We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Top Quality Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex London Wall Hotel
Ranked #46 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed for one night to meet some friends in London. We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and were really pleased with our room, which was very nice decor, spacious bathroom (with a bath and a separate shower). The bathroom was quite clean. The bed wasn't the most comfortable we've stayed in but after a few drinks we barely noticed. Breakfast was very enjoyable with a wide range of continental items on offer. The bar area was comfortable and drink prices what you expect for London. It is just a short stroll from Bank, which is really easy to get to from Waterloo (apart from on a Sunday when the Waterloo and City line is closed). We walked back to Waterloo via London Bridge which was a pleasant walk (taking about half an hour). Would definitely go back as is great value and superb service.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,029)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,321 - 1,327 of 2,029 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

From arrival to departure, service was first class - peaceful setting - one of the few hotels we have stayed in where a full English breakfast came piping hot. Perfect for business, I will be telling my colleagues.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Came up to London for a show and stayed a Saturday night on a special weekend offer. Very quiet location off London Wall, with some free parking in streets at weekends. Short walk to Moorgate Station. Location is more for business people who need to be in the City than tourists who want to be near the West End and usual tourist sights.
The room was of modest proportions, as is usual in London, but very comfortable.
The staff were very courteous, cheerful and welcoming and the continental breakfast was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrHTewkesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel via Secret Escapes for one night following a visit to the theatre. The hotel was within easy walking distance of 3 underground stations and Liverpool St mainline station. The reception staff were delightful - friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Our room was lovely with a king size bed and a chaise longue. The bathroom was perfect, from the huge shower, seperate bath to the Elemis toiletries. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean, tastefully decorated and modern. We didn't have dinner at the hotel, but judging from the buzz in the bar area it was a popular choice. I had the continental breakfast, which had a huge selection to choose from, and my husband had the full English. Everything was waitress service, beautifully presented and delicious. I would definitely recommend this hotel, both for business travellers and for those taking a city break.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a weekend break in London. I opted for a balcony room on booking, and on arrival paid £20p.n for this room, which turned out to be a Deluxe. The room was huge, we had 2 TVs, a seating area, a desk area, huge bathroom, and lovely balcony. The deluxe room was about £50p.n more to book originally so I was happy with this deal.
Can't fault the hotel, room was very clean and maids did a good job of tidying up.
Couple of small points - I think there was a concierge however he wasn't around to take our bags on check in, and always seemed to be too busy chatting to the receptionists to open the door to greet people or let people in or out. I would have thought given the hotel's high standing on trip advisor this would be a given. Also, we waiting 15 minutes to be served at the bar as there was only one member of staff serving, but it was late.

I knew the surrounding area would be quiet as it is in the City and it was the weekend, however switch the word quiet for a ghost town and your closer to the mark. I nipped out to try and find a supermarket or some sort of convenience store on Saturday morning but there is literally nothing. It's about a 15 minute was to civilisation.

All in all for the price I paid I was very happy. The large room was practical for us however when I next visit I will return to LA Suite West. Rooms are tiny but the hotel has a much nicer feel and the staff are super friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Dear Chadb,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit to London and that you were particularly delighted with your upgrade to one of our balcony rooms. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the spotlessness of the room. Our housekeeping team work extremely hard at maintaining extremely high cleanliness standards and were very happy to have received your feedback.

As you correctly pointed our location in the city does mean that the area is particularly quiet on weekends. We find that many of our customers enjoy this aspect as it affords a "best rest" solution with minimal traffic and pedestrian disturbance, whilst still having the connectivity to the "hustle and bustle" on their doorstep. The underground and mainline stations of Moorgate, Liverpool Street and Bank are all within a few minutes’ walk meaning the West End is only an 8 minute tube ride away, whilst the many shops in One New Change near St Pauls are a short 5 minute walk from the hotel.

We appreciate your comments regarding the attention of our concierge staff during your arrival and the late night bar service in our Off the Wall Bar and are disappointed that both of these areas fell below your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we have discussed your comments with the team and have implemented further measures to ensure that we are able to prevent future recurrences of this nature.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your future trips to the city.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Friendliest and most helpful reception staff I have ever come across, room lovely and clean and the room service excellent! Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for all business travellers in particular - great location and quick, hassle free check-in/out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Meredith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My Wife and I spent a weekend in this lovely hotel I t was a Christmas present from our Daughters
The location was a bit quiet as the area was mostly for business .It was a lovely hotel very clean and the decor was very fresh with good attention to detail.The staff were very friendly especially Sara who was a star and a very efficient caring young lady who sorted us with a smile, noting was a problem when we arrived late for dinner on Friday evening. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
Until check out we were overcharged for our breakfast we had just finished earlier and we explained exactly what we had eaten we were disbelieved and the young lady said she would have to check with the kitchen as the food manager report said we had eaten from the buffet as well as a served hot food from the kitchen we explained that we had only had hot food and that it was a fixed and clearly priced menu we had no food from the buffet .Eventually it was sorted to our satisfaction.But it spoiled our view of the hotel as it was badly handled by the staff they kept us waiting quite a while and our Taxi was outside .But we would go back to the Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conmarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2013

Dear Conmarian,

Thank you for your review following your stay with us at the Apex London Wall hotel. We were delighted to read that you were happy with your find and that the combination of our quiet location on Copthall Avenue coupled with the high standard of room facilities and personal service from our team exceeded your expectations. Please be assured that we will particularly recognise Sara for her efforts and will ensure she is acknowledged through our internal recognition scheme.

I was disappointed to note the inconvenience you encountered regarding your final breakfast charges during your check out and would like to sincerely apologise for this confusion.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and for recommending our services to other reviewers. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,691 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#86 of 1,077 in London
4,021 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#49 of 1,077 in London
1,061 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,077 in London
552 reviews
South Kensington
Hotel Moonlight
Hotel Moonlight
#45 of 1,077 in London
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex London Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex London Wall Hotel

Address: 7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £118 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex London Wall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the Museum of London, the Barbican Centre and St Paul’s Cathedral, Apex London Wall Hotel is accessible and conveniently located. Liverpool Street Station and Moorgate are just a few minutes’ walk away so you’ll be ideally placed for a business or leisure stay. The hotel has 89 rooms and suites, which are all modern, spacious and equipped with amenities. Each room features a 40” LCD TV with Sky Sports channels, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Elemis toiletries. Take advantage of the hotel’s fitness studio to keep fit during your break or taste some of the city’s best food at Off the Wall Restaurant, where a variety of European inspired dishes fill the menu. Above the exceptional facilities and convenient location, it’s the warm, friendly welcome that ensures your stay is perfect at Apex City of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Apex London Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing