We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting hotel but not the best location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #348 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Hotel Rafayel is a modern hotel on the Thames. It is moderately priced in comparison to other nice hotels in London. I imagine this pricing reflects the hotel's location. It is on the Thames, however, it is not close to the tube or overground line. The hotel tries to compensate for this by offering a shuttle service to the under ground or overground lines but it was not clear how to use this service and to whom and when it was available. The other shortcoming of this location is that there is a dearth of good places to eat breakfast in the Battersea area. The hotel room we had was roomy, had a big state-of-the-art TV, and an amazing shower, with all kinds of jets. The bathroom, however, lacked good lighting. Other shortcomings we noticed were that the carpet had stains and there was a strong chemical odor in the lobby in the morning. We thought this may be coming from the salon?

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caltocantraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2012

Thank you for your kind review.

As far as the location concern, our location is very well marked on our website and all other social networking sites.

We are located at Battersea and this is clearly stated. The nearest over ground station Clapham Junction is only 10-15 minutes walking distance or you are able to use a public transport (bus 170) that will pick you from outside of the Hotel and take you to the Clapham station or if traveling the opposite direction to Victoria station.
Also as you have mentioned we do provide complimentary shuttle service providing a service to the closest underground (Clapham Common) and over ground (Clapham Junction) stations, our reception staff is trained to explain how to use the shuttle to all of our customers at the point of check-in, however if the explanation is not provided we have notes all around reception counter explaining this.

The reviews in regards to our location is the only thing that we receive unnecessary for, as when booking a hotel customers make informed decision to stay at Battersea.

In regards to the carpet condition, we do have light grey carpets and in order to maintain it and remove stains like wine and other heavy stains we are forced to use chemicals that can cause odors, we do apologize if this has caused any inconvenience and hope that you will visit Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa soon again.

Kind Regards,
Sintija Goba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,092)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,460 - 1,466 of 2,092 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

we had an amazing stay at this hotel. Absolutely perfect hospitality........................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank akaiitk1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed. A relaxing Time With Superb views over The Thames . Excellent Dinner an Breakfast! Lovely Service and Beautifull Spa and Japanese roof Garden Thanku

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miamiamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

The decor of this hotel can't be faulted. The room we stayed in was beautiful with a nice view, My husband and I stayed for 1 night on boxing day. My husband left his very expensive watch (a Christmas present from me) in the safe overnight, but forgot it on the bedside table the morning that we checked out. We got to our car which was parked less than 5 minutes away before my husband realised. We went straight back in to the hotel and explained to reception that my husband had left his watch in the room. They allowed us to go back to the room and check but the watch was gone. My husband complained to the manager who said that housekeeping had gone into our room after we left. He assured us the the cleaners would have handed the watch in. He said he would check lost property, and with the cleaners and phone us within the hour. We didn't here anything so the next morning my husband phoned the hotel to enquire about it. He was told that no watch had been found and that he must have dropped it outside! I wrote several letters of complaint but as yet have not received a reply. Absolutely disgusted by the way we were treated, and that our stay in the hotel cost us £700 (price of hotel + cost of watch) never again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Holidaybabex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Holidaybabex
Having written to you directly through the Tripadvisor system requesting further details (your real name, address etc) so that I can investigate further, and not having had a response I feel I must now place a response online as this is such a serious accusation. As advised, we have nothing on file and no letter regarding such an incident which you say took place six months ago. I do not understand why you have waited so long to post an anonymous report. If it were my watch, I would have not left the hotel until the police had been advised (if only for insurance purposes) and the staff concerned searched. However, we have had no similar incidents before or since and we trust our staff completely. Our management systems can also tell us who enters a room at any time. Our staff are constantly handing in watches, rings, i-pads, wallets etc and it is often us who have to contact the customer to let them know. We cannot afford to employ untrustworthy people and the record proves that we don't.
I also cannot understand why one would go to the trouble of putting a watch in the safe overnight only to take it out and put it on the bedside table, not the desk even, when leaving. It does not make sense. Also, you returned so quickly to the room that the cleaners would have still been cleaning it, if indeed they had started that quickly.
I am very sorry for your loss but I think that is what it is, a loss. I do not think it is fair for you to try and dissuade people from staying with us on the basis of one isolated and disputed incident six months ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stay in London, countless times throughout the year and chose the Rafayel for the Jubilee Weekend celebrations. I was extremely impressed by the hotel, it's staff and location.

We thoroughly enjoyed the Pageant Celebration at the hotel. The atmosphere and ambience were first class, the staff could not have been more helpful and the food was incredible. Afternoon tea followed the celebrations and was superb (try the incredible lemon tarts!). The hotel made a special day so very memorable with the attention to detail.

We ate in the restaurant twice and I was incredibly impressed by the fantastic menu choice and delicious food. There is a great atmosphere and possibly the friendliest staff in London!

The views from the hotel are incredible and the hotel itself is excellent. The rooms are incredibly spacious and well designed. We loved the location and transport links were excellent and it was very easy and quick to get to the attractions.

We will definitely stay at the Rafayel again - fabulous! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HBean123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I booked this room over 6 months in advance, and specifically requested a river view. We arrived late in the afternoon to find we had been given a room on the ground floor. Thw indows faced the approach to reception so we had a perfect view of each car arriving at the restaurant . Consequently we had to close the curtains to have some privacy.
The room was clean and the bed fairly comfortable, but it was nothing special. A lot of little niggles once in the room. The bathroom was badly thought out. Rather than having two sinks, a shelf to put your own toiletries in the shower would have been helpful. The toiletries provided were in nailed down containers (I fail to understand why, they were not good quality)The bath surround was very wide, and there were no steps up to it, so you have to be pretty fit to use it.
We ordered room service, after about 6 attempts; we rang the room service number over a period of about 20 minutes. Eventually we asked reception to put us through. The £3.50 'delivery charge' for room service seemed particularly petty. If I am paying £350 for a room, then such a charge is insulting.
We did ask at reception why we were not given a river view room and were given a string of excuses along the lines of 'your booking was provisional' and the receptionist I had spoken to regarding the importance of a river view had conveniently left the hotel....
The hotel is in a fairly salubrious area , right next door to
London Heliport, and a long way from any of London's theatres, museums or sights. I live and work in London and have booked many hotels for myself, and business clients; in my experience, you can find much better hotels for a lot less money in central London. The hotel at County hall, for example is half the price with a lovely view of the river and the Houses of Parliament. And the West End is within walking distance. At the Rafayel, you either have to pay £15 or so for a taxi or get a bus to Victoria which is full of beggars and homeless people. Save yourself the hassle, stay in town. Will not not be recommending to friends or business contacts.

Room Tip: If you stay here, insist on a river view, otherwise you over look an industrial estate and warehouse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EmmaHegarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Manager at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Ms Hegarty
Thank you for taking the time to write on Tripadvisor. We take all reports seriously and act upon them where necessary and I am sorry that you had cause to complain. However some of your comments are a little unfair and some seem to be a perception of the area and a recommendation for another hotel, rather than relating to your own experiences.
As someone who lives and works in London you must have known when you booked a hotel in Batteresea (on the day of the Jubilee River Thames Pageant and Battersea Park Party) that it was not going to be as convenient as other for a lot of the theatres in the West End especially with all the bridges being closed that day. Having said that, we often drop people (free shuttle) at Clapham Junction which is one stop from Victoria or at Clapham North which is 7 stops from Leicester Square on the Northern Line. People like the fact that they can park at our hotel for £15 and not incur the Congestion Charge.
The 170 bus goes directly to Victoria and I must say I use this service myself regularly and have not seen even one beggar or (obviously) homeless person let alone a bus full. This is actually a much bigger problem around the Marble Arch/Park Lane/theatreland areas.
As far as the room rate is concerned we feel we need to explain that the £350 price you mention was inclusive of the room service consisting of Beef Burger, Chicken Burger and Cheese Platter as well as Apple Tart for your dessert which you have confirmed you enjoyed thoroughly. £3.50 delivery charge is a standard across the industry with some of the most luxurious London hotels charging up to £5.00.
Provisional booking request for upgrade to full river view apartment could not be accommodated hence you had to stay in the room you have originally reserved which is over 450 square feet Nile Suite with Super King Size Bed walk in shower and Jacuzzi bath. The room features include free internet accessible via WIFI or smart TV in fact there are three TVs in the Nile Suite, there is a media hub and the price you have paid on let us say one of the busiest nights in London included free access to our leisure facilities SPA and GYM as well as 50% discount on all Therapies and fine dining at Banyan on the Thames restaurant.
All rooms and SPA features NEOM Luxury Organics products which are some of the most luxurious products in the beauty industry with accolades from Health and Fitness magazine, Marie Claire and Natural Health. We have spoken many times about our approach to saving the environment and why we provide 300 ml bottles fitted in stylish brackets as oppose to single use toiletries which are also available upon request and would not like to repeat ourselves here.
The “nothing special bed” you have slept on has actually A Royal Warrant from Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II provides Hypnos with a ‘mark’ of excellence and reinforces Hypnos’s reputation for the very best of British quality. Hypnos bed are individually made to measure, made to order and made by hand.
We also have spoken about our location on this forum as well as in national and international press and guests do make a conscious decision to stay in Battersea. We are in London Zone 2 with some of the best transport links to busy central London and our post code is SW11 3RF which is easily available on Google maps if one in doubt of where we are.
Hotel Manager was at reception to meet you and upon your expression of dissatisfaction have offered you complimentary breakfast in order to lift your mood up as well as have taken off a small percentage of your room rate which Hotel Rafayel is proudly offering to guests who make reservation directly through hotel website or aver the telephone.
We are very sorry to hear your dissatisfaction and are unable to see the reason behind your travellers tip as it would be impossible to “over look an industrial estate and warehouse” from the Nile Suite you have stayed at. We are unsure of your intentions with this review and hopefully people will make their own decisions on that and give Rafayel the chance show what we offer.

With kind regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I emailed the hotel many times and got an instant response about my queries.
We arranged to be picked up from clapham common and the driver was on time and very polite, the check in was great and the rooms were masvive , very stylish and trendy .
we got 50% off food in the banyon and the 3 course was fantastic all for £50.
All the staff we great with our son Jake and we will be returning .
only downside is the location but with the bus stop outside and the car service from the hotel this is not really a problem.
great 5* hotel in every way.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waggy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
Pestana Chelsea Bridge
#205 of 1,081 in London
2,507 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#244 Luxury Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £104 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing