We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for families!!”

Ray Ruddick's Day and Away Tours
Ranked #303 of 727 Tours in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ray Ruddick has been welcoming visitors from all over the world for 25 years. Private groups of families or friends (up to 8 passengers) can experience the best that London and the UK has to offer whilst being driven and guided by their own personal driver-guide. To guarantee Ray's availability you can check out his diary online and can now book the trip of a lifetime up to December 2014! See Ray's website for a wide choice of day tours, away tours and lots of London activity ideas, a comprehensive list of Free activities in London, the best places for kids, a full up-to-date events guide by month and many other UK travel tips.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Our family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids; ages 11 and 12 years old) had the most enjoyable and unforgettable experience with Ray Ruddick. We spent 4 days exploring the English countryside (Oxford, Cotswolds, Stratfor-Upon-Avon, Bath, Stonehenge, etc.), and another day discovering London with him! We covered a lot of ground: from quaint country villages, to stately palaces and historical castles, from major attractions and off the beaten track places! Whenever the opportunity arises, we do something really interesting and fun which are not in the itinerary – he calls them “serendipity!” and we loved those moments. We remember the time he pulled over to the roadside to feed some horses with mints! He tries his best to accommodate everyone's fancy. We visited a lot of Harry Potter sights for my husband and daughter, Banksy murals for another daughter, and a Bugatti car showroom for my son!

Being one of the senior Blue Badge guides, he is very knowledgable and is a walking encyclopedia of facts. We learned a lot from him! Most importantly, Ray is a genuinely kind person who truly cares for our famiy in every way. He was like a second father to our children, always ready to help us in any way. We will never forget our experience with him!

2  Thank goalies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RayRuddickTours, Owner at Ray Ruddick's Day and Away Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Thank you so much guys for a really lovely review of your tour with me! You have said some really sweet things there and that says just as much about you and your lovely family as it does about me. My warmest regards and I really hope to meet you all again one day! Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had an extremely enjoyable day with Ray Ruddick on his personalized tour. We had a few places we wanted to see that were not on a specific planned tour and he was very accommodating in helping us plan our day. We did a trip outside of London, stopping at Windsor Castle, Stonehenge, Bath, and driving through some of the most picturesque Cotswold villages. He also added Oxford at the end which was a pleasant surprise. Our day was quite long with alot of driving involved, but he was very knowledgeable and entertaining and the time just flew by. I would highly recommend any tour with Ray. He was very professional and was a true gentleman.

2  Thank lcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuddickTours, Owner at Ray Ruddick's Day and Away Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2012

Many thanks for the generous compliment! Hope to see you all over here again one day, Best wishes, Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Thanks to Ray for the wonderful day trip! Got to see Stonehenge, Oxford, Windsor Castle, and walk in the Cotswolds. Ray showed us the sights and knew interesting little stories about area authors, artists, pubs, and architecture. I wholeheartedly concur with the many other positive reviews here. Ray was exceptional and helped to fill our vacation with fond memories.

3  Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Thanks Ben for writing about your day out with me, you were great company! Best wishes for a bright future! Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Don't pass up an opportunity to spend a day with Ray Ruddick. He is a true gem! During our recent trip to London, we booked Ray to take us on a day trip to Stonehenge and Blenheim Palace. When we noticed that another reviewer had mentioned a brief walk in the Cotswolds, we asked if this could be added, as well. Ray happily agreed. On the day of our tour, Ray picked us up promptly at our flat in Chelsea and we headed out of town. As he was asking about our interests, I mentioned my enjoyment of birds. He asked if we had to return at any particular time. When we said that we did not, he suggested an impromptu stop at Richmond Park. Once there, he searched about until he had found me a lovely flock of large green parakeets. We also loved the huge red deer in the park and stopped to photograph them.

Later, Ray suggested a quick drive past Windsor Castle, where we managed to arrive just in time for the changing of the guards with fife and drum. During the afternoon, he detoured through small villages in the Cotswolds and explained their construction, and took us through Oxford, pointing out the highlights. He knew all of the best spots to stop for anything from a photo op, to great fish and chips.

During our walk in the Cotswolds, Ray got permission to walk us through a movie set where they were filming for the upcoming BBC Father Brown series. Got nods and hellos from Mark Williams (Arthur Weasley in Harry Potter) and Hugo Speer (Guy in The Full Monty) and enjoyed looking at the sets as the actors studied their lines.

After a bit of a slip in the mud on the trail left my husband with the unpleasant sensation left by stinging nettles on the palms, Ray even knew what medicinal plant on the trail would soothe the mild sting.

Ray treated us like family and refused our offered tip, even though our trip went nearly four hours beyond its agreed upon time. We suggest that you e-mail Ray, tell him your interests, and let him suggest and ininerary. You will be happy you did!

2  Thank piemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 4 July 2012

Wow! Thanks guys for such a lovely review; I'm delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your day with me and grateful to you for taking the trouble to tell others. Very best wishes, Ray

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

The time we spent with Ray on our 2-day tour was PERFECT. We developed a friendship with him immediately. His knowledge, professionalism, humor, and courteous manner were spectacular. What a gentleman and a scholar Ray Ruddick is!!

2  Thank rennie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ray Ruddick's Day and Away Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ray Ruddick's Day and Away Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing