We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex London Wall Hotel
Ranked #46 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2010

My Partner and I stayed at the Apex London Wall Hotel for a romantic weekend away. I can truely say that the hotel, staff and facilities exceeded our expectations, the hotel was in my opion 5*. The staff were very helpfull, informative and friendly, the breakfast was very good and we felt we should have had our evening meal there too and missed out. I woud highly recomend this hotel to anyone. Thank you to the staff at the Apex for making our weekend better than expected.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serge1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,968)
There are newer reviews for Apex London Wall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,728 - 1,734 of 1,968 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

READ THIS REVIEW AND DISCOVER EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT THIS HOTEL!!!!
Stayed here over easter weekend 2010,
Location: Close to Moorgate and Liverpool street station and a few handy shops, down a back street which is quite secluded and hotel looks a bit out of place down this street but over all a good location. 4 stars for location.

Service: Staff are very friendly and make conversation with you when checking in, i didn't use room service or the restaurant but I'm sure all the staff would have delivered excellent service. 5 stars for service.

Rooms: I stayed in a deluxe room which i would highly recommend, The room was large with a desk space, a huge bed and separate living area with beautiful sofa and coffee table where you can sit and watch the 42" TV which has a full range of channels. The bathroom was excellent, it has a huge bath big enough for 2, very large walk in shower and a sink as big as most people's bath! LOL. But the best bit was the balcony which i would guess was about 25 foot long with seating area (Room 623 has a bigger balcony that other neighboring rooms) not the best view but even so very nice to sit out in the sun or at night with a glass or 2 of wine. Lots of stuff to take back home too, such as: slippers, robe, toiletries, towels, a blue apex duck and what ever else is not nailed down LOL only joking, i would never steal from a hotel and Im sure you wouldn't either. Room is 5 star.

Sleep quality: No gripes here, beautiful large bed with lots of pillows and very soft bedding which I covered in fake tan, sorry apex.

Value: I paid £140 per night including VAT and taxes which may seem expensive but other hotels in London of this standard are much more expensive and you can stay here for a lot cheaper in a smaller, more basic room from around £80-£90 per night. Food is expensive but its London what do you expect, my advice is go to Mcdonnalds just around the corner. If your coming down here as a treat though, splash out and stay in a deluxe room or a suite. Value 4 stars.

Cleanliness: I must admit, after staying in a range of Apex hotels over the years, I was not over joyed with the cleanliness of the Apex Wall hotel. The reason I say this is because the balcony and windows were rather dirty and looked like they had not been cleaned for weeks. Although the inside of the building and the room was spotless. Only 3 stars for cleanliness Im afraid.

I rate this hotel as 4 star which is what it is, so it does live up to expectations.

Stay here and you will be happy you did!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben0416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

It is not often that I write reviews but I must about this hotel as it is extremely good. Don't get me wrong some people might think it a bit boring if you are looking for swimming pools, squash courts etc . If, however, you are looking for a quiet hotel in the centre of the financial district then this is the place for you. The hotel is located in a side street and is very new (opened in Nov 2009) so new in fact the taxi man had not heard of it which is unusual. I stayed during the weekend and the prices drop quite dramatically and is good value for a weekend break. Although a business hotel I was surprised there was no business suite to check my emails but there is wifi which is free. The restaurant and bar are good with extremely good service but my one gripe was that there no real ale available only lager which I hate. It's a British company so why not have real ale? Saying that the breakfast and dinner was first class. The rooms were excellent and you could hear a pin drop after dark which is incredibly unusual in London. One bit of warning though there is nothing and I mean nothing of note open around the hotel at the weekends however you are only a 5 mins walk to the tube. Honestly don't waste your money on expensive hotels use the London Wall; I'm sure you will not be disappointed. Reception girls are very pretty too !

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferryboy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2010

I stayed here for the first time in January 2010, and have stayed there twice after, in February and March. I really liked the hotel a lot from the first stay.
It seems very new, and it is so nicely decorated. I have had different rooms every stay, and they have all been so nice. The bed is just a dream with lots of pillows.
The bath room is fantastic with both bath tub (which I never use), and a walk in shower. There is water for free, coffee, cookies and a cute little blue bath-duck there as well. The towels are huge and hangs on a heater, the soap and shampoo is very nice also.
You got everything you need there and a big flat screen TV. and a docking to your Ipod.
There is a gym in the cellar, which is quite nice. I go there every morning. The music there is a bit too load, but this time I told the people at the front desk, and they fixed it immediately. If there is one thing that could have been improved, I would have liked to have a bit more light by the bathroom mirror. It is a bit difficult to find enough light to put on the make up.
The first time I stayed there I had breakfast included. It was just fab, but quite expensive compared to the amount I eat. If I traveled with my husband I would continued eating it there, but for me I now eat at a nice Starbucks close to the Collage, together with colleges.
I love this hotel. It is a bit pricy, but I will return as long as I do my studies in London.
Look forward to next stay

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We stayed at the Apex London Wall on Sat 20th March, it is a fantastic hotel with efficient, friendly staff. The rooms have contemporary decor with excellent facilities. we will definitely return to this hotel on our next visit to London.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weissmanshuffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This hotel was absolutely perfect for a weekend in London. Despite being a couple of miles from the West End, it was only a short cab/tube/bus ride, and the City location means that it is a) lovely and quiet with no street noise, and b) much better value than more central hotels. We were fortunate enough to be upgraded to a suite with separate lounge area, 2 enormous flatscreen TVs, big bathroom with freestanding bath and walk-in shower with body jets, and huge outdoor terrace. As the hotel is only a few months old everything was in perfect condition. Breakfast was great - waiter service but you can have anything you want. Nice bar next to the lobby for a few drinks before going out. Service was polite and attentive from all staff encountered. There is a fitness centre which we did not use during our stay. There is no dedicated parking at the hotel, but single yellow lines outside the hotel or plenty of parking in nearby Finsbury Circus (all free at the weekend) mean this is no major problem. All in all i would 100% recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigTraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

Stayed here one night recently and we will definitely be returning. What a fantastic hotel! Staff were lovely, both at reception and in the restaurant. We had booked a deluxe room but were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite, which was absolutely beautiful, with a separate sitting area, 2 TVs, surround sound, dvd player etc etc. The bathroom was very large with a separate walk-in shower and lovely deep bath.

As it is slightly out of the way, this hotel is very quiet but so close to the tube station it is no problem getting anywhere easily and quickly. We had breakfast in the restaurant the next day which was very good and not too expensive compared with other similar hotels.

All in all, one of the best hotels I have stayed in in London and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cruella55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#58 of 1,072 in London
3,571 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#42 of 1,072 in London
1,025 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#83 of 1,072 in London
3,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex London Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex London Wall Hotel

Address: 7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £136 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex London Wall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the Museum of London, the Barbican Centre and St Paul’s Cathedral, Apex London Wall Hotel is accessible and conveniently located. Liverpool Street Station and Moorgate are just a few minutes’ walk away so you’ll be ideally placed for a business or leisure stay. The hotel has 89 rooms and suites, which are all modern, spacious and equipped with amenities. Each room features a 40” LCD TV with Sky Sports channels, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Elemis toiletries. Take advantage of the hotel’s fitness studio to keep fit during your break or taste some of the city’s best food at Off the Wall Restaurant, where a variety of European inspired dishes fill the menu. Above the exceptional facilities and convenient location, it’s the warm, friendly welcome that ensures your stay is perfect at Apex City of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex London Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing