We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Misses the mark” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
Ranked #773 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Misses the mark”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed using the 'Secret Hotel' promo from Laterooms.

Twin rooms are below ground level with no windows and bed was very uncomfortable, coupled with the loud air conditioning and £149.00 room rate it doesn't stack up for value or my wanting to return.

Shop around at this price point and you will find proper 4 star hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecordens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are sorry you did not feel the hotel represents good value for money, our competitors prices are far higher so we do think we offer good value for money.

All of our twin rooms are located on the lower ground floor and this is in no way hidden from our guests.

Thank you again for taking the time to write, we are happy that Trip Advisor allows customers to share their opinions it helps us to identify areas for improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    304
    191
    137
    148
See reviews for
124
419
62
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

Room too small, double bed too small for two biggish people, but all rooms are small and all have double beds, that's what the staff said... Unfortunately didn't know that at time of booking through Booking.com.
Air conditioning blows down onto the bed, so couldn't have it on at night. But windows don't open so had to suffer the heat. Very uncomfortable two nights stay....
Shower hose leaked. Television kept losing signal. Sign outside of our bedroom window kept knocking and clanging in the wind. Couldn't find the vibrant new restaurant advertised on the walls outside of the building, just the breakfast room. Breakfast not good, not good at all.

But, credit where it's due, the staff we spoke to, were all polite and friendly. Unfortunately they couldn't do much to make us more comfortable...

Room Tip: All beds doubles. No kings or queens. All rooms same size, small/average doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sorribawtdaatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for writing us a review, we appreciate your feedback.

We are sorry you did not have a comfortable stay with us. Our room sizes are comparative to most London hotels. If you book an alternative hotel which offers queen size beds you also pay triple the price of what you pay to us and we feel that our property represents good value for money.

We value our customers feedback to improve our services.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

Perhaps it was down to the night we stayed being Friday the 13th. Nothing seemed to go well with our stay at the Quality Maitrise hotel.

We booked a double room from Expedia. The first problem I luckily noticed when checking in, we had been given a twin room. I asked to change this to a double and went up to find that it hadn't been cleaned properly. With even a nappy sitting in the bathroom. After changing rooms again, I wished I hadn't..
The room smelt very bad, probably due to dirty net curtains. The door had to be wedged up to close at all. The windows did not open which would not have been a problem if the air con worked.

The hotel did look nice, but behind the glossy exterior was a rotten fish!

Breakfast was worse still. We arrived at the restaurant at 10:15 and was asked our room number by a waitress. She brought over our pot of tea and laid out knives and forks then left us waiting. At 10:35 we asked to order our food to be told that the kitchen closed at 10:30!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
Thank you for writing us a review following on from the email you sent to us directly which we have replied to.

As mentioned before to you, the room booked was double or twin "double requested" but this is not guaranteed. As you were allocated a twin room which was clean, the staff then tried to accommodate your request but there was a mistake in the system which showed the 2nd room you were given as being clean and vacant. We apologize for this, it should not have happened.

The air conditioning unit is positioned in the room to be as effective as possible in keeping the entire room cool and the temperature is controlled by the guest.

Apart from our large continental breakfast selection we also offer a full a la carte cooked breakfast menu which is only £5.00 more to give guests added choice.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us and we will take your comments on board to make improvements.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is good for sightseeing and business trip in London. The location is convenient from the nearest station. the room is clean and Price is reasonable.
There is a restaurant in the hotel and a convenience store and s
starbucks coffee are in front of the hotel. I'll stay here when I come back to London.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarikoTagawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you so munch for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate constructive and honest feedback from all of our visitors to continue to improve our services.

If you are a regular visitor please contact us directly for our corporate traveler rates.

By the way if you love coffee, no need to go across the road anymore, the hotel has just opened it's very own coffee shop with the best Italian Coffee this side of the pond!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

Its quite chic looking, Chinese chandeliers for $100 posturing as the real thing, no staff to speak of, The internet speed will take you back to 1998..so if you plan on watching youtube during you stay..think again. No dressing gowns, no slippers, no moisturiser, the towels are not large enough to fit around the waist of a medium-built man. The area is probably among London's roughest, despite its relative proximity to Central London.And much to my annoyance you cannot watch TV from your bed, because the only thing opposite your bed is the door.. if your planning a long stay..think again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for writing us a review.

I am sorry to hear you were not completely satisfied with your stay.

The Chandeliers is the hotel were specially commissioned and are one off pieces and are not replicas as you have suggested, in fact they are not even Chinese in design.

During your stay in the hotel we were experiencing problems with our service provider for the WIFI but i assure you that normally the WIFI is excellent. We apologize for the inconvenience this caused you.

The Hotel is very centrally located, with fantastic transport links which most of our visitors appreciate.

Thanks again for taking the time to share your comments with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Did not meet my standards for a 4 star hotel. The rooms are way to small. There is no place to put your suitcase and you are always in trouble just getting around the rooms if you have any luggage since everything will need to be on the floor. Beds are OK but standard room only have Queen size. Very poor insulation around the doors result in noise from the hallway, you can hear everyone talking,coming and going.Bathroom was nice but very small and everything was clean although some lack of maintenance was present. Very small TV. Breakfast was good and the service good. The location was no surprise but there is not that much around the hotel, very few restaurants but some shops on the High street. Underground only 3 min. walk and you are in central London in 12-15 min. and never any waiting time so no problem there. Due to the size of the rooms this can never be a 4 star hotel for me 3+ at the most.

Room Tip: Ask for twin beds then you get a slightly bigger rooms downstars with a bigger TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sindrimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Thank you very much for your valued feedback.

I am sorry the hotel did not live up to your expectations. Our rooms sizes are comparative to most city hotels and offers a full range of facilites. The Air conditioning in the hotel has to be activated by leaving your card inserted in the door panel otherwise it does not work.

Our continental breakfast offers three different cereals, 2 types of yogurt, fresh fruit, fruit salad, three types of cold meats, cheese, selection of jams, selection of bread,orange juice & apple juice, tea and coffee and three different types of pastry. If there is more you think we need to add to this i would be happy to recieve your suggestions. We also offer a full a la carte menu.

Once again i am sorry you were not completly satisfied and appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here over the weekend booked as a topsecret hotel and although was slightly cheaper still was overpriced for what you get its not a 4 star a 3plus at the most very clean and modern though with average room facities, hot very small rooms despite air con, small hotel, no gym, slow service by staff with poor English who werent that helpful, behind reception desk was messy doesnt give a good impression, very poor continental breakfast, excellent location for train, but Kilburn is a but run down. But it was ok overall for a quick stop but if youre wanting to treat yourselves dont go here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starblondUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
BEST WESTERN Palm Hotel
#491 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
BEST WESTERN PLUS Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Commodore Hotel
#896 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel
Address: 53 - 59 Kilburn High Road | Maida Vale, London NW6 5SB, England (Formerly The Quality Maitrise Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #773 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel is a 4 star boutique hotel, located in London's fashionable Maida Vale. The hotel opened its doors in summer 2009 following extensive refurbishment of a locally listed Victorian fronted building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Lastminute, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Superbreak UK so you can book your BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing