We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in a cool hotel”
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #178 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Where do I begin? We travel a lot, I have stayed in many hotels and this by far is one of the best! We stayed here for 2 nights from Friday to Sunday. The hotel was very busy and we get a complimentary upgrade on arrival (as the hotel only has a few basic rooms, I guess that happens quite often). The large room (around 40sqm) was very clean, comfortable, modern and charming. Bed was very nice, better than at home! Pillows were great, WIFI was most of the time fast (and free) and room had a great kitchen area. Air conditioner was quiet and worked great. Flat screen TV was working fine. The room had excellent details.. The bathroom was huge with a wonderful tub. Shower pressure was the best in London, I have never experienced that before in the Queen’s city. And absolutely no noise from the other rooms. Some hotels have poor light setup, here all was well functioning, and easy to use from bed, by the bathroom and from the hallway. The curtain setup was great, so our little boy, could stay in a “separate room”. Concierge did a good job (he helped us 3 times), and check-in was quick and professional. And the furnitures and art was great, both in the room and in the common areas. Location of the hotel is in a quiet area, and close to the Underground, restaurants, and The Childhood Museum. We spent one hour there, and it was great fun for both kids and adults (retro-toys etc.). Walking dinstance to Spitafield Market, Broadway Market is just great. And the Corner Room restaurant is so cool. Highly recommended for a luxury week-end in Bethnal Green. The pool area is small, but nice. Great details, and perfect temperature for swimming. The lobby - we actually spent a lot of time there, drinking cucomber water, and using all the fancy chairs from Wegner and friends. And the service was above everything we have experienced in London. Especially at the front desk - really good service.

The only negative thing about the room is that the sound system does not have a docking station for Iphone 5, only 3+4. The rest is really great.

Room Tip: Room G18 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moozewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, I am always pleased when I read good reviews about our hotel, but when they come from a consumed traveller with a lot of knowledge of our business and an obvious eye for detail, the result is enhanced. I am glad that you enjoyed all our “little treats” set in the room and the skills of our chefs at the Corner Room. It is nice to read that we deliver the service we are famous for and I will cascade your nice words to all the involved departments. Now you know you have a house in London that will wait for you every time you will be back. Many thanks and
kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights over Easter weekend. It is located next to Bethnal Green station on the Central Line (just outside of Zone 1 of Central London).

Upon arrival, we had the pleasant surprise to be upgraded from a standard bedroom to a one-bedroom apartment. The apartment was very big and very well furnished, with an entrance, a living area (with a TV, a fully-fledged kitchen), a large bathroom and the bedroom (which had its own TV).

We tested their food on two occasions: room service on the night we came in and breakfast the day after. The room service is menu is not extensive but the options are a good bargain and what we had was very good.

The breakfast is either available through room service or in their restaurant where they have a buffet and an a la carte menu. We opted for the latter and thought the food was nice (but perhaps a little too expensive when you want to eat a full English breakfast).

The staff was very responsive to our requests and always happy to help.

An excellent stay overall. If I had to make a negative comment, that would be concerning the wifi (which is free by the way) the coverage of which was not great in the bedroom part of the apartment. We would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Florian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words left on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read that you had a fully enjoyable experience and that you had the chance to experience the most part of our facilities. I am glad to read that our staff was living up to their reputation. I have taken note of your comment and I will speak with the department manager involved to sort the problem out. I am looking forward to welcome you again for your next visit. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is the second time my family have stayed at Town Hall . As I wrote on my previous visit I am not a fan of the location, but I guess that is why you get value for your money.
The man on the arrival desk was so helpful when I had a small mix up with transport.
A room upgrade was given which was an added bonus.
My only, hopefully constructive criticism is I feel the standard of breakfast was not as good as on my previous visit and the coffee making skills of the staff could improve.
Overall I would be happy to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, we really appreciate our guests even more so when they are repeating ones and they recommend our hotel to their friends! It is nice to see that the quality of the service that you found in the first place did not fade as the time went by. I particularly like the last part of your review, the promise to bring more people and visit us again. Looking forward to it! Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were there with our 3 children aged 2, 4, and 8 years.
We had a very big appartment/ loft. The kids loved it.
Design, cleanless and confort were great.

The swimming pool was a real relief after 1 day of walking.

I would really recommend this hotel especially for a family like us. The concept both hotel and appartments enable to have all advantages. We could have a pizza with the kids in our appartment and enjoy the same evening a (great) Margarita at the bar.

The neighbourghood is OK, and the access to the metro is very easy.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, thank you for your very exhaustive although essential description of our hotel and your stay left on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read reviews like this because they help future guests with families to choose the right hotel in London, The Town Hall Hotel. I am also pleased to see that you enjoyed all the facilities. We hope to see you soon with your family and your friends. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a very nice executive suite in the ground floor. We were a little disturbed of noise from the router the first night, but the staff was very helpful and got it fixed immediately. We travelled with our six years old son, and the surroundings showed up to be quite family friendly. Especially the pool was a winner. The Corner Room where we had our breakfast and more dinners was excellent with light modern food and a relaxed atmosphere. Friendly, professional and serviceminded staff everywhere. All in all a very nice stay, and we would not hesitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, it is really difficult to find the right balance between design and functionality, with your kind words left in Tripadvisor I have the certainty that once more we reached this goal. Thank you for such a nice review. I always say that the best way to judge a hotel is to sleep in its rooms, try the restaurant, and use the services provided. Your first-hand experience highlights exactly this. looking forward to see you soo!.. Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Took our 9 yr old for a couple of days in London and had a great time! Hotel staff very helpful, rooms are fantastic - we had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, and a living room / kitchen for less than the cost of a central london hotel room. Well worth the 5 min tube ride into the city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, I really enjoyed the journalist cut of your review left on Tripadvisor, which in essential words highlights how much you enjoyed the experience. We wait for you next time in your “fantastic apartment” here at the Town Hall Hotel! Many thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels in central London and this is the best experience I have had so far. Will definitely return. We were upgraded at check in to a 'feature room', which was lovely. Hotel is very clean, staff friendly, helpful but not OTT. The hotel is 'alive' with history and has been very sympathetically restored to provide a lovely experience for guests. We only stayed for one night and visited the glorious nearby Victoria park; which was full of trees in blossom and borders full of colourful tulips...well worth a visit and much better than Hyde Park....especially if as we did, you have time to visit 2 great London pubs at either end of the park...the Crown and The Inn on the Park...both very busy early Saturday evening when we visited, real ales, good atmosphere and reasonable priced pub food. We also visited Brick Lane with it's eclectic mix of coffee houses, fashion shops and pre owned items and jewellery shops( 20 minutes walk from hotel,thank you to reception staff who provided map and guidance). Although the location is not the best in London, the central line tube is just 5 mins walk away. We decided to stay in the 'real' East end part of town and glad we did. We will definitely return. Thoroughly recommended. Pam & Mike W.

Room Tip: Ask for a feature room or upgrade if possible....well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OpsMng, Director of Operations at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Guest, it is really true the East End has something special in it, a melting pot of cultures, spices, food, people and nice places, we love it and that is why our hotel is located here. We are so glad when all our guests discover it, enjoy it and look at us like the key holders of this magic world. Thank you for your nice words left on Tripadvisor, which without doubt will be used by many other travellers to choose the right destination for their stay in London, the Town Hall Hotel. I am glad that the hotel itself played an important role in your stay and that every department added to an already nice experience. We will keep on with our philosophy and we will grant you many other wonderful stays. Many Thanks and kind regards, Sandro Desole

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#380 of 1,076 in London
1,058 reviews
Pimlico
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#160 of 1,076 in London
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#131 of 1,076 in London
1,816 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#157 of 1,076 in London
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £143 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing