We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Girlie Weekend away - glam hotel with character”
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #240 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Stayed here in July for my 30th with friends, was really pleased with this hotel.
The building is absolutely gorgeous, all white and has great character. We got a great deal as it was a special opening offer - we actually paid about the same price as you would for a bog-standard travelodge and this was a lovely design hotel.
LOVED the room, it was more like a mini suite with a kitchen and living area then bedroom. It was well equipped with flat screen tv's,ipod docking station,complimentary milk and newspapers,still and sprakling water and chocolates at turndown. the bathroom was funky with fabulous Occitane toiletries and seperated by the bedroom with a glass panel and a curtain which was a nice stylish touch. The only thing us girlies missed though was a full length mirror - could have really done with one of those but other than that it was great. Loved the fact it had a small kitchen with oven, microwave and fridge, was nice to come back to the hotel after being out and having a nice chilled glass of wine with nibbles.
I thought the staff were great, the cleaners were very friendly and through, we asked for extra tea/coffee and toiletries to which they brought immediately.
The small pool was a bonus - the majority of London hotels don't have one so it was nice to chill in the pool the day after our big night and we had it all to ourselves.
We took our own breakfast foods so didn't need to try out the restaurant but it looked very nice.
The location was perfect for us - East is where it's at nowadays! We walked to London fields for a picnic and the funky boutiques and bars/cafes of Brick Lane were also very close by. Bethnal green also seemed to be quite buzzing although we didn't look around much.
Would absolutely recommend to others staying in that area of London and would defintely return there myself, although I would hope to pay a similar price to what we did originally!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to share such positive feedback with us on Trip Advisor. It was good to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope taht you will be back to stay again (maybe for your anniversary?). I noticed your comment about the full length mirror being needed in your room and have the pleasure of advising that since your stay extra full length mirrors have been added to all rooms and apartments. Should you require any assistance with making a repeat booking, please do not hesitate to let us know. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,184 - 1,190 of 1,389 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2010

Having just returned from a long weekend in London and making it my first order of business to rave about the Town Hall Hotel and Apartments I'm really surprised to see bad reviews on here, particularly about the staff who we found friendly, informative and generally couldn't have done more for us in terms of customer service. Every one we encountered could certainly speak very good English. We got a really good deal on the hotel due to it being newly opened and it was right next to Victoria Park which was the area of London we were interested in, it was also easy to get to by tube as it's very close to the Bethnal Park tube station. The hotel is in a beautiful building with an impressive marble and stone lobby and seems to have gone to great lengths to preserve many of its original features. On arrival we were invited to sit down and checked in without fuss having had a nice conversation with the staff after which the bell boy lead us to our room taking our bags in the process. He produced a map of the area which was really helpful, he then proceeded to give us excellent directions for Victoria Park, he clearly had a lot of knowledge about the area. Our room was fantastic. It was clean, spacious and as we had booked a one bedroom apartment also had a kitchen area that was equipped with everything you'd need in a self catering apartment. There was fresh milk in the fridge for us and complimentary water (still and sparkling) as well as sachets of coffee and tea. It even had a dishwasher with tablets supplied. Here the staff excelled once again. Every time we arrived back at our room after a long day they had either washed our dishes if we had left them innocently by the sink or emptied the dishwasher for us! They had also provided a turn down service complete with yummy chocolate truffles and each morning we woke up to a newspaper outside of our door. Our toiletries (which were L'Occintane) were refreshed and restocked every day and the bed remade and towels changed. Incidentally the bed might be the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in. On check out (which was at a generous 12pm) the staff were just as courteous and friendly as they had been on check in. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody who needed to be in that area of London.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laudanumjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2010

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share such a positive feedback about Town Hall. It is refreshing to see such a passionate testimonial and this has been shared with all of the team here. Should we be able to help you out with accommodation on a future stay, please do not hesitate to let us know. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

As well seasoned 5* travellers, to stay 19 days in one hotel it must be pretty good. The apartment we stayed in was absolutely wonderful. Wonderful design, state of the art kitchen, gorgeous bathroom ... all in the lap of luxury. Newspaper outside our door every morning. Luxury magazines available to just pick up from foyer area.

Staff extreemely friendly and helpful. The bar is an absolute must which is staffed by unique barpeople. For us it was a place to come back to at the end of each day so meals at hotel were not important..

Loved the edgy area - definately not your refined "to be seen area" but edgy.
The staff were very accomodating considering we didnt know how long we would be staying.

We thank all the staff for a wonderful experience.

Angela Tsolakis

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ithika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We hope that you will be back to stay with us again soon! Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

the bad experience started at check-in; the room was not ready, me and my colleague needed to change to go to a meeting in Central London and all we were offered were the toilets. After arguing for 5 minutes we were granted access to the overheated pool changing room.
We asked for our luggage to be sent to our rooms when the room would become available, we were told it was not possible and that we had to check-in again when we get back to the hotel (?!)
The hotel is located in the Bethnal Green area; interesting neighborhood but if you want to spend most of your time in London town, be prepared to spend half hour on a hot subway or about an hour in a cab (by the way, you won't find any cab on the street there - you need to ask the hotel to book you one). It took us more than one hour to reach Hyde Park on a cab!!!
Back at the hotel, we RE-checked in and to our surprise the room was nice and very spacious - this will be the only positive comment of the review. I tried to login on the wifi, the signal was weak, and the connection kept dropping. Impossible to download any large file... i called the front desk to ask if they could fix the problem; they told me there was NO problem with the wifi; maybe I should plug my computer with a cable?! sorry, i've got an iPad.
From a design perspective, this hotel is trying to compete with the likes of Soho Hotel and Sanderson but the furniture and material used are closer to Hilton standards. No soul, no personality, and Ikea style design.
Every member of the staff i got in contact with were incompetent and/or with an attitude. I feel bad for the investors of this hotel, which could have been something special (the building is pretty remarkable architecturally), but the overall offer is not up to the standards set and the price asked per night.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank nycfrtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

I have never written a review before but after my stay at town hall I feel responsible to warn others that this hotel may look nice in the photos but the service is AWFUL. The staff do not speak english well and are not helpful or professional. To have a stunning bldg in the middle of nowhere Bethnal Green work as a great hotel, you need to feel that something is special from the moment you walk in. Unfortunately the staff ruin it from the minute you interact with them. The rooms are spacious and the bldg is gorgeous. But still there is just something not quite right at the same time. Too many corners cut. The furniture won't last more than a year. The pool is not inviting - it feels like a YMCA. And I can't underscore enough how unimpressive the staff were. And not just one person. From the bellboy to the front desk to room service. The caliber of staff is light years behind what this hotel could be if ran better.

And all of that without even mentioning that it really is further away from everything than I expected.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
6  Thank Jryanwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to share your opinion with Trip Advisor after your stay at Town Hall in July. Following your direct feedback to us a full refund was organised and all points raised were fully investigated and rectified. I hope that you will be able to come back to Town Hall at some point in the future and that you will be impressed by the positive changes and enhancements implemented following our first months of being open. Kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I stayed with my two young daughters in a two-bedroom apartment for five nights and was very pleased. The apartment consisted of two one-bedroom apartments connected by a door so it was a large space for the three of us. The apartments were both a slightly different layout, but each was completely self-contained with a bedroom, kitchen, bathroom and living/dining space (each had its own flat-screen tv, but one apartment had an additional tv in the bedroom - the other apartment was completely open plan). The decor is stylish, modern and functional. The kitchen could have had a few more utensils, but it had the essentials and it was great to have the clothes washer/dryer. The furnishings and fittings were all good quality and quite funky, the only drawback being the shower as it leaks water onto the floor. We found the service very attentive and professional throughout our whole stay. At one point there was a knock on the door and a staff member was bringing around a tray of chocolates from the restaurant. Whenever we saw a staff member in the corridor, they always greeted us in a friendly manner. The pool is great with the glass ceiling letting in natural light, and the gym is very well-equipped. The area is not for everyone, but we never felt uncomfortable and there's a nice park nearby and supermarkets only five minutes from the hotel. My daughters loved the V&A Children's Museum which is only a few minutes walk away. Every day we caught the tube into the centre of London and it was very easy and convenient. We booked for the 50% off introductory rate, and I'm not sure it's worth the full rate, considering the area. Possibly once room service is introduced and the spa opens it would warrant a higher rate. However, for half price we were pretty happy with the whole deal.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expat-traveller41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for spending the time to share your feedback with us on trip advisor. It is pleasing to hear that you liked the style and furnishings of your Two Bedroom Apartment. I noticed that you mentioned room service hadn't yet been introduced during your stay and would therefore like to let you know that it is now fully operational (24hrs a day, 7 days a week). Furthermore I noticed you mentioned about spa treatments and wanted to let you know that we do also have a selection of spa treatments on offer now. We are committed to offering the best prices to our return guests and should you have future dates in mind for a return London visit, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and the best available price will be offered. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

It's all about the style here. Stylish rooms, a respectful conversion of a nice old town hall building, and cool furniture (in a spartan Swiss / Wallpaper magazine way).

The pool's nice.

But most of the service was a bit rubbish.

We emailed asking for a room (no answer), and had to call and they were a bit clueless.

Receptionists were nice. But breakfast staff had no idea what was going on. We'd asked for a table for four in advance but they forgot (I quote 'sorry I hadn't even thought about it'). We had to ask for butter from the breakfast buffet (and when it arrived it was unspreadable from the fridge).

We were there for 15 minutes. And didn't get a menu. Asked for one. Didn't get a menu. Asked for one and finally got one. And we wished we'd gone to the Boundary hotel for breakfast instead.

To be fair, we got this room at a good opening rate and the service might've been sorted by the time your read this. And lots of beardy poseurs (including a band) who were milling around looked happy enough.

But if I'd paid full price I'd have been fed up (especially as it's a good ten minutes from most of the good bits of East London).

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobbleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Euston Square Hotel
Euston Square Hotel
#712 of 1,077 in London
877 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#72 of 1,077 in London
1,269 reviews
Mayfair
Le Meridien Piccadilly
Le Meridien Piccadilly
#504 of 1,077 in London
2,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#380 of 1,077 in London
1,076 reviews
Soho
W London Leicester Square
W London Leicester Square
#403 of 1,077 in London
2,029 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#176 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £129 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing