We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service experienced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seraphine London Kensington Gardens
Ranked #699 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I stayed here on Wednesday December 12 for one night in a single room. The room itself was tiny and the shower was one of the worst in terms of cleanliness that I have ever seen. Housekeeping had blatantly done a quick job as the rim of the shower was caked in black and green mould. The only good thing about this room was the heated bathroom floors but even that it not clearly identifiable.

Secondly, I found the reception incredibly rude and unfriendly and to top it all off, they charged me twice for the hotel room. Although this has been refunded, it was totally avoidable.

I have never stayed in a hotel with such poor service. The only thing decent about this hotel is the location. Other than that, you would be better in a Holiday Inn. At least they can provide a decent standard of service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meganvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

218 - 224 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is not a huge hotel. It is tall and thin and squeezed in between restaurants. It is 3-4 minutes walk from Kensington High Street tube station, 10-15 minutes walk from The Royal Albert Hotel and 2 minutes from Kensington Gardens. The room itself was on the 3rd floor and to start with extremely hot. It overlooked a more opulent hotel over the road, but was not that noisy as the secondary glazing kept out the majority of the noise. There is air con, much needed if you want a cooler room without the traffic noise. The bed is only a double, but ok for a couple of nights, There was also extra cushions and plenty of pillows. 2 chairs and a stool, plus an extra bed in an alcove and a dressing table. We were impressed by the bathroom which was clean and well set out. There was a bath with a powerful, very large, centrally positioned shower head and a hand held shower if all you wanted to do was rinse the bath or wash your hair. The plug and tap were in the middle so maybe not that comfy for a luxurious, lie down bath. The mirror was heated and did not get steamed up which was a plus, however the towels were small, particularly the bath towel so if you are used to a bath sheet then you will be disappointed.
Breakfast was poor. Continental breakfast is included in the room rate and to upgrade to full English is an extra £9.99 we did not see anyone participating with this. There are all the usual bits, fruit basket, fresh fruit salad, toast, tea, coffee, chocolate, cereals, yoghurts and a choice of either apple or orange juice, There was only milk (I presume full fat, although this wasn't labelled). There was cheese (in plastic packets) and some meat. You eat in reception/lobby. It is tight for space, this morning was busy.
Would I recommend this hotel, I am not sure. There are good points and bad. The breakfast is poor and the rooms, modern, clean but abit small, however the proximity to the sights cannot be beaten.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Hi

I recently stayed at the above hotel (Saturday 30 November) and I have to say, I was not impressed! I booked a room for myself and was stuck in the smallest room I have ever been in. There was just about enough room between the bathroom door and the wall when the bathroom door was open. Not enough for me to be able to leave the bathroom door open and walk freely past it! It certainly wasn't worth the £98.10 I paid for the room. Just because the hotel was in Kensington, doesn't mean that ridiculous prices should be charged.

You can bet I will never be staying in a Best Western again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishmoon0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Great location for a trip to the Albert hall and perfect for walking through the gardens. Lots of places to eat nearby. Room was small but comfortable and quiet with all you'd expect from a best western. Breakfast fairly average.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seraphinegm, General Manager at Seraphine London Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at +44 (0) 208 6000 555.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Arun Sharma
Area General Manager
BEST WESTERN Seraphine Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank pollyccNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We stayed here for four nights and first up I have to say the location couldn't have been more convenient, the bit of breakfast each morning was quite nice, the place was clean and we had no issues with noise. That being said, there were three massive down sides to the place. First, if you have a large load of luggage as we did, the 20 or so stairs that went up a very narrow staircase were nearly impossible to manage and trying to turn the narrow hallway corners with a wheeled suitcase became a feat of logic and determination. Second, the staff seemed mildly disinterested in life in general and certainly to us as customers. Third, and most significantly the room was so shockingly small that there was literally no more than a foot on all three exposed sides of the bed to walk around. Had there been room under the bed to slide our luggage or a storage place where the luggage could have been kept it would have been better but as it was, one of us would have to climb on the bed to allow the other to pass by or to move around one of the suitcases that had no place to put them other than right in the center of the limited floor space. I read reviews on Trip Advisor to expect small rooms but no one mentioned small as to the point of absurd. One afternoon we had an especially large lunch and couldn't help but wonder if returning to our hotel room we would no longer be able to squeeze into it. All we could do was laugh at the situation...along with noting that we wouldn't be staying there again at any time in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Hotel with great location on Kensington High Street, tube station is 2 minutes walk from a hotel. My stay was reasonably priced, staff was very friendly and hepfull, the breakfast was good. Yes, the room was little but nice, fresh and clean. Exactly what I need. Will stay again for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e-Tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seraphinegm, Manager at Seraphine London Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are pleased that you have enjoyed staying with us and we are looking forward to serve you again in future.

Thank you.
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Montana Hotel
Montana Hotel
#441 of 1,077 in London
817 reviews
Hammersmith / Fulham
Best Western Plus Seraphine Hammersmith Hotel
South Kensington
Kensington House Hotel
Kensington House Hotel
#531 of 1,077 in London
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#91 of 1,077 in London
3,401 reviews
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#636 of 1,077 in London
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seraphine London Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seraphine London Kensington Gardens

Address: 9 Kensington High Street | Bourne End, London W8 5NP, England (Formerly Best Western Seraphine Kensington Gardens Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #699 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: £82 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Seraphine London Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern, intimate, chic hotel is the perfect choice for either a pleasurable few days holiday or short business trip. The Seraphine, KENSINGTON GARDENS is conveniently located near the stylish High Street Kensington shops, Holland Park, major tourist attractions, tour buses and tube station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Seraphine London Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing