We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite hotel in London”
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #181 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Booked this hotel via Hotwire.com and have returned four times since. This is a very nice hotel and would recommend it for everyone. Since I travel alone I was very pleased to find the rooms with kitchen, washer, and many nice amenities. I could accually invite friends for dinner at my room !

The fitness center was very nice. I loved the free Wifi internet - in other hotels you are charged lots of mony for this service and. Only downside was the duvet on the bed was a little to warm to my taste. But others might like it warm.

I will return to this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great feedback with us on Trip Advisor. It's superb to hear that we're your favourite hotel in London and look forward tow elcoming yu back in the near future. If you would like us to arrange a lighter duvet for your next visit, please let us know directly and we will be happy to make the arangements. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,138 - 1,144 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2010

We stayed here for a romantic weekend and were rather impressed. Staff were very welcoming and accommodating. The one bedroom flat was roomy and well-designed.
Bathroom very good even if not allowing for great privacy. L'Occitane amenities.

Breakfast messy and we didn't manage to get a table.

Staff seemed confused at times, maybe because the hotel opened recently (6 months ago apparently)

There is something missing in the hotel decor, since it feels a bit empty, having been a town hall building the corridors and stairways feel cold.

Bar was nice - and the free house cocktail very nice. We did not try the restaurant.

Overall, however, we will be coming to this hotel some time in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to share feedback with us following on from your stay with us at Town Hall. It is great to hear that you found us a great surprise and will be planning a return visit soon. Should you need any help in arranging this, pleae do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be happy to assist. I noticed that you mentioned about our breakfast service and wanted to advise you that this is actually being relocated from it's current location to a larger room from early in 2011 - hopefully therefore you will see the an enhancement to this within you rnext visit. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

Stayed her for two nights on business trip. One station away from Liverpool Station and meetings in City. A bit odd location, but ok. Just 5 min walk to tube station. Got a small appartment for the price of a small room downtown. Very nice breakfeast. I was attracted by the gym and swimming pool. Quite adequate for morning laps. Nobody using it while I was there. Absolutely good value for money. And the two guys in the bar are tremendous. Ask them for advice.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgm_oslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and have to admit that I also think the bar staff are great!! We hope to welcome you back to Town Hall soon, please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you have any queries. Mnay thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

I was very keen to stay in this hotel as I booked it through my favourite hotel website - www.tablethotels.com so I knew if would be of high quality.
From the moment we stepped into the lobby i was impressed with the restoration. We had a wonderful man at reception check us in and our room was amazing. A queen bed, a sparkling fully equipped kitchenette w/ dishwasher, a modern bathroom with an amazing shower with 2 shower heads and L'occitane bathroom products and a sitting area with TV and sound system. The only thing i could fault about the room was the WIFI. Unfortunately it only worked once in our 4 day stay but this was solved by asking for an ethernet cable (not ideal but a solution nonetheless). I personally like the area of Bethnal Green as I used to live here so it was great being a local again. It's super close to the central line tube and an easy walk/bus ride to shoreditch and brick lane.
While we had a lovely man serve us at check in, the other staff at the front desk in my opinion were a little too surly to be in service positions. They didn't go out of their way to assist in a few instances and this didn't match the positive experience I had otherwise felt.
A note for the chef of the room service menu - There is very little choice for vegetarians or people who don't eat seafood. There was only one vego choice and this was sold out.
Despite these minor notes, overall, I would highly recommend the town hall.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on trip advisor following on from your recent stay at Town Hall. It was great to hear that you liked the apartment allocated and are a fan of the local area (as am I!). I was really sorry to hear that the WiFi didn't work in your apartment and will ensure that maintenance look in to this for future guests. I have passed on your feedback about having a wider selection of vegetarian choices for the Chef In The Room service and our F&B department will be looking in to adding more options in early 2011. There have been a few new starters in front office recently and all are going through full customer service training, it is a shame that you felt some were surly and I hope that you will feel differently on a return visit to Town Hall. Should you require any assistance in making a booking, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2010

Stayed here in July 2010 for 2 nights.
Rated value as excellent as we got a good deal through National Express/Lastminute.
Very clean trendy and contemporary with the bath in the bedroom and the loo seperated by clear glass partition! Not really something I'd go for when booking a hotel room but this hotel was more than just a room it was an apartment with a fully equipped kitchen, couldnt find anything it didnt have!! We spent all day and the evening out but whenever we left or arrived the staff were helpful and friendly. Its a great looking building on the outside and the inside has been completely refurbished to what looks like a very high standard and design. On a budget? Take breakfast food items with you (we didnt realise there would be a kitchen) otherwise there is a good cheap cafe opposite or a trendier cafe around the corner in the next street (on the hotels left). Never tried the restaurant or bar sorry to say. Bethnal Green tube is the nearest. Not else much closeby but plenty of buses seemed to be around, tbh didnt explore that much. The pool looked lovely we didnt have time to use it though.
Would go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magsy-seven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to share your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. It is always great to hear positive comments such as you have shared!! We hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon! Should you require any assistance with making the booking, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

The room was fine and service friendly -- although the room is a little overpriced for the location (inconvinient) and size.

My main gripe with this hotel is that all three nights (monday - wednesday) we stayed there they had a loud party on the second floor that we could clearly hear from our room. You can barely get in the entrance with all the party goers smoking in front of the lobby doors. Then it is difficult to sleep before 12:30 because of the loud music. Our room was not even very close to the party room - so it must have affected the entire hotel.

I called the lobby and complained but the music level was not controlled. The management should decide whether they are running a hotel or a nightclub.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southpacificexp11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us following your recent stay at Town Hall. I am pleased to hear that you liked your room and found the service to be friendly. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed during your stay by Christmas parties taking place and can assure you that we most certainly do take this feedback very seriously. It is our first Christmas party season since the opening and we therefore will fully investigate this further so as to ensure all get a good night's sleep. Should you be travelling back to London in the future then please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be happy to assist. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

We recently stayed in a 2 bedroom appt in this hotel. The quality of the hotel & appts was very good, the old town hall has been beautifully & sensitively restored. I would recommend this hotel highly, with the one caveat, that the location is not a salubrious as the building.
However the tube station of Bethnal green is very close to the hotel & is on the central line just 5 stops from the city centre.
Overall, a comfortable, convenient location. The hotel has a beautiful swimming pool & a well spec'd gym.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrelandAdventuregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2010

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time out to share your feedback on Town Hall. It's superb that you found the quality of your room to be very good and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
Ace Hotel London Shoreditch
#380 of 1,075 in London
1,056 reviews
Pimlico
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
Whitechapel
Arbor City Hotel
Arbor City Hotel
#160 of 1,075 in London
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Gore – Starhotels Collezione
Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
Flemings Mayfair
#135 of 1,075 in London
1,805 reviews
Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
Courthouse Hotel Shoreditch
#156 of 1,075 in London
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: £142 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing