We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour - entertaining, informative, not too long”

Jack the Ripper Tours
Ranked #44 of 678 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ripping Yarns have been the leading Jack the Ripper tour into Whitechapel for over 25 years. We remain a small Company who believe that small Group Sizes and personal interaction will surpass your expectations, as opposed to the Larger Advertised Companies who now Operate in the area. The Tour is recommended in the Rick Steves Guide book to London. The cost is just £8.00, Where else could you get a great night in London for that price? But perhaps the best measure of the Tour comes from our many customers. which are a fitting testament to the level of satisfaction. All the Guides are serving Yeoman Warders (Beefeaters) at the Tower of London, so you can be assured that your Guide knows how to conduct a tour properly and "tell a tale" the content is such that it weaves the story of Jack the Ripper, the social background and the history of the area, helping to paint the most vivid mental picture of life and death in London's East End, this is backed up by Crime Scene Photographs, Letters and Evidence, you will not just get some "off pat script" or gimmicks but an up close and personal story.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great tour - entertaining, informative, not too long”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Steve was our guide and very good too. He knew his stuff and imparted it in an engaging and entertaining way. Plenty to see, understandably not much of the original street scene remains. A good picture was painted of the sequence of events, social history of the time, the view of the public and the response of the police. Not a huge walk and plenty of other good things to see in the area.
Book on line and get it a bit cheaper. We overbooked but it was easy to pass the 'ticket' on to someone else there.
Only a short walk for a good curry afterwards in Brick Lane (don't take the first offer, there will be plenty).

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank KERRYG0LD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    59
    12
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just as great 2nd time around...”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I decided to take my sister on the tour after I had done it 6 years ago. As I recall enjoying it back then. Ken our tour guide was great and kept us entertained the whole time. Definitely worth every penny... Or 4!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good fun and very colourful”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We did this tour with Dickie last weekend and loved it. My husband had done one of those before but he said Dickie coloured the history and the events around the murders in so much more. He gave interesting information about the scenes and settings which made is so much for fun. Really made it interesting and the two hours flew by! There are certainly some gruesome photos but you don't have to look at them. Can definitely recommend this tour. We gave it away as a birthday present and everyone enjoyed it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 204Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening in the back streets of Whitechapel”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

I took the Ripping Yarns tour last evening with Rob, and I must say it was fantastic. The tour left earlier than others I had looked into which was a very good thing in my opinion. It gave us the opportunity to be first to many of the spots along the way and get as close to the scenes as possible. Rob was the perfect host and his knowledge was unrivalled and without the extravagance of fancy dress and lanterns (on a bright summers evening) gave it a much more professional touch and made for a historical feel. Also the conclusions drawn from the evidence are truly frightening and all the more plausible than many theories out there!

Thanks again Rob for a great evening!!!

Regards,
Mark

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMagicRat79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wholesome Tour”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I took part in the tour on Friday 6th June and our guide Jim was brilliant. We found it interesting, informative and well worth the price. I don't think this tour could be improved on in any way and would recommend this to anyone interested in London's past. Thank you Jim much appreciated.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Jack the Ripper Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing