We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am impressed and highly recommend hotel Rafael .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #320 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

I and my family (8 people) have niw stayed at this hotel for number of times now. The experience has always been very touching and close to heart. I don't know where to start from:
The panaromic view is just breath taking. Kids love this place and the rooms are so spacious , toilets are clean , service is awesome . Feels like home to me.

The shuttle service from station and back is just an awesome help. I mean which hotel in London does it. Very impressed and touched.

Good food and service is a bonus . The chef is so interested in knowing how we like our dishes and makes them just perfect. Love the food at their restaurant ' banyan on thames'

I have to mention this : it was my neice' s birthday ( she was with us during our stay this summer). One of the staff literally helped us decorate the service apartment ( with ribbons and balloons) , helped us clean the space, put new bed sheets and just arranged the whole space like how a family member would do. Trust me I did not ask for it. She just offered. I don't know a single place on London who does that ( trust me we do travel to london every month ). We have a property in London but we still find this place moe like home and hence end ip staying here every time.

Staff is just so polite and helpful. Love this place to bits. I don't agree with any negative statements by anyone. I go by my experience and would always recommend this place .

Thumbs up and ten on ten!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aditi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,044)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 2,044 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2012

My husband and I were given last minute tickets to the Olympics so decided to make a short break of it and book a hotel the night before. This meant we only booked 3 hrs before arrival so we were a little worried.
We decided to splash out slightly and paid £129 and booked the slightly larger room ( sorry can't remember the name! ) it was the second rate up but was largely discounted. Infact it was much much cheaper on their website than it was on any of the other cheap hotel sites!
On arrival we found we d been upgraded again to a full river view room and by full they meant full!! A complete wall of windows! We thanked them and told them we were very pleased as it was also our wedding anniversary , at this news they pointed out that if they d have known they would have upgraded us further but couldn't now as they d just assigned it to another couple! We didn't care, the room was stunning, spacious , romantic and laying on the bed you had a full view of the river! As we d arrived so late we decided to chance the restaurant attached to the hotel!
Glad we did!! Lovely food , good service 50% discount on food as we were hotel guests, great cocktails.... Very late night and sadly a very early morning !! A little pricey but well worth the visit!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KV76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We have recently enjoyed a fantastic two night stay at the Rafayel on the Left Bank Hotel. We had decided to visit London during the Olympic games and in addition to the success of team GB we couldn't have wished to have stayed in a more lovely hotel.
This is definitely a 5* hotel and excitingly has so much more potential as it is still in its infancy as a business.
You will be blown away by a number of factors:

• Location - the hotel is located in Battersea on the Thames. Although this is a little out of the centre of London, once you see the beautiful views you will forget all about that. The hotel and the restaurant look out onto the River Thames, is next to the 'helipad' and opposite Chelsea Harbour. The views are beautiful and an experience not to be missed. As previously mentioned the hotel is not in central London and therefore the nearest tube station is Clapham Common, however the hotel have an excellent 'shuttle service' which you can book, free of charge, which will drop you off at the tube and pick you up later, therefore the fact that you are not central becomes irrelevant. You can also get Bus 170 which goes from Victoria Station and drops you directly outside the hotel.

• Food - before you even consider what you are going to eat you are mesmerised by the view, then you can look at the menu which has so much choice and variety to cater for all needs. The food is fresh and so tasty. We had breakfast on all the mornings we were there and at £15 p/p it is definitely worth what you pay. There is a wide selection of cooked foods (including sausages, bacon, eggs (anyway you like them done), mushrooms, hash browns etc etc.), cereals, pastries, fruit and fresh juice. The staff in the restaurant are quick to cater to your needs and ensure that you have everything that you want/need.

• Staff - this is simple; the staff care and the staff believe in the whole ethos of what this hotel is trying to do for its guests. They are helpful, friendly and very efficient. You are never left waiting for anything.

• The Spa & Gym - this is free to use for all guests staying at the hotel. Located on the 3rd floor you have access to a sauna, steam room, jacuzzi and resistance pool, plus of course the gym with top of the range equipment. You are provided with robes, slippers and towels every time you visit. Further to that all guests of the hotel can enjoy 50% of all treatments. This is a great way to either start or end your day!

• Bedrooms - the rooms are very spacious, with tall windows which fills the room with lots of natural light. You have luxury in your room with facilities for tea & coffee, a minibar, a desk and a television that allows you to control your room I.e. adjust lights and air conditioning from the comfort of your bed. The bathrooms are big enough to be bedrooms themselves - you have a fantastic shower with jet sprays, robes, towels and plenty of room if two people are trying to get ready at the same time!

• The design - this is a very modern hotel and usually a modern feel lacks personality. However, this hotel fantastically combined both of these elements to give the hotel plenty of personality yet embracing the future. This is a very Eco-friendly hotel and this is part of the ethos that all guests and staff appear to buy into very well.

• The owner - the hotel is owned by Iqbal Latif. We enjoyed the pleasure of his company several times during our stay and he is a very friendly gentleman who takes a great deal of care in ensuring his guests are happy and that his hotel is running smoothly. This level of visibility from the owner shows the value that the hotel places on looking after their guests. Further to that he is a very interesting man and a professor of economics at the London School of Economics (LSE), so you can therefore engage in intellectual conversations and discussions with him over a drink in the bar.

Overall this was an incredibly pleasant stay and next time we are in London there is no doubts as to where we will stay. This is an amazing hotel and an exciting experience for anyone wanting to enjoy a luxury hotel in a stunning location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannybull93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We did a last minute booking. Arrived at the hotel to a very cold and bossy receptionist who was very demanding.
The room was ok however not entirely cleaned and had marked carpet and stained sheets.
The breakfast was great and the staff in the restaurant were lovely and accomadating. I think they need to review there star rating!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 595Buster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Stayed there during the Olympics, booked far in advance in order to get a river view room. When we arrived "the river side room" had a view over the parking lot.
- Breakfast was poor
- Slow service and too much of I could not bother less attitude from the staff members
- Rooms are too dark, impossible to apply make up in the light offered in the bathroom
- Jacuzzi in the room did not work
- Restaurant with bad and poor service

Do not recommend, will not return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Barbarpappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Director at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of 4th August 2012, 2 weeks after your stay with us.

It wouldn’t be too remiss to mention that of the 600 reviews on Hotel Rafayel, nearly 85% have rated us “excellent” or “very good.” So the vague comments in your post are distinctly at odds with what most have to say about the hotel.

While we appreciate compliments and criticism alike, our policy dictates that we apologise for any mistakes we make and take corrective action when wrong, or rectify misleading or inadvertent remarks made by our customers that would negatively affect our business.

About your room, kindly note that any room not overlooking the river (with a full or partial view) is described as one having an “urban view.” Having said that, what some of our rooms lack in terms of river views is more than made up by their space, décor and extra touches, and of course the unmatched prices our guests pay with no service charge. We hope you can appreciate the fact that no hotel room in London offers so much space and size to its guests. As far as your stay in Rafayel is concerned, maybe a misunderstanding could have caused the confusion but rest assured we are very specific in our rooms’ description.

We are sorry you found the lighting dim, but most of our guests appreciate the fact that the rooms are fully equipped with state-of-the-art LED lighting technology provided by Philips Global Corp. Given that we are an eco-friendly boutique hotel, it is difficult to compromise on our principles to appeal to everyone’s tastes but today’s modern world fortunately understands the value of saving energy and reducing our carbon footprint.

Our log book registers no complaint on any Jacuzzi breakdowns. Our quality control checklist indicates that all bathroom fittings have been in perfect working order. It has happened in the past that some of our guests found it difficult to work the controls of the Jacuzzi and assume you experienced the same. Had you called Reception, our staff would have been more than happy to assist you.

Our restaurant, Banyan on the Thames, has earned much praise for its eclectic cuisine and our staff’s courteous hospitality. In the absence of any real incident cited by you on the poor service you highlight we regret that we cannot follow through our investigation or find out the source of your complaints.

On a final note, we see (like other guest readers on this forum would have seen) that you posted a glowing review on our neighbouring competitor on the same day while simultaneously writing scathing remarks on Hotel Rafayel based on unclear unsubstantiated complaints. With all due respect, we find this to be incredibly poor in taste and deem it as an attempt to promote another business, a group we greatly admire and respect, by besmirching our reputation.

We hope you appreciate that we are a fledgling company trying our best to meet the demands of both entrepreneur and consumer in these difficult economic times. Every review is valuable to us and every guest is our friend. For us it is of utmost importance that customer satisfaction is guaranteed, and this is reflected in the kind of ratings and accolades we have earned.

We thank you once again.

Kind regards,

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I am a Designer from Ireland and I work in London on business from time to time. I fortunatley found this fantastic hotel on my first stay which was for a long period. What a wonderful experience. I am so impressed by this amazing hotel, I have returned three times and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in London. The rooms are spacious and beautifully designed, equipped with everything you need and more. The bathrooms are so luxurious, with the best showers ever! You will find a touch of class everywhere you go in this hotel. The staff are so friendly and proffesional and couldn't do enough to make your stay perfect. The food is so scrumptious, I opt to eat in a lot. The menu is full of exciting dishes that are beautifully cooked and presented and as for breakfast it is so delicious... The hotel transfer service is so convenient. Overall this hotel is just exellent in every way and deserves all the Awards it has achieved and much more. Here's to the wonderful team and management for creating such an amazing hotel and environment. Highly recommended...

Room Tip: There all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinead C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We stayed at the Rafayel and where so impressed with the staff who all had impeccable customer service.

Our room we stayed in overlooked the Thames and had the most amazing views. The room felt so luxurious and comfortable and I had the most relaxing nights sleep.

I also had the pleasure of dining at the Banyan. The food was absolutely divine. I will most definitely return again :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaye24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#88 of 1,077 in London
3,473 reviews
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,077 in London
3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#158 of 1,077 in London
2,823 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#230 Luxury Hotel in London
#262 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £104 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing