We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing - perfect relaxing getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #328 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing - perfect relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My partner and I stayed here on Friday night for just one night but came away feeling like we'd been on a holiday.

Everything from the beginning was so perfectly organised. We arrived at 1pm (check in is at 2pm) but through the very friendly and professional lady at reception, were able to check in early and were also given an upgrade which was great.

The rooms were massive for the price paid and well worth it for a London spa/hotel. I won't describe the layout and hotel but my own experience. Before booking this hotel I had read through pages and pages of the reviews on TripAdviser and decided to book the hotel for a special night away. I was not disappointed. Nothing was too much trouble here.

When we got there we realised we'd forgoten to buy a few bits so a free car was arranged to take us the 2 min journey to Clapmham Junction. The driver was very helpful in letting us know where we could buy the items we needed. The pickup at the end of our trip was arranged quickly and easily with no fuss.

We booked a couples spa package when we got there and luckily were able to find a slot on the same day. The massages were amazing, the girls seemed to know what they were doing and were very respectful and professional.

We left the spa feeling so relaxed and not worrying about belongings, keeping to strict times etc. We booked a table at the inhouse restaurant in the evening. Hotel guests receive 50% off their meal (although check which sections of the menu this applies to). The food was amazing - so nicely flavoured and presented and overlooking the Thames while we ate was perfect. We ordered some cocktails as well which were well made I was pleased to find. We also met the owner Iqbal who was lovely and took the time to speak to us and make us feel welcome. This to me is the extra touch that is not received at many other top hotel chains.

Our sleep was very comfortable although we struggled a bit to control the temperature of the room during night, alternating between hot and cold!

I'd like to address the main criticism of the location - I have seen many negative reviews based on the location of the hotel. This slightly confuses me - if you've done your homework before hand and know where the hotel is, if the hotel's website clearly states where the hotel is, if you then book the hotel understanding its location, WHY would you complain about the location after visiting it!!!!!!?????? For my boyfriend and I, we thought it was more important to stay in the hotel, take advantage of the room and spa and enjoy the time we had there.

I can't include all details on here and have probably missed out a few bits, so if you have any specific questions, please contact me.

Thanks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Thames view - well worth it but costs more. Also, book spa treatments before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcp001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,143
    469
    234
    85
    60
See reviews for
168
1,034
113
346
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Of The Channel
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Stayed here as a change to the Hotel Verta which is also located near the Heliport. The room rate of £109 is extremely good for a London hotel. There were no rooms available on arrival so I was upgraded to a one bed apartment. Huge space with all you would expect from an apartment, but none of the trimmings of a 5 star hotel. No information pack in the room on where the restaurant was, were the spa was, how to get on the internet etc for example. The apartment was also a little on the shabby side, definately not 'plush'. The apartments are located in amongst the residential apartments, so it doesn't feel that you're staying in a hotel - I'm happy with that, but others may not be. It does have great views across London. I'd probably give it another go, but I didn't feel it was as good as the Hotel Verta which was quoting £125 for a room on the same night including 2 drinks at the bar.

Room Tip: Go for a river view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chopperboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafayel, General Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Guest

We thank you for choosing Hotel Rafayel and for your comments in this forum regarding your recent stay with us. Guests’ feedback is always very important to us as this helps us to constantly improve our facilities and services. At Hotel Rafayel customer is king.

95% of the guests who are upgraded to our apartments are very happy due to the space and the additional facilities they offer such as the dining/sitting areas and kitchenettes. We are sorry that you were not impressed with the one you stayed in. Most of the 750 Sq. Ft. apartments offer panoramic views of the river Thames and the city, have the same facilities as in the hotel rooms and the privileges and discounts, with Room Service and direct phone connections with the Reception. We are an eco friendly hotel and minimise the use of paper. However, since reading your review, we have decided to compromise and place a complete pack of information in the apartments. This information is available on TV in the hotel bedrooms and is displayed at the Front Desk. We are pleased to note that overall, you enjoyed your stay.

We thank you once again for your comments, and apologise for any inconvenience caused in the hope that you will continue your patronage of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa.

Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I booked this hotel for an anniversary. Make sure you tell them if it's a special occasion and they will leave a card and chocolates in your room which is a lovely touch - at additional cost you can have wine or champagne waiting for you. We were also upgraded so had a riverside room with views of the river and helipad which was exciting. The bathroom is amazing, it's huge! There is a massive rain shower and a nice soft lighthing option which you can use when you are half asleep in the night and it won't wake you up.

The bed was really comfortable and we liked the environmental touches all around the room. We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night - we were picked up from Clapham Junction and taken back there at the end of our stay for free...which is such a nice addition to the hotel's services. All the staff are polite and efficient. We requested an iron was brought to our room before we went out for the evening, and although it wasn't brought that quickly... if you asked for something it was provided and we weren't in a rush anyway.

There is a nicely stocked mini bar which isn't that expensive as mini bars go. The tea and coffee is complimentary and they replenish that with ample amounts each day if it is used. The hotel is kept nice and clean and the decor is quirky but classy.

The restaurant is very nice - it is quite pricey but I think that is to be expected. The only thing I would suggest is that you check if the entire menu is 50% for people in the hotel. It is widely advertised that eating in the restaurant is 50% discount for people staying, but when we came to pay for dinner one night we found that the "set menu" was not included in this. Not a massive issue as the food was lovely, but just be aware of that.

The cocktails were really good! £10 a pop but there is a massive choice and you can sit along the bar looking accross the river and the atmosphere there is nice.

I would definitely reccommend this hotel. It's excellent value for money if you book direct with the hotel and you have Clapham a 15 minute walk away for night life if you fancy it.

Room Tip: Always ask for an upgrade when you get there as they will do it if they have a spare room. Make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I went to this hotel with friends for a day in the spa and afternoon tea with champagne! We had a great time- the treatments were excellent; I had a hot stone massage and facial. The spa area was lovely but the changing rooms were a little small. Afterwards we enjoyed our afternoon tea, whilst looking at the most perfect view. The service was excellent! It was a fabulous day, and one to be repeated soon.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmachad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Rafayel for valentines day February the 14th and i must say the overall experience was amazing.The only thing i think could be improved would be in the service area I feel the staff could be a bit more hands on in explaining everything that is on offer.The Valentines package was well thought out an well put together. Upon arrival we entered the reception area to check in and it was full with great mood lighting, roses and valentines decoration. The package detailed that the room would be decorated with roses. Having other hotel's offer this service i was expecting a few petals on the bed. When entering the room i was surprised, the staff had obviously gone to great efforts to make the feel of the room romantic. The 'Banyan on the Thames' restaurant has to be the best hotel restaurant i have ever been to, the menu was diverse and the food actually was great, to the standard of many high quality restaurants. The breakfast was also great, a lot more than i expected. The spa had to be the highlight for me and the massages where of a world class quality; Not only did it have me feeling relaxed but I also I also went home relieved of all my knots. Overall the look, feel and facilities of the Rafayel is superb, My new quick London getaway residence.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

For a 5 star rating I would have expected just a little bit more.This hotel promises much being on the river front and the views were great, and being able to sit in bed and watch the lights come on across the river was nice and watch the copter come in and take off again was novel. It is located in a place convenient for pre booked taxi rides to town and restaurants, but you wouldnt want to walk to anywhere too late at night. The Room was comfortable..and yes the shower is nice , but carpets were stained and the bathroom had a strong musky odour (which dissapeared with several minutes of the shower running). There was a constant drone /noise of ? (possibly music/tv) through the evening which may have been from a bar downstairs and an occasional slam of a door. A strange noise could be heard through the night, presumably from cooling pipes..? The parking arrangement wasnt clear when we arrived but a valet moved it to the downstairs garage and when we left it was a bit of a squeeze to get out (but do-able). I didnt eat here, but its the sort of place I may try again if I needed a break & found a good discount, on the basis that I was prepared for a non 5 star experience. It's a little disjointed and there are other hotels in London that may be better value and atmosphere. There were 2 complimentary mini cakes on arrival but no extras in the bathroom to make it feel like a pamper. It should be noted that most London hotels are noisy places, just due to the fact that they are busy and in locations where bars and clubs etc are to be expected. Perhaps we needed to stay longer than a night.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCVFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafayel, General Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and the positive comments about the hotel. AS mentioned in our responses earlier , we always consider the feedback from our customers as a vital part of our business, and its these kind of reviews which enable us to give our side of the story as well.
We have always been vociferous on our website, social networking sites and our blog – on where Rafayel is located. So when our guests come to Rafayel, they make an informed decision and therefore are able to take full advantage of our prices for 5-star facilities. Our location is unique providing amazing views of the sun set even during the winter and long periods of sun set during the summer.
We are at Battersea and this is clearly stated in all our websites and though we are on the south of the river, we are close to Chelsea and within 15-20 minutes walking distance to Kings Road. We have a fleet of brand new eco friendly cars providing a service to the closest underground and over ground stations and operate for a good part of the day. We have been complimented for this service in over 100 reviews. One of our clients, a barrister from Cheshire complimented us today. He had a meeting at 1.15PM at the Bank and took the shuttle at 12.29 from the hotel to Clapham Common and was on time for his meeting. Tubes from Clapham Common take you to Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square within 20 - 25 minutes.
We use the renowned Neom products in our rooms and were surprised to read about the odour in your bathroom. We are a very eco friendly hotel and we decided as a principle, not to use small plastic bottles in the bathrooms thus saving 400 to 500 bottles going to waste. We have permanent members of staff who goes around cleaning the carpets daily. We are careful of maintaining them to a high standard and look at it closely several times a day. We are sorry if we have overlooked a stain in the room you occupied. All our corridors are 2 metres wide, unlike in many other hotels and are fitted with Cloud9 carpets. Our Thames rooms are over 320 Square foot in size with huge bathrooms that is so rare in London, with Hypnos beds, total Wi-Fi connectivity at 10 MB, state of art lighting and with the most comfortable pillows and Egyptian 400 count linen. The Thames Rooms are also fitted with the state of the art Jet Lag recovery system.
Your comment about the humming sound may have been from the bar downstairs. We apologise if it caused you any disturbance as we do try to keep the volume low as much as possible.
With regard to the car parking it is valet parking and we have a secured car park in the basement of the hotel. Once again it must be highlighted that we charge only 15 pounds for 24 hours which amounts to less than 65 pence per hour. The courtyard area may have been busy in the morning due to the many checkouts from the hotel.
We are and have been elected as a trendy hotel. We are sorry if our reception areas were not to your liking, but we have been given the Travellers’ Choice and Trendiest Hotel Awards by Trip Advisor.
We believe in high quality, rewarding service and exceeding customer expectations, and we always do and will try our best to maintain and even better our standards of the product and services in the future.
We thank you once again for your review.
Best Regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is great, free wifi , amenities, brand new rooms but if you don't have a rental car or planning to get taxi everywhere this hotel is not really close to the subway.
The hotel does offer free service to drop you off at the closest subway every 30 minutes so if you are staying long time in London as a tourist it should be fine but if is for a short time and you will waste some time to go from the hotel to the subway with their driver.
Overall a great hotel just wish the hotel was a little closer to the subway other than that it's great and the staff is very friendly.

Also they have upgraded us on the 2nd night! So nice!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanaU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#428 of 1,069 in London
9,369 reviews
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#153 of 1,069 in London
2,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#336 of 1,069 in London
4,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Property: Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#234 Luxury Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing