We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, hospitable, easy access to tubes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Ranked #70 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Clean, hospitable, easy access to tubes”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A 2 bedroom apartment here easily sleeps 6, with room to spare.

Our apartment was clean and tidy, with a balcony too.

We did have to pay extra for a late check out, and extra for the use of the sofa bed, but all in all, its pretty good value for money.

There's near access to Aldgate East tube at the end of the road, or Aldgate about 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socialPolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear M Socialpolly,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with your apartment and balcony.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    167
    63
    22
    28
See reviews for
150
88
13
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was a very nice apartment. The price was a bit high, but since it's London, it was not unexpected. The staff we met during our stay was very nice helped us with whatever we needed.
It was easy to get to the subway, and shops were very close.

It took only 3 days after departure the deposit was transferred back to me

When we stayed there, we were bothered with a lot of noise from hotel next door, because it is under demolition. but it's not the hotel's fault.
All in all, a recommended place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jokumzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear M jokumzie,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you enjoyed the service from the team.

With regards to the apartment it is also disappointing that you were disturbed by works taking place nearby when you stayed.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to welcome you back to our apartments again soon.

Best regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleobury Mortimer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment. We asked for an apartment with a balcony which we were given, on the 14th floor. The apartment was finished to a good standard and spacious. It is a 5 minute walk to Aldgate East Tube Station. Minor points - the blinds and carpets in the bedroom need a good clean and we had to wait ten minutes to check in due to a queue. Overall we were happy and we would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Mr Daniel W,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked your apartment and balcony.

We have noted your comments on the cleanliness of the room. You can rest assured we have shared your feedback in detail with the Executive Housekeeper for immediate review and improvement.

Thank you once again for taking the time to inform us about your experience and your very positive feedback. I am at your disposal should you wish to contact me and we very much hope to welcome you back to the Marlin Apartments Aldgate again.

Best regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I booked this place based on its rating on TripAdvisor. It was the highest rated of all the Marlin Apartment even though it is not close to where I was attending a conference in Westminster.
I arrived early and was charged an early check-in fee (Not happy) which allowed me to check in at 11am instead of 3pm. I arrived at 9 and was allowed to check into my apartment (Happy).
The apartment are simple and well laid out. Very clean and functional. They include all appliances you'd require and they provide soap for the dishwasher and the washing machine. Unfortunately, there was construction going on next door and the sound of the jackhammers would wake on up early in the morning.
The personnel were always willing to help and they allowed me to store my luggage after checking out because my flight was only in the evening.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear M Leslie T,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us here at Marlin Apartments Aldgate.
It is a pleasure to know you have enjoyed your stay with us; and were satisfied with our rooms, and services rendered by our team.

With regards to the apartment it is also disappointing that you were disturbed by works taking place nearby when you stayed. Whilst we do have good relationships with our neighbours the noise you experienced was unfortunately beyond our control and regrettably I do not have a record of this being brought to our attention whilst you were with us – otherwise we could have offered you an alternate quieter room.

Thank you once again for taking the time to inform us of your experience and your very positive feedback. I am at your disposal should you wish to contact me and we very much hope to welcome you back to the Marlin Apartments Aldgate again.

Best regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

After a long day of work I had to find a hotel lastminute. I know London is very expensive and often booked out, but I managed to find a room for 260 pounds at the Marlin Aldgate appartments. I booked the room online with my Company Creditcard and the hotel booked of the money of my card straight away. When I arrived at the hotel at 10 PM, the lady behind the reception did not want to let me into my room. Her argument was that my name was not on the creditcard, only the name of my company. I showed her my businesscard with my name on it and also the name of the company ( which was on the creditcard as well) but she refused to let me in. I offered her to pay the room in cash or with my bankingcard and that the financial department of the hotel would refund the money that the hotel took from my card in the days after, but she still refused. She was not willing to help out in any way and I never experienced someone being so rude and stubborn. The last thing that I managed to achieve with her is writing me a confirmation that the hotel would refund the 260 pounds they took of my card and then I left around 10.30 and was on the streets again with my suitcase and no hotelroom. After making several phonecalls I managed to find a hotel 35 minutes away by tube and I was finally able to get some sleep. I never got to see the appartments, but if they look like the photos on the website then they must be nice. But for me is a good and friendly service a huge part in having a good experience in a hotel. I would never ever go back to this hotel again, because I think people should be treated with respect and this lady was not an example of how you should treat guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Feravdb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrada S, Manager at Marlin Apartments Aldgate, responded to this review, 20 October 2013
Dear Feravdb,

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you on the evening you attempted to check in and am disappointed that you were unable to experience our apartments.

Unfortunately for security and identification purposes, we must verify that the card used to make the booking does belong to the guest by matching the name on the card to a valid form of photo identification. Usually on occasions where a company card is used or a card belonging to somebody else is used, we would ask for a copy of that card and the cardholder’s ID to be sent to us in advance of your stay for verification. I appreciate that in this instance of booking last minute that this was not achievable and for that I apologise for the inconvenience.

We are unable to take large cash payments at the reception; however if you attempted to use your own card to make payment for the booking then this should have been permitted and I am very sorry that our usual procedures were not followed on this occasion. I will personally ensure that all members of staff are retrained on special cases like this so that we are able to maintain our excellent levels of service at all times.

I hope that you will consider us again for a future stay.

Best regards,
Andrada Sanducu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

I have been into this apartment for a business trip last week. It was my first apartment experience in London. I always stay in a hotel. The apartment itself was very good. The only disadvantage of this hotel was location to London centre but this was overcome by underground which is 3 min walk from the apartment. The apartment is very close to tesco express. The reception staff are polite and very helpful. The apartment was very nice and clean. I will certainly consider this apartment in my next trip to London. The area itself is very nice and decent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helmi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floreat, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

The location was fine and still accessible to the city and tube rail system. Beds were very comfortable and apartment well appointed. Although we booked for twin beds, this didn't come through in the appointed apartment and one child had to sleep on a sofa bed. This just made the living area a little cramped but worked anyway. Front desk staff were very helpful with assisting with the collection of a parcel and tried to help with what we asked.

Washing machine was terrible and we had trouble getting it to work properly. Airconditioning should be considered for the times when it does get hot.

Room Tip: avoid side of building overlooking building site as it is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Marlin Apartments - Empire Square
City of London
Marlin Apartments Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marlin Apartments Canary Wharf
Whitechapel
SHQ Apartments
SHQ Apartments
#87 of 843 in London
38 reviews
Whitechapel
Leman Locke
Leman Locke
#5 of 843 in London
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlin Apartments Aldgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Apartments Aldgate

Property: Marlin Apartments Aldgate
Address: 58 Commercial Road, London E1 1LP, England (Formerly Marlin Apartments Tower Bridge - Aldgate)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 843 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlin Apartments Aldgate 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newest development, Marlin Aldgate, is situated in London's latest financial district. These premier apartments were constructed in 2009 in a response to the incredible and ever-growing demand for cost-effective London accommodation that does not compromise on quality.Marlin Aldgate is amongst a host of vibrant and fashionable districts such as Shoreditch and Hoxton that have been welcoming a new wave of urbanites in recent years. From this development, guests are only a short distance away from such London landmarks as Tower Bridge, the Gherkin and Canary Wharf. Aldgate is highly accessible via public transport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marlin Apartments Aldgate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlin Apartments - Aldgate City East Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing