We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money, good location and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel
Ranked #344 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Required a hotel near to Union Chapel to be able to stay after a concert, 20 minutes walk away and very reasonable price compared to other hotels. I had a single room with TV, tea/coffee making facilities and a private toilet / shower and towels. The room was clean, the staff were friendly on arrival and the continental breakfast the next day [in the price] was unlimited. The staff were again friendly in the restaurant area and the reception staff gave help when leaving. Yes you could find better quality but at a far higher price, and the staff seemed genuine. I would recommend for staying over based on price, position and the people :o)

Room Tip: I stayed in G1 which was a ground floor room which did not face on to the road so was very quiet :o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vinylpighunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Although only stayed one night found staff very friendly and helpful. The room had all we required. Towels, tea coffee etc. The nearest tube is about 15/20 minutes away walking, but we are in our 60,s. We where in a very quiet part of hotel at side, be careful as there is a step which requires information about to avoid tripping. Breakfast was plentiful. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lasuehope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
2  Thank Corey B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Genuinely appalled at the lack of compassion for fellow human beings at this establishment!
Booked a room yesterday lunch time for my mother who was having an operation at a hospital 10 minutes away, around 6pm after said operation, it became clear that my mother was not physically able to get to the hotel. Contacted the hotel to explain and were told that due to the exceptional, not to mention unfortunate circumstance, there would be no charge for the room. My mother then received a message to say that she would have to pay 70% of the bill, for a room she never stayed in!! I immediately contacted the hotel and was told no manager was there to "deal" with me but that i could call in the morning, which i did. The person i spoke to this morning, Mohammed, is a vile human being! He refused to acknowledge that this was an exceptional circumstance and referred to their policy which, by the very nature of the booking, was completely void! "48 hours notice of cancellation for a refund"...how could i cancel a room before i had even booked it?!?
This paired with the disrespectful manner in which he spoke to me demonstrates to me the sheer absence of moral understanding.
Would never recommend this hotel, as a customer no one should be spoken to that way!
Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel clearly likes to take advantage of sick, suffering people and employs staff so lacking in customer service skills they shouldn't be allowed contact with other people!!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akbar H, Manager at Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Bethany
I am really sorry that you had bad experience with us .We always try to give our best services to our customer .On the other hand, abusing staff is not acceptable. We do have free cancellation policy of 48 hours which means free of charge if bookings cancelled before 48 hours of check-in . If booking made on the same day and if you want to cancel it, there is late cancellation charge applies and you booked with online agent by accepting booking condition. But instead of contacting your related online booking agent ,you called hotel in the evening to cancel the reservation .After hearing your mothers condition we agreed to give you 30% off from the late cancellation fee, then you started to argue with receptionist to get free cancellation. You called again hotel reception about 8.30am next day. When the receptionist tried to explain our hotel cancellation policy and informed you that management has been decided to charge only 70% of the late cancellation charge. Then you started to shout at the staff even you said “shut up ” words couple of times when he requested you call later to talk to the manager .Even later you called again and started to shout at me for no reason as well which is completely abusive behaviour and such aggressive behaviour is not acceptable in any organisation .
We feel the overall the complaint is unjustified

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Room was small, an without air conditioning. Opening the window made sleeping almost impossible because of the noise, so I wouldn't recommend it during hot summer.
On the other hand it's not bad for that price.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Rafał J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Im certainly not going to recommend this hotel to anyone. I expected something completely different. First of all this hotels name is not The Islington Inn it's Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel, big difference, I got tricked with that. Second of all I expected an apartment which it was certainly not..I was quite disappointed when I walked down to the basement to see my first room that didn't even have windows! I mean..is that even legal?
And then there is a complete lack of space for example your luggage which can be quite difficult when you are two together.
Despite my poor stay at this hotel I would like to give the staff a compliment for giving me and my friend an indian dinner which we didn't have to pay for and for moving us to another room with a window (even though it took some time) but they did at last.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryblossom04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akbar H, Manager at Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay at our hotel .We always appreciate our guests suggestions or any complaints to improve our services to make our guests feel happy. We have checked the reservation which clearly shows you booked the budget twin room (Agoda)–cheapest of rooms types (about 50% cheaper than usual twin room) also described about no window .So, you shouldn't expect Apartment which is three times higher than your booked room .Despite the booking condition, we moved you to a family room without any extra cost upon you request and also we have provided one free dinner as we always try our best to make our guest happy. If you want, we can send you the reservation details .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very clean, nice people, small room, breakfast only sweet but enough food and fruit. Although we came there earlier, we could have left our luggage at the reception and go out.
Definitely recommend if you´re looking for something trustworthy and clean for a shorter stay.


  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
1  Thank Jitka G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#52 of 928 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel

Address: 366 Essex Road | Highbury, Islington, London N1 3PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #344 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: £81 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOMMY MIAHS RAJ HOTEL Hotel in London belongs to the Raj brand, known for hospitality and a warm welcome in popular family-run boutique hotels. The recently refurbished Hotel has 41 rooms decorated in a light Asian theme, which combine modern amenities with traditional design. All rooms are en-suite with modern bathrooms, canopied beds and sari style curtains. A continental breakfast is included in the rates and a cooked breakfast is available for a small charge. The complimentary breakfast includes croissants, tea/coffee, toast, a variety of cereals, jams, marmalade and fresh fruits. The Jays Restaurant in the hotel offers delicious dishes from Asian-style tapas and curry to pasta, to enjoy in the stylish premises or to take away. Coffee, teas and exotic liquors are also served at the restaurant. Once a month, there are Music & Dining Club evenings, where musical entertainment accompanies Asian cuisine. Islington is a popular area in London, where you will find many designer boutiques, pubs and international restaurants. The nearest tube station is Angel on the Victoria Line, which is only a 10 to 15 minutes walk away. The frequent running trains take you to central London in 5 minutes.The ideal location of TOMMY MIAHS RAJ HOTEL makes it a great accommodation for sightseeing, shopping and business trips to London. It is connected to both the City of London and the West End, so it is the perfect base for visits to the theatre, museums, galleries, historic buildings and everything else London has to offer. Tourist attractions near the hotel include the Emirates Stadium, where Arsenal Football Club has its home base. You will get to the stadium in about 10 minutes by foot. The Business Design Centre can be reached in 20 minutes and another short walk takes you to Islington's Estorick Collection, a forum for Italian Art. If you are looking for a place to relax in a typical London atmosphere, Highbury Fields near TOMMY MIAHS RAJ HOTEL is the ideal place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Tommy Miah's Raj Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing