We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Town Hall Hotel was great in every way!"”
Review of Town Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Town Hall Hotel
Ranked #171 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Town Hall Hotel was great in every way!"”
Reviewed 12 January 2011

From the moment we were greeted as we were entering the hotel, my daughter and I knew that we were going to have a great experience at The Town Hall Hotel. Everyone was helpful and friendly from recommending places to get all the things Megan needed to equip herself to to study at Queen Mary University this semester to restaurant reservations and more. The room was very well equipped and comfortable with excellent amenities. Two small complaints about the room--the shower curtain should be on the bathroom side, not the bedroom, and no electrical outlet in the bathroom for hair appliances was inconvenient. The breakfast room was lovely and the service good, but the price seemed rather high for a simple Continental breakfast. We had dinner at Viajante--the food and service were excellent. All in all, we had a great experience there and will return when we visit our daughter in March!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2011
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following on from your recent stay at Town Hall. It is always a pleasure hearing positive comments shared on here. We look forward to welcoming you back in March and if you require any assistance with making the arrangements, please let us know directly and we will be happy to allocate you to a room with a more private bathroom. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    949
    245
    80
    32
    35
See reviews for
297
503
80
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2011

The hotel was minutes from the train station. When we arrived a nice guy by the name of Mohamed helped my husband and I. He showed us where to go and how to get there. The room itself was great. It was an apartment fully stocked with dishes, gourmet coffee, milk for tea, even washer and dryer. The decor was nicely done and the bed was very comfortable. The amenities were very nice. The gym is very modern with the latest equiptment and the pool was a nice touch. Andrea was the other guy at the reception desk. He too was very helpful. All in all the staff as a whole was friendly . The hotel itself was amazing. We will definitely go back and I highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carocola13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2011
Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to share thee positive comments on Trip Advisor. I will ensure that they are shared with all the team here (including Andrea!) and we do hope that we are able to welcome you back soon. If you require any assistance in making these arrangements then please let us knwo directly and we will be happy to assist. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2011

This is my second stay at The Town Hall Hotel and it most certainly won't be the last.
Everything about it is wonderful, from the friendly welcoming staff to the beautiful, spacious well equipped rooms. We stayed in an executive studio this time and it was fabulous. I have stayed in many hotels in London and this has to be my favourite. The bathroom had a huge tub and lovely complimentary toiletries, robes and decent sized towels. The coffee machine was super with real milk in the fridge rather than those horrible little UHT pods one usually gets.
My only gripe was that I emailed a day before to book a table at the restaurant but did not get a response and on arrival found it was fully booked. I understand that the restaurant is very popular so i suspect the chances of reserving a table a day before were slim but never-the-less a response would have been nice. Next time i shall book the restaurant well in advance.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone who wants a luxurious, friendly hotel close to the city centre. Its just a short walk from Bethnal Green underground. Car parking wasn't a problem as i found a website which advertises safe car parking spaces at peoples houses so I parked just a 2 minute walk from the hotel at less than £10 for the day! Affordable, convenient luxury - bliss!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank purple-amethyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2011
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Trip Advisor. It is superb to hear that you have stayed with us twice and enjoyed your stay both times; we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon and would be happy to assist in making the arrangements directly. I am sorry to hear that you didn't receive a response to your email about booking in Viajante and will highlight this to the Viajante team; please note that the direct email of our restaurant is via-reservations@townhallhotel.com or telephone number 020 7871 0461. Should we be able to assist in any other way, please let us know. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2011

We loved this hotel. We are lucky in that we knew the location well so knew where to go. From the moment we arrived the staff were fantastic - all of them. We've stayed in top hotels all over the world but it was a lovely break. We'd been due to fly to NY for Christmas but the snow cancelled that and it was therefore a last minute booking - my husband and I and 3 of my girls (14,16,19). It is so stylish but still retains the charm and grandeur and the apartment/hotels worked brilliantly. The only slight thing to let it down was the breakfast - the food was superb but it was help yourself, and at £20 a head too expensive to be deemed worth it. However, we understand this may be changed after Christmas so perhaps worth a try. Unfortunately the restaurant was booked/closed during our stay (which we extended it was so good) but we will definitely go back. If the cocktails were anything to go by, the food will be wonderful. Swimming pool, toiletries, and relatively close proximity to Shoreditch, Hoxton, Brick Lane, etc makes it an ideal place to explore the trendy parts of East London without being somewhere you'll be disturbed by late night noise. Fabulous and well done, and just for any sceptics - we have nothing to do with the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerensarob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 8 January 2011
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor following on from your recent stay with us. It was great to hear the positive title and comments in your review; these will all be shared with the team here. I noticed your comments also about breakfast and wanted to let you know that both breakfast has now moved to a new room and that your feedback on the offering has been highlighted to our General Manager and Food & Beverage Manager. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Town Hall soon and if you require any assistance in arranging a return visit, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Arrrived New Years Eve to the gorgeous building and received a very warm welcome. They explained about the hotel facilities and how to get to them. We wandered to our room and were blown away by the facilities and layout of the wonderful room. We had booked via Last Minute.com and paid £160 for a £300+ room. It had full kitchen, utensils, complemenary bottled water, milk, stunning coffee machine and everything we might have wanted. The bathroom was huge, totally clean and beautiful. The Bedroom was raised from the main floor, accessible by stairs. Great bed, TV and lots of storage space. An Ipod dock and alarm clock too. In the main room was a large flat screen TV, sofa, writing desk, more storage, iron, tables and various brochures filled with useful information.

We unpacked, put the champagne in the fridge and went for a swim in the hotel pool. The gym was next to the pool, totally state of the art equipment and plenty off it. The pool was lovely, if a little cold for my wifes tastes, but I am not a fan of overly warm pools, so I was happy.

Later we hit the cocktail bar and enjoyed a couple (well, 6) of great bespoke cocktails. The bar was too dark and the music too loud, but some people like that, so I would not count it as a negative. We didn't eat there, as we had plans, but the restaurant looked very smart.

We had a great nights sleep, the room was lovely and warm, but had temp controls, so we could have changed it easily enough if required. We checked out quite early due to plans, which took a second and the staff were charming through out.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Try and get a deal online, because it is new, some deals are there to be had. It was a stunning deal for the money and I would have loved to stay another night.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tolleyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Dear Guest, Just a quick line to say a big thank you for sharing your feedback with us via Trip Advisor. It was great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and all of your comments will be shared with the team at Town Hall. If we can assist you in making a repeat booking, please do not hesitate to contact us directly and we will be happy to assist. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We came for a two night stay in november 2010 during the tube strikes! We were very pleased with the room in which we stayed ( executive 1 bedroom apartment) and found the room lacked nothing! The restaurant was divine and nuno mendes(the Chef) was simply brilliant!
We can only fault two things and they are the shower curtain should be controlled in the bathroom not bedroom and that the tv in the bedroom could have been bigger (32 inches maybe)

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrwetherspoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to share feedback with us on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to read a review starting with "Simply the best..."! I have shared your feedback and suggestions with the team at Town Hall and we do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to stay with us again soon. Should you wish to request a different style of bathroom, please do let us know at the time of booking and we will be happy to assist.

Many thanks and kind regards,

Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Booked this hotel via Hotwire.com and have returned four times since. This is a very nice hotel and would recommend it for everyone. Since I travel alone I was very pleased to find the rooms with kitchen, washer, and many nice amenities. I could accually invite friends for dinner at my room !

The fitness center was very nice. I loved the free Wifi internet - in other hotels you are charged lots of mony for this service and. Only downside was the duvet on the bed was a little to warm to my taste. But others might like it warm.

I will return to this hotel again and again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196bgate, Director of Sales at Town Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2010
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your great feedback with us on Trip Advisor. It's superb to hear that we're your favourite hotel in London and look forward tow elcoming yu back in the near future. If you would like us to arrange a lighter duvet for your next visit, please let us know directly and we will be happy to make the arangements. Many thanks and kind regards, Mark Haywood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
#109 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The RE London Shoreditch
#552 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#59 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town Hall Hotel

Property: Town Hall Hotel
Address: 8 Patriot Square | Bethnal Green, London E2 9NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in London
#75 Business Hotel in London
#88 Family Hotel in London
#92 Romantic Hotel in London
#133 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Town Hall Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TOWN HALL HOTEL is a boutique, design, hotel in the heart of London's East End. Offering luxury accommodations, event space and fine dining in an iconic Edwardian building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Town Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Town Hall Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing