This hotel is very conveniently located (15 minute walk to the Tower of London, where I picked up the hop on / hop off bus tour). The hotel staff were extremely helpful and wonderful. The room was very comfortable, and I had everything I needed. I have nothing negative to say at all. A wonderful experience!

Room Tip: I had a room on Copthall Close, which is a dead-end alley, so it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

In summary, this is an excellent hotel. The room was clean, comfortable, modern and well-equipped. The staff was friendly and generally helpful. The location was quiet yet convenient. The value was exceptional.

Specifically, here are the details:

The pros:
-The hotel is very modern, yet very comfortable. Attention to detail was evident in the lobby, hallways and rooms.
- The room (Superior King) was large and had everything that a business or pleasure traveler could ask for, including a large soaking tub and a seperate large walkin "rain" shower.
- The bed was supurb--not too hard and not too soft.
-The wireless internet was convenient to log on to, fast and consistent. (But be aware, only one device per room)
-The fitness room/gym was clean and well-equiped with eveything you would need for a great workout. (but remote controls to change TV channels were missing and channels could not be changed manually)
-The location is in the financial district which is superb if you like being away from "the action" for a quiet night's sleep, but close enough to get everwhere ("the hot spots") within a matter of minutes (at least three underground stations within 5 minute walk and numberous bus stops even closer). Its also just a 10 minute walk to London Bridge, the monument or the Tower Bridge. (But be aware most of the businesses and restaurants immediately surrounding the hotel are closed on Saturday and Sunday)
-The staff was great. While a couple were a bit "green" and seemed to be training thus not aware of certain things (i.e. lobby internet log-in code; nearest restaurants, etc.) there was always a more knowlegable person around
-The restaurant is very nice. The breakfast was tasty and reasonably price. The staff was very attentive and responsive (one hiccp though...see below...)

The cons:
Not much bad to say at all...except...
- It would be nice if the in-room internet allowed for more than one device to be attached at a time. In these modern times, its become a much needed convenience
- I arrived in the restuarant at 11:03 AM on Sunday morning and requested breakfast. Right before I sat down, the resturant manager informed me that because they stopped serving breakfast at 11:00 AM, I could only order from the lunch menu. This was a bit inhospitable for such a first class hotel and an annoying ending to an otherwise near-perfect stay.

Overall, great hotel, great stay and great value. It is my hotel of choice when in London and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: the "01" teir (i.e. Room 201) was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kclu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed one Saturday night because my husband was working late in the City, so his company paid for the room and for his breakfast.

I can't say I thought much of the decor, which is fairly modern and dark, but everything else was great.

- Huge bed
- Nice firm mattress
- Luxurious pillows and duvet
- Large bathroom with double sized shower
- Beautifully clean
- Helpful, friendly staff
- English breakfast was well-cooked and delicious

Because the Central Line (underground) was down it was a bit of a hassle to get to Covent Garden the next day to do touristy things but it was doable. The area around London Wall is dead at the weekend!

We would stay again at this or another Apex hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina_E_Langridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Sunday 3/06/2012 , what a treat to stay at this Apex hotel. It was a last minute booking 6 days before the Jubilee weekend and we got a fabulous deal of £119 inc continental breakfast.
The hotel is 2mins walk from Moorgate tube station in the heart of the city but only 10 mins walk to Tower Bridge and the river.
The hotel is unassuming from the outside but inside you will find a simple but stylish,modern boutique hotel.
The staff are really friendly and helpful.
The room was lovely, a king-size bed which was very comfortable,the bathroom had a walk in power shower, plus bath. There is a large flat screen TV, Bose sound system and free wi-fi .
Complimentary toiletries were useful ,also hair-dryer, iron and luxury bathrobes.
The inclusive breakfast had a great selection of yoghurt/cereal/ croissant etc. It was £5 for the cooked breakfast which was said to be, 'great'.
After getting drenched trying to see the river pageant this hotel is exactly what we needed, total comfort at a great price.
Would recommend a stay at this hotel and hope to stay again when next in London.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leedsgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here in March 2012. Stayed here for relaxing London trip to see theatre. Arrived earlier than official check-in time with intention of dropping bags before going to theatre. Greeted politely at check in, was asked if we would be willing to accept an upgrade, thought for a split second and said yes. We were allocated a Deluxe room/suite on the top floor. It was very large. Table & two chairs, sofa, coffee table, desk and chair, lots of storage, iron & ironing board. Large comfy bed, high quality furnishings. Very large bathroom, huge sink, stand alone bath, large shower cubicle, high quality toiletries, soft bathrobe and blue duck. Had breakfast in bed next morning, hot good quality food. Check-out very quick. Hotel in business district, so was quiet at weekend, which is what we wanted. Close and easy to get to other parts of London. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#55 of 1,068 in London
3,457 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#81 of 1,068 in London
3,747 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#37 of 1,068 in London
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex London Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex London Wall Hotel

Property: Apex London Wall Hotel
Address: 7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex London Wall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the Museum of London, the Barbican Centre and St Paul’s Cathedral, Apex London Wall Hotel is accessible and conveniently located. Liverpool Street Station and Moorgate are just a few minutes’ walk away so you’ll be ideally placed for a business or leisure stay. The hotel has 89 rooms and suites, which are all modern, spacious and equipped with amenities. Each room features a 40” LCD TV with Sky Sports channels, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Elemis toiletries. Take advantage of the hotel’s fitness studio to keep fit during your break or taste some of the city’s best food at Off the Wall Restaurant, where a variety of European inspired dishes fill the menu. Above the exceptional facilities and convenient location, it’s the warm, friendly welcome that ensures your stay is perfect at Apex City of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex London Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing