We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“typical small rooms - good located”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seraphine London Kensington Gardens
Ranked #669 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
493 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“typical small rooms - good located”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

and renovated is this hotel 150 m from U Kensington High Street at the south west corner of Hyde Park - therefor good for a touristy trip. The rooms are tiny ! I think, you can't fall off the bed - and the bathroom is really small as well - renovated in modern style which is nice. Breakfast is o.k. the english one cost 5,99 GBP extra which is a shame. On the positive side is the free WiFi and a PC in the Lobby. Lobby, Reception, Breakfast room Bar - all in one - The personal was friendly and helpful. Alltogether to pricey for a night (135 GBP) for a single (really single !) room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    178
    91
    36
    36
See reviews for
45
187
53
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The hotel is located just across Kensington Gardens, about a 5 minute walk from Highstreet Kensington station - watch out for the entrance, its well hidden. The breakfast was simple and good. Nice restaurants are literally just next door. Also try the buffet at Wholefoods, its super delicious.

The floors, rooms and beds are tiny, even for London standards. Ask the staff for help when carrying your suitcase upstairs to the reception as the staircase is very slim.

Overall its a reasonably priced hotel in a nice area

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

With a seat secured for a BBC Prom, and with some important meetings to attend, I booked this hotel based on a number of reviews on many websites; it receives very positive reviews and in the main deserves them. The staff I encountered briefly, check –in/check-out, were courteous and friendly. The very small room on the 4th floor was impeccably clean and fresh. The air-conditioning kept the room very cool and did not appear to regulate the temperature as indicated by the digital readout on its control panel. My room overlooked the buildings at the back of the hotel, which would disappoint if one was staying for any considerable period of time, however, it was reasonable value. I would stay again, but would request a slightly larger room with a view next time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timnath, Co
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The narrow doorway should have given it away before we ever went there. A few steps to the lobby translates to 23 winding, narrow, steep stairs. In the US 1ST FLOOR means on the ground not1story inthe air. I needed very few stairs due to arthritic knees and a weak back. Schlepping a bag up 23 narrow winding steps was painful. Then our room faced a busy street with eateries on either side. London allows drinking and smoking to gather outside eateris and pubs. Thurs night was a loud nightmare til 3 a.m. Then the garbage trucks and construction noise started about 5:30 a.m. Friday repeat. The room was big enough for a double bed with a small space to walk around. We had no lights or air until we were told that we needed to put the wifi room key in a special slot. You could shower and wash your hands and pee at the same time. Almost felt like an airplane bathroom with a shower. It was neat and clean. The breakfasts were ok. The front desk was helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Yes, I'll admit your in for a shock when you first walk in. You will look for a place for your suitcases - there is none! So bring out your Tetris skills and get creative (we shoved the chair on top of the cupboard and utilised the space under the desk).
That said, the hotel is great.
All the finishings are nice, the LED lights make the bathroom quite funky.
The breakfast is yummy and gives you a range of choices in which to fuel up for the day, with a nice view of the gardens.
Right opposite Kensington park and with a bus stop outside your door it's in a great place, Kensington high street tube is down the road a little within an easy walk.
Reception staff are lovely too. If there isn't stuff in your bathroom eg shower caps etc they will get it for you.
There are plenty of plugs in the room and lots of cute London prints on the wall.
The pillows are full and comfy and the sheets are soft, it's only a double bed but if your in a relationship what's the problem?
Ultimately it is a small hotel, but I'm only a small person so after the initial shock it's comfy enough :)

Room Tip: We were in 201 which was at the back and away from the street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our room was a little small, but very clean and the service was great. I wish there was a "GOOD" between "Average" and "Very Good", because this was it. To us it felt like a comfortable 3-star. Breakfast was included in our price and was a nice continental. Location was great, near High Street tube station and next to Kensington Gardens and a lot of pubs and shops. The shower in our room was strange; it was set to 38 degrees, but it felt scorching hot. We had to turn it down to the coldest to be able to take a shower. The lift (elevator) didn't work properly. I would definitely NOT recommend the hotel to people with difficulties climbing stairs.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairne
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here in August / September 2012, firstly for 4 nights, then back again for 1 night before flying out of London.

Really we couldn't fault the place for the location and the money. We were happy with the size of the room, which on our first stop was a queen and single, so plenty big enough, bigger than what we needed, on the first floor.

Lifts are incredibly slow, so stairs it was, there is no elevator from the ground floor, only from the 1st, but if you have your bags, just buzz and they'll pop down to give you a hand. It's all a bit tiny and pokey, but that just adds to the historic feel of the place.

Everything was really neat and clean, servicing was great, as was breakfast each morning.

Easy check in, polite staff, never bothered by the noise of the street, in fact you could easily forget that you were practically in the heart of London as High Street gets so quiet overnight.

I loved that we were so close to Hyde Park / Kensington Palace. We requested a room overlooking the Park and it was a great view. We hired Boris Bikes and went for a ride.

It is very close proximity to both the tube and the bus. The bus is right outside your hotel and just about everything will lead you to the No. 9 bus.

Our 2nd stay, overnight, saw us in a very tiny room on the top floor. Still ultra clean and quiet, but I just suppose we had been spoilt by our first room. SLOW lift (ie 5 minutes) became a bit of a problem when you had 5 flights to go up after a long day walking!

Walk up the road to the Stick & Bowl for Chinese (yum!) but get there early if you want the Duck. Slightly rude staff, but funny too, great food and not bad prices for London.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
51 Kensington Court Limited
51 Kensington Court Limited
#729 of 1,068 in London
92 reviews
South Kensington
Kensington House Hotel
Kensington House Hotel
#503 of 1,068 in London
365 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#92 of 1,068 in London
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#46 of 1,068 in London
790 reviews
South Kensington
Holiday Inn London - Kensington
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#371 of 1,068 in London
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Seraphine London Kensington Gardens

Property: Seraphine London Kensington Gardens
Address: 9 Kensington High Street | Bourne End, London W8 5NP, England (Formerly Best Western Seraphine Kensington Gardens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #669 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seraphine London Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, intimate, chic hotel is the perfect choice for either a pleasurable few days holiday or short business trip. The Seraphine, KENSINGTON GARDENS is conveniently located near the stylish High Street Kensington shops, Holland Park, major tourist attractions, tour buses and tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Seraphine London Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing