We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it is small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Maitrise Hotel
Ranked #764 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yes, it is small”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

All reviews are spot on about this hotel - the rooms are small including the bathroom. We got a "VIP" room but we did not see anything special and the concierge did not mention the extra benefits we get from this. The main positive is that it is clean and the bed is a true double bed (as opposed to 2 singles put side by side) and quite comfortable but that is it. The rest are pretty average (lots of people mention about the window. Ours was tiny and all we could see was birds droppings on the window sill). It is close to the train station but 30 min from London central.

Room Tip: Can't say much. However, self service laundry is next door which is convenient for long stays
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KTFromAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    310
    198
    139
    153
See reviews for
129
428
62
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We got this hotel on Priceline two rooms for 10 days and after reading the reviews here were quite apprehensive. However, it seems that with good preparation (and knowing what to expect) the stay can be quite enjoyable.
First off, with full price you might be disappointed. So get some discount.
Second, know in advance that you put a 50 pound deposit on checkin, and receive it at checkout. Really it's no trouble. Make sure you have it in cash as other wise it takes a while to clear back to you.
Third, we emailed the hotel two weeks in advance to ask for a high floor, where you get the windows with natural light. We knew in advance that the windows won't open but that there is AC.
Fourth, when you check in to the hotel, make sure that your room has operating AC and has no funny smell. It seems that some of the rooms have no air circulation, but some do.
We had two rooms, 310 for us adults, and 311 for our two children. 311 was half the size, and had no circulation. The vent makes a noise, but no air flows in under the room door. So in 311 we would have been highly dissatisfied, but 310 was quite ok. Our children didn't complain...
They do charge for keeping the luggage , and you can hear others in the corridor, we weren't bothered by this.

On the positive side, we paid at least 30% less what we would have paid in an alternative hotel. The service although sometimes confused was very warm and welcoming, especially after a few days. When we got stuck due to the airline, we received a nice discount for a last minute booking of an extra night.
And the breakfast is included! Admittedly it's continental, but includes toasts, jams, cereals, fresh fruit and fruit salad, yoghurt, salamis, juice, croissants, coffee/tea. It got us covered for free until lunch, a big plus for a family of four. Make sure not to come down at the last minute though. If some of this list is missing, ask for it.
The location although in a shabby neighbourhood is on the main road, many buses outside the hotel, London Overground across the street, Bakerloo line a 3 minute walk, a Tesco supermarket and a Starbucks across the street and even a small Primark nearby for your cheap shopping.
We even found a good Italian restaurant called Casareccia open 7 days a week a half mile north, we took the bus to get there and enjoyed it several times.

Bottom line - there are of course much better hotels, but if you get this for a deep discount cheer up - you could be just fine.

Room Tip: Room 310 was great. 311 was half sized. Check that there is air flow under the door. Ask for a top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orenm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us this review.

We are glad that you found the location with fantastic transport links convenient for your stay in London.

We hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Who could guess you could have a room with no window? I found out when I was allocated it. Lasted 5 minutes, horribly claustrophobic. The staff were really nice and moved me to a room with a window but the bathroom smelt like a sewer.
Nice staff, decent location, good price but I would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nesamoolian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed in a Standard Double Room for one night only at The Quality Maitrise in London recently. The room was absolutely cramped and noisy (I haven't ever stayed in such a small hotel room before), the wifi signal was shocking (they shouldn't advertise it really) and it is located on an awfully busy street. Further, it is the only hotel where even though I had paid for the room in advance, I was required to provide a fifty pound deposit. It seems unfair that this hotel is ranked as a 4 star hotel for in reality it is underwhelming. In fact, we checked out even before breakfast the next morning as we were desperate to get out of there. For the same price, there are other places you can find to stay in London. Unless you are left with no other alternative, I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nithya N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time give us your feedback about your recent stay.

I am sorry you feel the hotel did not represent good value for money. Our rooms are designed so guests can enjoy a comfortable stay. Our rooms are comparative in size to most city hotels.

We offer two online rates; our Advance Purchase rate which gives the customer a discount for booking early or our standard rate without the discount. If you paid in advance it means you booked the Advance Rate. The £50 at check in is a pre-authorization or cash deposit for incidental charges so you can charge additional items to your room. If you do not use anything during your stay a cash deposit is returned at check out and a pre-authorization gets released automatically within the specified period. This is standard practice in all hotels.

Once again we are sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay and we will take your comments on board to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

When arriving they were very accommodating. However, when reaching our room we were shocked by how small it was. The bed was not a double bed more like a 3/4 size bed. When using the shower it didn't close properly so it leaked all over the floor. Also due to the bathroom being so small it steamed up and the air vent didn't work.

When going to sleep it was ridicule NOISEY. The room above literally felt like it was going to fall in on us, we could every conversation and footstep. We could also hear all the NOISEY traffic and every person walking up and down the stairs and corridor. The doors and ceilings didn't even feel like they were there that's how loud it was. We did manage to get to sleep until 4am.

Also at 4.30am we were called by reception to say we asked for a wake up call. Which we never did, therefore we were awoken again. When leaving we noticed a massive damp/leak stain on the ceiling.

Breakfast - we weren't greeted we had to seat ourselves. The dinning area was small and only served pastries, toast, some fruit and cereal. After 10 mins were asked if wanted coffee or tea. 10 mins later nearly all the breakfast was gone and no one refilled it. It you wanted to pay for a coked breakfast it was £12.95!!!!!!

Overall our stay was not pleasant and would definitely not recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 376GardnerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us.

Naturally we are disappointed to hear that you did not have a good experience. Our rooms are not big but they are designed to give you everything you need for a comfortable stay and are fully air conditioned so the customer can regulate the temperature to their own preference.

Just a correction about out breakfast price which is only £5.00 extra for cooked breakfast upgrade as stated on the menu.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Awful customer service not a 4 star hotel would find another !!! Rooms are tiny windows don't open no croissants or pastries for breakfast scaffolding outside window with noisy workmen outside at the crack of dawn. When complaining you just get ignored. Find another hotel. Misses the mark.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your review. I believe we have sent you a reply in response to the complaint you made to the hotel.

As we mentioned there is building work going on next to the hotel, for which we have no control of but we have spoken to the contracters to ensure work does not start until 8am.

Breakfast does get very busy in the morning, unfortunately most customers tend to come to breakfast at the same time but we are training the staff to be quicker at replinishing the buffet.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Pros:

- Everything modern and new

- AMAZING staff, some of the best trained hotel staff I've ever dealt with...very nice and knowledgable and worthy of extra praise

- Great location

Cons

- I booked an Executive room but was given a V.I.P. room.
What they did not realize was my friends are also staying in the hotel so I saw their bigger, better accommodations.

VERY disappointed in the Quality & Choice brands for misleading me in an otherwise terrific hotel


I recommend you book here but for the best possible experience but you need to ensure they dont trick you with the misdirection

I would give them 5/5 if not for this

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Marlon604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridon M, General Manager at Best Western Maitrise Hotel, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for writing us a review.

I am a little confused by your comments about the executive room and VIP room as in the hotel we only have standard or VIP ( which some sites refer to as executive) . All of our rooms are near enough the same size, except the VIP rooms have some added extra benefits. If you would like to discuss this please feel free to contact me.


Thank you again and we hope to be able to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Best Western Palm Hotel
#524 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hammersmith / Fulham
Best Western Plus Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
Commodore Hotel
#885 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Maitrise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Maitrise Hotel

Property: Best Western Maitrise Hotel
Address: 53 - 59 Kilburn High Road | Maida Vale, London NW6 5SB, England (Formerly The Quality Maitrise Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #764 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Maitrise Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN Maitrise Hotel is a 4 star boutique hotel, located in London's fashionable Maida Vale. The hotel opened its doors in summer 2009 following extensive refurbishment of a locally listed Victorian fronted building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Maitrise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing