We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Ranked #71 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice view...”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed at Marlin Aldgate Apartments for 4 nights in mid-July in a 2 bedroom penthouse (15th floor) flat. The apartment was very nice, although it could've been a bit cleaner. The overall cleanliness was fine but some of the fabrics; curtains, bedspread and sofa pillows we're quite dirty with stains - which wasn't very nice...
The view from the apartment was very nice and although the apartment doesn't have an air conditioner it stayed cool when we opened the balcony door and the windows - it was very hot in London!
Apartment is good when travelling with children but the Aldgate area doesn't really have any good restaurants for children and there are a lot of construction sites around so you have to be careful when walking about. Subway and buses operate just around the corner and London Tower is within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Mrs S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
I am delighted that you enjoyed the views of our apartments and our central location.
We are very sorry that your room was not cleaned to the highest standard. We can assure you this is an exception to our usual high standards and the housekeeping team intend to learn from these comments. I truly hope that you will return to us soon.
I would welcome the chance to look after your booking personally and ensure you have another memorable stay.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    165
    61
    22
    27
See reviews for
147
88
13
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed for 4 days in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment on the 10th floor. It was perfect for a family. Kitchen was fully equiped, very spacious and location was ideal. 2 Tube stations were less than a 5 minute walk from the apartment. Shops, pubs and restuarants within walking distance. The only fault i could find was that our apartment overlooked a construction site, however as we were out all day it did not bother us. On a brigher note, to see the urban foxes running around the site was something i would never has thought i would have seen. All in all i would definately recommend this venue.
The receptionist was polite, friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarenandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear DarenandKim,

Thank you for your positive review of your recent stay at the our serviced apartments.
It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our rooms, and that you found our team very friendly and helpful.
Your recommendation is much appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you here at the hotel again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiener Neustadt, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I stayed for a few days with friends in London and Marlin Apartments was an excellent choice for us. Very close to Aldgate East tube station within minutes away from the city. The front desk team were very helpful friendly and smiling all the time. Thank you Marlin for a great stay. I recommend this place, much better than a regular hotel room. I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Barry S,

Thank you for your good feedback and for taking the time to share with other members about your stay in Marlin Apartments Aldgate.
It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us and were satisfied with our rooms, and services rendered by our team.

Your recommendation is much appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We just returned from eight days in London with our teenage kids (boy-16, girl-18). Let me begin by confessing that I did not search for lodging in London with as much lead time as I probably should have. I booked this place about seven weeks in advance of our trip. So our choices were more limited than they might have been if I had searched for a place to stay a few months in advance.

We wanted to find a place where the kids could have a separate room from the adults, and we needed two beds in that separate room. We thought about booking two separate hotel rooms, but not all of the places that we considered offered the option of two beds in a room. In the end, we chose Marlin Aldgate because it had good reviews here, because it had the sleeping arrangement that we needed (and an extra bathroom was nice too), and it was located close to an underground station.

Overall we were happy with our accommodations. If we were going back, we would try to get an earlier start in our search for a place to stay. In other words, we didn't love this place so much that staying there again would be an absolute no brainer. Still, even with more advance planning, it might be hard to beat. Here are the pros and cons.

Pros
1. As already stated, the building is a short walk from the Aldgate East tube station. There are a couple of different underground lines serving that station, so it was easy to get around London.
2. The beds were very firm. Some of the firmest I've ever slept on in a hotel. That's what I prefer, so I was very happy with this, but travelers who prefer soft bedding ought to keep this in mind.
3. The bathrooms were clean and comfortable. After walking all day, I soaked in a tub one night and appreciated that the tub was quite long. I'm 6'2" and didn't feel too cramped in the tub.
4. It was nice to have a kitchen, although we didn't really cook at all. We kept milk and juice in the refrigerator and bought a few other supplies so we could eat breakfast each day before going out. I suppose if you wanted to take the time to cook some of your own meals, you could save some money. The supplies in the kitchen were adequate, but nothing particularly special.
5. The staff were friendly and helpful. For example, we bought tickets to several attractions the night before we planned to visit them, and to print them out we just send emails to the front desk who printed them out and emailed us back when they were ready to be picked up. We were allowed to leave our bags at the property on the day of our arrival, even though we got there a few hours before check-in time. About halfway through our stay, we switched rooms (more on that below), and we were allowed to keep our milk and juice in the office refrigerator in the time between our morning checkout and our evening check in on the day of the switch.

Cons
1. The immediate neighborhood wasn't particularly interesting. Near the end of our trip we discovered a neighborhood called Spitalfields which was just a few blocks from the apartment building and had lots of interesting shops and restaurants. Wish we had discovered that a bit sooner.
2. The first few nights of our stay we were booked in one of their two bedroom premier rooms, but we switched to a penthouse room about halfway through the trip. The penthouse roomed seemed pretty much identical to the other one, except that there was more glass and of course a broader view. Our particular unit faced in a direction that afforded a not-very-interesting view. Also, even though we were much higher, there was more street noise (presumably because we faced a busier road). After the fact, spending the extra money to get the penthouse suite wasn't a good investment.
3. Cost. Everything in London is expensive, so in a relative sense, this place is probably a decent value. Even so, we spent a little more than $400 per night for our room, and it didn't seem especially luxurious.

All in all, our experience here was good. I don't have a lot of experience at different types of accommodations in London. If I did, perhaps I would be raving about this place. I would be happy enough to stay there again, but I would also look at other options on my next trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smarthoosier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Smarthoosier,

Thank you for taking the time to write about Marlin Apartments Aldgate.
I am pleased to see that you appreciated our standard of cleanliness, that you found our team so helpful and our location so central.
I am also very pleased that you liked the comfort of the bed at the hotel. Many of our regular guests also comment on this so it is lovely to hear you felt the same.
I am sorry that you found the room and its location noisy. In future we can address these issues by allocating you a quiet executive room not facing the main street, which I am certain that you will find comfortable for your stay.

We do sincerely hope to see you again.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have been using these apartments for business stays several times and latest during a weekend visit with my family. The apartments makes you feel much more at home, compared to hotel rooms. The center of London is just a few stops away and you have access to both the circle line, district line and H&C lines within 5 min. This gives you a broad range of access to the area.

The placement is right on the edge of the outskirts of central London, but I would still much rather stay here, compared to a cramped hotelroom in central.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yodavonbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Yodavonbeck,

Thank you for the positive feedback.
It is delightful to read your comments and be reassured that our effort to provide a home away from home for our long staying guests has been recognised.

We look forward to seeing you here at the hotel again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We booked a 1-bedroom executive apartment and had a very spacious apartment with floor to ceiling windows and an expansive view over London suburbs. Having a full kitchen and washing/machine dryer were very handy and the apartment was very clean. Marks and Spencer's ready meals and a great view made for a relaxing evening after a day of sightseeing. The tube station was an easy 3-minute walk away. One thing we did notice were the number of sirens around the area from ambulances, police, etc but this was obviously not particular to the apartments but rather the area. There was also a lot of construction going on around the area but this did not cause any disturbance for us. The staff at the apartment block were very friendly and helpful. This would be a great apartment for business stays. For tourists it is a bit limited in terms of there not being a lot around of interest but the tube enables easy access and compared to cramped expensive hotel rooms, which often disappoint in London, this is a great option for accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Dear Peg212,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Marlin Apartments Aldgate.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, that you found your time in the apartments memorable and that you enjoyed the views of our apartments.
I am pleased to see that you appreciated our standard of cleanliness and that you found the staff very friendly and helpful.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Whitechapel
Leman Locke
Leman Locke
#4 of 823 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments Aldgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Property: Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Address: 58 Commercial Road, London E1 1LP, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Tower Bridge - Aldgate)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 823 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Aldgate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest development, Marlin Aldgate, is situated in London's latest financial district. These premier apartments were constructed in 2009 in a response to the incredible and ever-growing demand for cost-effective London accommodation that does not compromise on quality.Marlin Aldgate is amongst a host of vibrant and fashionable districts such as Shoreditch and Hoxton that have been welcoming a new wave of urbanites in recent years. From this development, guests are only a short distance away from such London landmarks as Tower Bridge, the Gherkin and Canary Wharf. Aldgate is highly accessible via public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Marlin Apartments Aldgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Aldgate City East Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing