We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Take Your Chance if You Dare” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Marquis Cornwallis

The Marquis Cornwallis
Ranked #4,877 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$11 - US$20
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighbourhood: Bloomsbury
Description: Surrounded by lush, garden squares, The Marquis Cornwallis in Bloomsbury, London offers hearty British cuisine from a diverse and locally-sourced menu. The bar showcases 5 traditional cask ales as well as a global selection of craft beers. Enjoy a traditional Sunday roast dinner in the regal dining room, littered with quirky artwork and a feature fireplace.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Take Your Chance if You Dare”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Was recommended this pub for a good meal by the hotel. Very bad decision on our part. We had a few pints when we first sat down to see if the food coming out looked good. It did. And that's where it ends. We went ahead and opted for their only steak on the menu, the rib eye. To say the meat was inedible would be an understatement. It was nothing but 8oz of gristle and fat and cold to boot. Couldn't even get one bite out of the meal. And of course there was no rectification.

Maybe it was an off afternoon. But not making it right gets them the lowest grade possible. Just be forewarned. Stay away from the steak. Or better yet....just stay away.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    153
    62
    28
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Lively but prompt service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Bank Holiday Saturday, glorious weather outside, seven in the evening. We arrived for early supper, just prior to a hen + stag party arrived! Downstairs was pretty much occupied, so our party of three went upstairs. The bar upstairs was a bit understaffed but once we had given our order it was not too long before the meals arrived. One burger, one fishcakes and a chicken + ham hock pie. All very acceptable portion sizes, all hot, all tasty, so clean plates all round. And the price was very reasonable. We did not have time to stay for desserts or coffee, as we all had trains to catch. The barman was also the waiter, delivering the meals and clearing away. He was charming and patient, considering the number of customers he had to deal with. I would go again, even though in the area there is a lot of choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Post matinee theatre meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Good service and good food. Very reasonably priced for central London. Coffee was a disappointment, Illy which is good, but the same tiny cup for Latte and Cappuccino as for a regular one. Ours had no milk first time round because 'The machine had run out' a disappointing end to an otherwise good meal.

Helpful?
Thank Howard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NB, Canada
Level Contributor
224 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Busy pub, reasonable food, affordable prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Not the place if you want a quiet chat as it fills up with the noisy after work crowd, dozens of whom also stand outside drinking on the sidewalk. Difficult to find a table, and the upstairs was closed the night we went. Service is good once you realize that food and drinks are to be ordered at the bar. We saw several people sitting for ages looking perplexed while staff just walked past them. We had to explain the system to a few people. I had a decent burger and my partner had fish and chips. Good, not great--maybe on a quieter night I'd have enjoyed it more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dalry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
124 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Don't expect a desert after 21:30”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Four of us had an average meal then went to order our desert, to be told the kitchen was shut at 21:30 on a Sunday and they had been far too busy to of come and told us this

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank paulpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Marquis Cornwallis also viewed

 

Been to The Marquis Cornwallis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing