We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of The Bolingbroke

The Bolingbroke
Ranked #5,347 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Clapham / Battersea 
Description: Showcasing the best British food and drink in relaxed and welcoming surroundings, The Bolingbroke is the perfect place to enjoy a chilled glass of wine after work, a hearty lunch with friends, weekend brunch or a romantic dinner underneath the stars in the striking conservatory. Named after Viscount Bolingbroke (1678-1751), an infamous local politician known for his hard drinking, innumerable affairs and wild escapades, this refined and renowned pub and dining room exudes elegance. The Bolingbroke's warm welcome extends to all the family with toys and games to keep the little ones happy, as well as their own children's menu.
London
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This place looks good and is ok to stop by for a drink. Though, one pint and one cider was £10.20! Lots of yummy mummy's and babies even at 6pm on a Friday night. The restaurant part looked lovely. I wouldn't go out of my way, but lovely to stop in if you are in the area.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sparkles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    62
    23
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Christening”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Nice place and a good menu. Unfortunately we are here with a christening party so the time it is taking for food is far too long.

My duck salad starter was very light on the duck, so much so it was a salad, not a duck salad... Disappointing really.

Had to wait 40 mins for our mains which is far too long. It seems the capacity of the kitchen can't keep up with the number of table in the restaurant.

All in all this place was a below average for us :-(

I would hope that it would be a lot better when quieter.

I am sure

Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply average - however Bloody Marys to die for!”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Was not impressed with the small portions which are no where near the price they don. Simply average food and screaming kids galore on the weekends when this place appears to be very busy. Service average too.

Having said that, the Bloody Marys are simply fabulous. So tasty and full of horseradish - wonderful!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“lovely for brunch but watch out for shouty kids”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

OK place, just off Nappy valley, sorry Northcote Road, wooden tables, floors etc, nice simple brunch menu, scrambled eggs were good and plentiful, friends eggs florentine looked great. It would've been nice to have been offered butter, jam etc for toast and have the option of juices (orange the only one on offer) but still all fresh nice produce and good, albeit, small cup of coffee. They also offer 'baby brunch' which does give the indication there may be small shouty people in the vicinity, which isn't ideal with a Saturday morning hangover!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pinkbubbles68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disappointing - wouldn't go back and certainly wouldn't recommend”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I left here feeling like I'd been mugged.

Awful food, terrible value for money. 6 people who have no intention in going back and a circle of friends who we'll steer away from the Bolingbroke too.

There is considerably better value locally and infinitely better food (Soif and Entree on Battersea Rise to name but two)

In terms of specifics:

Overcooked, tough steak. Chips which barely passed as chips (tiny, soggy, lukewarm) and lettuce that was brown on the edges. The medium rare steak was rarer than the rare steaks. The meat on the rare steaks looked more like it had been boiled than fried/grilled (grey as opposed to brown)

Rabbit - 2 pieces (ballotine) 1cm thick and barely bigger than a £2 coin - most of which was stuffing as opposed to meat. Then a plate of mashed potato (lukewarm). A whole rabbit costs 4.50 - I don't begrudge restaurants making profit on food, I do begrudge someone shamelessly putting as little meat as possible on a plate and "hiding it" with a mound of mash.

To be fair, they took the steaks and rabbit off the bill, however that is based upon the fact we complained - I'd be very surprised if I went in again that anything had changed. Not that any of our party will go back in again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bolingbroke also viewed

 

Been to The Bolingbroke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing