We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy with 23 steep winding stairs to lobby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Seraphine London Kensington Gardens
Ranked #697 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The narrow doorway should have given it away before we ever went there. A few steps to the lobby translates to 23 winding, narrow, steep stairs. In the US 1ST FLOOR means on the ground not1story inthe air. I needed very few stairs due to arthritic knees and a weak back. Schlepping a bag up 23 narrow winding steps was painful. Then our room faced a busy street with eateries on either side. London allows drinking and smoking to gather outside eateris and pubs. Thurs night was a loud nightmare til 3 a.m. Then the garbage trucks and construction noise started about 5:30 a.m. Friday repeat. The room was big enough for a double bed with a small space to walk around. We had no lights or air until we were told that we needed to put the wifi room key in a special slot. You could shower and wash your hands and pee at the same time. Almost felt like an airplane bathroom with a shower. It was neat and clean. The breakfasts were ok. The front desk was helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylH508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Seraphine London Kensington Gardens
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Yes, I'll admit your in for a shock when you first walk in. You will look for a place for your suitcases - there is none! So bring out your Tetris skills and get creative (we shoved the chair on top of the cupboard and utilised the space under the desk).
That said, the hotel is great.
All the finishings are nice, the LED lights make the bathroom quite funky.
The breakfast is yummy and gives you a range of choices in which to fuel up for the day, with a nice view of the gardens.
Right opposite Kensington park and with a bus stop outside your door it's in a great place, Kensington high street tube is down the road a little within an easy walk.
Reception staff are lovely too. If there isn't stuff in your bathroom eg shower caps etc they will get it for you.
There are plenty of plugs in the room and lots of cute London prints on the wall.
The pillows are full and comfy and the sheets are soft, it's only a double bed but if your in a relationship what's the problem?
Ultimately it is a small hotel, but I'm only a small person so after the initial shock it's comfy enough :)

Room Tip: We were in 201 which was at the back and away from the street noise.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our room was a little small, but very clean and the service was great. I wish there was a "GOOD" between "Average" and "Very Good", because this was it. To us it felt like a comfortable 3-star. Breakfast was included in our price and was a nice continental. Location was great, near High Street tube station and next to Kensington Gardens and a lot of pubs and shops. The shower in our room was strange; it was set to 38 degrees, but it felt scorching hot. We had to turn it down to the coldest to be able to take a shower. The lift (elevator) didn't work properly. I would definitely NOT recommend the hotel to people with difficulties climbing stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August / September 2012, firstly for 4 nights, then back again for 1 night before flying out of London.

Really we couldn't fault the place for the location and the money. We were happy with the size of the room, which on our first stop was a queen and single, so plenty big enough, bigger than what we needed, on the first floor.

Lifts are incredibly slow, so stairs it was, there is no elevator from the ground floor, only from the 1st, but if you have your bags, just buzz and they'll pop down to give you a hand. It's all a bit tiny and pokey, but that just adds to the historic feel of the place.

Everything was really neat and clean, servicing was great, as was breakfast each morning.

Easy check in, polite staff, never bothered by the noise of the street, in fact you could easily forget that you were practically in the heart of London as High Street gets so quiet overnight.

I loved that we were so close to Hyde Park / Kensington Palace. We requested a room overlooking the Park and it was a great view. We hired Boris Bikes and went for a ride.

It is very close proximity to both the tube and the bus. The bus is right outside your hotel and just about everything will lead you to the No. 9 bus.

Our 2nd stay, overnight, saw us in a very tiny room on the top floor. Still ultra clean and quiet, but I just suppose we had been spoilt by our first room. SLOW lift (ie 5 minutes) became a bit of a problem when you had 5 flights to go up after a long day walking!

Walk up the road to the Stick & Bowl for Chinese (yum!) but get there early if you want the Duck. Slightly rude staff, but funny too, great food and not bad prices for London.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights in June 2013. Location was great especially for sight-seeing (tour bus left in front of the hotel) and good shops near-by. Good bus connections and a short walk to Kensington High Street tube. Kensington Gardens on the opposite side of the road and good access to the park altogether.
We had a double room on the 2nd floor, room was quite small but we fit in quite smoothly with just one bag. Only minus was that there wasn't so much space on the tables to put your stuff on. Bed was comfortable, bathroom clean and roomy, housekeeping was great and staff at the reception very helpful. Cable-tv had numerous channels and wi-fi connection was good.
No mini-bar, but 24h room service (small snacks and drinks), complimentary mineral water (2bottles) was replenished every day. There was tea&coffee in the room plus cookies.
Breakfast was very nice (I didn't expect much), yoghurts, cereals, fresh fruit, toast, cheese, eggs, juice etc.
Our room was facing the courtyard, but there still was noise from the bars down the street during the night, but it didn't bother me that much. You might wanna bring earplugs if you're a light-sleeper.
A/C worked very well, the fan in the toilet was a bit noisy, but there were instructions how to use it and switch off if necessary.
We left our bag for storage for a couple hours after check-out and they had no problem with it.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrilotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Booked a double room and stayed for three nights. The room is one of the smallest I have ever seen. It's almost impossible to walk in the room. The bed is extremely uncomfortable for two people. Clean room and decent breakfast. Good location about 10 mins walk from the underground station. Many restaurants and shops next the hotel.

Room Tip: Book the biggest room they have. You will need the extra space.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jac-theworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Had to move rooms as my room was sooo small. Could not put up an ironing board. Breakfast was ok and the service was good. The double room was much bigger (had to move as the other room was unliveable). Great spot though, and a nice area. Water and provisions ok, no mini bar, internet ok. All in all not bad for the UK. Beds were a bid hard and the water pulsed hot which was annoying. Tiny TV but tiny rooms all around.

Room Tip: Go for a room with two beds.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
51 Kensington Court Limited
51 Kensington Court Limited
#739 of 1,072 in London
92 reviews
South Kensington
Kensington House Hotel
Kensington House Hotel
#520 of 1,072 in London
371 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#92 of 1,072 in London
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington High Street
Hammersmith / Fulham
Best Western Plus Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
South Kensington
Copthorne Tara Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seraphine London Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seraphine London Kensington Gardens

Address: 9 Kensington High Street | Bourne End, London W8 5NP, England (Formerly Best Western Seraphine Kensington Gardens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #697 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: £93 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seraphine London Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, intimate, chic hotel is the perfect choice for either a pleasurable few days holiday or short business trip. The Seraphine, KENSINGTON GARDENS is conveniently located near the stylish High Street Kensington shops, Holland Park, major tourist attractions, tour buses and tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Seraphine London Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing