We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your typical bar food”

William's Bar and Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
William's Bar and Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9,301 of 23,015 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Description: William's Bar and Bistro is an elegant restaurant serving what's best about classic European cuisine, tucked away inside London's exclusive St. James's Hotel and Club in Park Place. Plush velvet seating and artfully framed oil paintings lend the dining room an intimate and chic ambience. This, along with the convenient location near Mayfair and the West End, make William's Bar and Bistro an ideal spot for everything from supper dates to working lunches, pre-theatre dinners, delicious cocktails or a decadent traditional afternoon tea to help you revive and unwind after a hard day's shopping. The bistro menu is a cut above, having been designed by Michelin-starred chef William Drabble of Seven Park Place. It's based on what's in season, so it changes regularly, but we especially like the sound of the terrine of confit chicken and foie gras with celeriac remoulade, the sirloin burger, the warm salad of scallops with crispy bacon.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not your typical bar food”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Situated in the St. James's Hotel and Club on a quiet side street behind the Ritz hotel is this gem of a bar. Arriving late in London, I was looking for a quick, light meal. William's was the perfect spot. I started with a bowl of the "soup of the day" - a creamy carrot soup with soft, delicate flavours. For my "main course" I chose the warm salad scallops - fresh greens in a nice herb vinagrette with thinly sliced warm scallops. The portions are on the small side, which is what I was looking for. The bar has a small selection of good quality wines by the glass.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank exgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    5
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Special Lunch for Duke of Edinburgh Gold Award Ceremony”
Reviewed 30 March 2012

We found Williams Bistro in the St James Palace Hotel through Tripadvisor, we were looking for a special restaurant near to St James Palace to celebrate, which we knew would be in close walking distance, approximately 5 minutes away. The location was perfect given we had an elderly grandmother with us who appreciates fine hotels.

The online booking system is efficient and we received a call the next day to confirm our booking and answer our query, they took a £20.00 per head cancellation deposit which we thought was reasonable. The welcome and service was exceptional and fully met our expectations of a 5 star hotel.

The ambience is calm and luxurious which led to a long and relaxed lunch, the menu was varied with a good range of options, and the food was fantastically prepared and displayed. The desserts were not to be missed under any circumstances!!

Overall this is a very special restaurant which is tucked away from the main street and well worth discovering.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simpson570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Food”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Perfect. Ridiculously good, in fact. A real find. Fabulous food in lovely surroundings - bang in the heart of London. I had a fantastic burger and fries one night... and for lunch I ate what must be the best schnitzel outside Austria. It puts what you get round the corner at the Wolsely to utter shame. I will return. PS - afternoon tea hunters - we didnt, sadly, sample the afternoon tea but I suspect it is fabulous and they charge half of what you'd pay 2 minutes up the road.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dismal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“well worth searching for”
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This tiny elegant bar is part of the St. James hotel, quite close to Green Park station. Tables for dinner can be reserved on Opentable. The food was sublime. I had pork cheeks in madeira sauce, meltingly delicious. Dessert was fabulous too. Really an excellent value for the neighborhood. We spent about the same amount for dinner the night before at a generic Italian place nearby--this was light years better.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dameK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 October 2011

A lovely high end bistro, small and intimate, beautifully furnished, with tasteful art work adorning the walls.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed William's Bar and Bistro also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to William's Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing