We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing night with fantastic views in the executive penthouse apartment suite”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #336 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Arrived at the hotel and without asking we were upgraded to an executive apartment suite over looking the Thames.... Desk staff were amazing, helpful and polite... Our suite was on two floors with two bedroom with winter gardens over looking Thames, kitchen, dining room (which we ordered room service for breakfast with also was fantastic!) we didn't want to go out like we had planned and also didn't want to leave! We wish we could have stayed a week at least... We used the spa which was beautiful and very clean and after sat out on the bar terrace and drank champagne all afternoon in the sun :) ....I would recommend this hotel to any one especially those looking for a romantic weekend away

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelface1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,124 - 1,130 of 2,077 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed 6 nights here. We were initially given a ground floor very dark room which was lit by lamps not central lights and it only had one window in the corner of the room. We also noticed on returning from dinner a bad smell in the room. We advised reception staff in the morning and on returning that evening returned to our room. It was even more pungent & after a staff member came to the room to check it out, he agreed it was not good. We were shown a one bedroom apartment & were moved there fairly promptly. This was an excellent outcome as we had a full kitchen, laundry facilities & an enclosed outdoor area. Location is serviced by a very frequent 170 bus service which stops right outside the hotel and takes you to nearby Clapham Junction or to Victoria. The hotel also provides a free shuttle to Clapham Junction or Clapham Common. If you stay here check out Red Pocket an excellent Chinese restaurant beside the helipad in the hotel next to Rafayels it's well worth the visit.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any apartments available they're well worth it particularly if you're havin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend and it was an excellent stay. I originally booked an amazon suite but got upgraded to a junior suite.

The hotel entrance is very impressive and the room was amazing. Some minor stains on the carpet, but you would have to really look to see them. The rest of the room was spotless and bathroom perfect.

The hotel is about a 10min walk from clapham junction, but overlooks the Thames. Apparently the hotel offers a shuttle service from clapham junction but I didn't realise until I got there.

On our way back from London I called the hotel and asked for a champagne bucket with ice to be left in the room with the champagne I had previously bought, to be put in it. This was no problem at all.

Overall, a fantastic hotel, helpful staff and beautiful rooms. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night for my partners bday. Had found it on a hotel comparison website, though found booking directly from their site, a better deal.

On check in the car was parked by a member of staff and overnight parking cost £15. I asked what our room was like and the lady said it was spacious...nothing else. We were explained about free use of the gym and spa and 50% off at the restaurant if two courses were ordered and 50% off on spa treatments.

Our room was lovely. An amazon room situated on a corner. It was spacious and modern with huge windows. The only downfall was we were on the first floor and looked out onto the street. This meant that we had to keep the blinds closed, but it wasn't a real problem.

We were provided with the usual tea and coffee, soap, towels, robes and slippers. Room was air conned and room service was 24 hours.

The spa and gym were small but clean. They had everything we needed and staff were friendly. As it was quiet, we had the place to ourselves though could see the space being an issue if it got busy.

We didnt eat at the restaurant as there was practically nothing on the menu for vegetarians although we would have loved to have taken advantage of the 50% off. Finding somewhere near by to eat was a bit of a mission and we were prob better off driving into town, but ended up eating at a thai 5 mins down the road.

When we returned, we decided to go to the hotel bar as we noticed it was advertised as 50% on a board by the lift. Unfortunately, this was not the case and when we complained about the false advertising to reception, no one could come up with a resolution. They kept mentioning dinner, but there was no mention of dinner on this board, just drinks - 50% off. Kindly the bar man gave us complementary drinks. I presume he could see the error. The restaurant and bar look on to the thames with beautiful views.

We had breakfast in bed the next morning, it was quite pricey, but was nice - scrambled eggs with mushrooms & salmon and a bakery basket - this was described to come with condiments but arrived with just butter.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay even with the cons described and we will be back. We loved the decor and the modern touches and for anyone that prefers a more traditional hotel, this may not be the one, but for us it was lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simmtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Don't be put off by Battersea location, free shuttle service and collection service to ClapJunc and ClapCommon tube is a great touch however a cab to Big Ben is only about £15. Rooms are stunning, views fantastic over the Thames and skyline beyond and priced very reasonably for London if you book direct and in advance. You won't be disappointed. Battersea powerstation is being redeveloped and will soon have its own tube station ; so prices will definately go up in a few years.
(TOPTIPS - ask for a room on the non helipad side if you want a quiter experience ; but if you have kids they may well actively want to watch the little copters landing just below their balcony - also use the restaurant - staying guests get 50% off..finally - book and take a river cruise from Westminister Pier - best view and coolest way to travel thru London.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from London Helipad Ask for a room on the higher floors for the very best views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for the stones gig last weekend. We walked from the tube station as you had to book the shuttle 30 mins in advance. To walk its about 30 - 40 mins. Rail station is about 20 mins walk. So the location isn't the most accessible, for journeys the other way the shuttle service was excellent and Ian and his colleague on the shuttle were great. At the hotel the receptionist guy (Faddy) seemed a bit flustered and made no small talk. The room was nice, very spacious and modern, but not as homely or as nice as other hotels ive stayed at in London (Cumberland, Doubletree Tower Bridge) I rang reception and asked if the bed could be split to a twin as I was staying with my dad, they were very helpful and said they could add another bed not a problem. We went out to the gig, which was awesome just to add :-) and when we arrived back at the hotel we went for a drink in the bar which was full of wedding revellers who were snobby and arrogant, not an issue really just making the point, we got a table outside, had a laugh, enjoyed our drink and went to bed. Upon arriving back at the room the bed hadnt been split or another bed added, it wasn't a real issue but the principle that I had asked. Upon checking out again wasn't asked if everything was ok with the stay or had we had a nice time or anything like this. I was reviewing this hotel as a mystery guest just by chance given the option when I booked it. All in all this is a very nice hotel but considering the rating and award of top 25 trendiest in the UK I was a little disappointed and it didn't meet my expectations. I'm normally pretty easily pleased, but in this case it was below my expectations, it's a shame that some of the staff let the place down.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J4MES2O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Other than a used paper tissue under the bed and weird smell of weed in the room, this hotel is a top notch. Luxurious, spacious, good value and located by the river Thames I really enjoyed my stay there. Eco-friendly arragements in the rooms gave also a nice caring atmosphere to the overall visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TuhoJuho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#96 of 1,076 in London
3,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in London
#25 Best Value Hotel in London
#70 Luxury Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £92 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing