We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stop over!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex London Wall Hotel
Ranked #47 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Very friendly staff. Free parking at the front, weekends only (for about 8 cars...) Great location being a short walk for Moorgate tube station. 'Off the Wall' cocktail was great! Accommodation was very modern, clean and tidy! Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkCleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,356 - 1,362 of 1,990 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

I and my partner booked this hotel based on the review from Tripadvisor, and we were more than happy with this decision. I cannot even say how amazing our stay was : comfy bed, well-decorated room and fantastic stuff...We simply loved it!! Thank you:-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MMichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We were drawn to the hotel by its high ratings and whilst there is nothing wrong with the hotel I am not sure it warrants such a high rating (8). The building is a bit out of the way but close to the central line so we had no problem with the location as we are happy to use the tube. The hotel looks like an office block with a very small foyer and not much in the way of reception seating. The small scale continues with the rooms which aside from their small size are well appointed - nice touches such as the pringles and jelly beans and water are welcome although in other Apex hotels these are replaced daily. The decor and fixtures and fittings are good quality and the bed comfy. We were lucky to be able to check in early as the hotel has been closed over chrstmas which was very welcome although it did take a while for the room to heat up - I'm sure this isn't usually a problem. The staff are very friendly and helpful and this would encourage me to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Upgraded me upon check in, and the room is fantastic.

Giant, giant bed. Huge bathroom with bath and walk in shower. Nice toiletries etc.

Room service excellent, if a little over priced.

Only downside is the location, but it's only a minor problem with the tube!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MReviewer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed at the Apex London Wall over the holiday season and we were very impressed. The room was clean, modern, attractive and well-appointed. Staff were always friendly and eager to please, without being cloying. Our requests for foam pillows, an extra duvet, etc. were always promptly and graciously addressed. The restaurant is quite good - we had nice meals with attentive service.

The City can be quiet on holidays and weekends, so this hotel isn't the place for someone wanting to stay in the middle of the action. However, we thought it great that the hotel is located on a quiet side street - a bit of peace and quiet at the end of the day was welcome. The hotel was within easy walking distance of numerous attractions and three Underground stations. We found it to be a nicely-located home base for our visit to London.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skeezixtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This really is more than a hotel,very impressed with the rooms. They are split into a living area with flat screen,bar,etc and the bed area with a further flat screen,telephone etc.This makes it feel like an apartment rather than just a room. The bathroom follows on with this fantastic theme,with a walk in shower and bath which is larger than most.
More importantly, the staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you. If you wanted something,ask...simple. Plenty of genuine people work here with manners beyond most.
Breakfast service.again is second to non,even though we came.down late, it seemed we could have stayed sipping coffee all day!
Hotel comes highly recommended...

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtmcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We booked here based on the excellent rating on TA and were quite pleased with the result.
The hotel is modern, clean and the room we had (junior suite) has a decent size for London. The bathroom especially was very spacious with a very good shower and standalone tub.
Beds are large and comfortable, and entertainment-wise you'll also have little to complain since there are two large tv's, an iPod-dock, bluray-player and home cinema sound system. How anyone could really use the huge subwoofer in a hotel room is beyond me, but ok. The WiFi has an annoying login system but is quite fast (10 Mbps) and, more importantly, free.

There are some clever touches that we really appreciated: most hotels charge you upwards of 20 pounds per person for the simplest of breakfasts - which always is way to much, but at the Apex you can pick whatever you want from a menu to create your own selection. Most items are only 1.50 to 3 pounds, so you can have a nice breakfast delivered to your room for about 6 to 8 pound per person, which in my view is good value. We also had dinner in the Off the Wall restaurant twice (we travelled with friends with a small child), which was not bad but also not very inspiring. They do make a nice cocktail though.

Staff is friendly but could improve on some small issues to make them really stand out.
For example, allthough we ordered room service breakfast every day the order form was never renewed, so each night we had to call the reception to get a new one. You would think that after one time the staff would remember. The turndown-service was equally inconsistent: the first night we got it, the second night we didn't, the third night it was offered but we declined, and the last night it was again not offered. This is the sort of attention to detail and consistency that can make a hotel truely stand out and doesn't need to be reserved for 5*-hotels only.

The location is right in the middle of the business district, in a quiet street just off Moorgate. Perfect if you want to sleep soundly because there is no traffic noise but this also means - and you really have to realize this - that _everything_ is closed during weekends. If you walk to Liverpool Street Station some restaurants will be open but if you want to have some choice during the weekend you'll have to travel. Luckily, with Moorgate and Bank underground stations around the corner and Liverpool Street Station a little farther away this is very easy. A taxi to Soho will set you back about 12-16 pounds.
In contrast, during business hours you'll be almost spoiled for choice since there are a lot of restaurants, coffee shops and stores open.

We paid about 190 pounds per night (excluding breakfast) for a junior suite and this felt like very good value compared to other hotels in London with similar sized rooms. If you need to be in the City or don't mind a little travel to get to the main attractions the Apex London Wall is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielkegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
No photo provided
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#57 of 1,076 in London
3,606 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#40 of 1,076 in London
1,034 reviews
City of London
No photo provided
Apex City of London Hotel
#85 of 1,076 in London
3,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex London Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex London Wall Hotel

Address: 7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: £137 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex London Wall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the Museum of London, the Barbican Centre and St Paul’s Cathedral, Apex London Wall Hotel is accessible and conveniently located. Liverpool Street Station and Moorgate are just a few minutes’ walk away so you’ll be ideally placed for a business or leisure stay. The hotel has 89 rooms and suites, which are all modern, spacious and equipped with amenities. Each room features a 40” LCD TV with Sky Sports channels, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Elemis toiletries. Take advantage of the hotel’s fitness studio to keep fit during your break or taste some of the city’s best food at Off the Wall Restaurant, where a variety of European inspired dishes fill the menu. Above the exceptional facilities and convenient location, it’s the warm, friendly welcome that ensures your stay is perfect at Apex City of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex London Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing