We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #319 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The only down side is the location of the hotel as its a little out of the way for getting into the city. A shuttle is available to Clapham Junction, but its not ideal. If it was sited the other side of the river it would cost so much more.

Our room was perfect and breakfast was excellent with the added benefit of a magnificant view of the Thames. Rooms are large, modern and have decent air conditioning that actually controls the room temperature.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Z1GSTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,025)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 2,025 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in hotel only one night, Hotel was very nice.
Receptionists seemed to be tired but profesional and nice and bellboy was fantastic and funny guy.
Room was large and very fancy. Bed has smaller size and it was too soft for me. We had some problems with conection of laptop and TV and we couldn´t set the aircondition. Bathroom was great. We realy enjoyed headshower and water masage.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ettelwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

This hotel is gorgeous. We stayed there a few months ago and loved it, and especially after staying at other places we really appreciate this one. The hotel is gorgeous and everyone is happy to help. Our room was on the first floor, and was really hi-tech and modern. I love the way everything is done by your hotel card, for lights etc. This then meant it didnt need to remind us to turn the lights off or we'd forget where the key was. The bathroom was AMAZING! Bigger than some of the whole rooms we've stayed in before, and there was a mirror the whole side of the bathroom. The bed was lovely and the windows were the whole side of the room. The mini bar was tempting but expensive, but this is too be expected. We were on the floor where you could go to the end of the corridor and go up onto the roof of the restaurant for AMAZING views of the thames, and it was easier to pop out for a cigarette. The restaurant was also very nice, and only steps outside of the hotel, and they gave hotel guests a special deal. The only problem was the location, it wasnt central but there was a few shops around to pop out for, however the hotel was good enough to stay in. We didnt use the spa, but the 'menu's looked great. would DEFINITELY stay here again

Room Tip: such a nice hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meg e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed here on business for one night, it was a very nice hotel and I would go back. Its in a great location and has all the facilities you could possibly want. The rooms are large, spacious, fairly clean (there was some bits on the carpets and dubious looking hairs in the shower), the bathrooms are big, lovely powerful showers with large over head shower, hand help and body jets. I stayed in just a room suite with enough room to host a small party but some of my colleagues stayed in the 2 & 4 bedroom apartments which have stunning views of the Thames and London's skyline, these apartments are on 2 floors and have dining area, kitchen, WC's as well as en-suites and lovely floor to ceiling glass baloneys.

The staff are all very friendly and professional, the bar is a good size and the bar men is a hoot. My only criticise is the food; we had a 3 course meal in the restaurant and all 3 courses were not very nice. The started in fairness was probably just down to my taste as others finished theirs with no problems but the mains were coming out cold, some people had veg on their plates and some didn't, it was coming out slow so half the table has theirs and the other half were waiting a good few minutes meaning that the ones that had their were forced to start and we were all eating at different times making toasts awkward, then lots of different plates of veg came out but some had already finished their meals, it was just a bit of a chaos. The desserts were a real let down, alot had the crème brulee and it was so runny it was like custard!! Anyway, if we are planing a stay there are so many great restaurants around this hotel I would recommend visiting them. Breakfast was fine, room service was great.

All in all, the hotel is great, decorated perfectly, its got a really enchanting spirit and I had a great time.

Room Tip: We had a good 30 rooms booked and everyone loved their rooms so I don't think you can go far wro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed at Hotel Rafayel last night for our pre-Xmas treat. Previous reviewers have mentioned it's inaccessibility and it has to be said it's not in the best area for public transport but the hotel does run a 5 seat shuttle bus, Transport for London bus number 170 runs from outside to both Victoria & Clapham Junction & as a guide, a black cab from Clapham Junction to the hotel cost £6. So it's not a deal breaker.

First impressions are reasonably good. We started off in a Thames Room which looked to be finished to a high standard and the view was amazing. Sadly, we had a massive problem with the shower which was faulty & we were moved to an apartment, the only accommodation vacant on the night. The apartment, whilst fine, was not of the standard of the room which we'd actually booked and really wanted to spend our night in. We also ended up having an issue with a broken base in the bed in the middle of the night! Clearly we were not meant to be there.

We spent a couple of hours in the Crystal Bar where I ate a starter & main course, both of which were perfectly fine &, with a 50% discount, very reasonable. They didn't add up to 5* dining though, no matter how charitable you may be. And the bar, whilst attractive, is small & lacks any sort of ambience. I imagine though that on a sunny afternoon/evening it would feel entirely different as it looks directly onto the Thames.

We spoke directly to the staff about our issues within the rooms & came to a very satisfactory agreement. Throughout our stay we commented on the fact that whilst the hotel itself is much more like a good 3*, the staff that we dealt with gave 5* service which made all the difference.

Bearing in mind the price of a room at the Hotel Rafayel [which is good for London] and as long as you remember that it's not a 5* hotel, it offers good value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MogirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is the second time that myself and my boyfriend had stayed at the Rafayel on the Left Bank and we were yet again thoroughly impressed. We stayed in an Amazon Room and it was both spacious and comfortable.

Unfortunately this time due to a tight schedule, we were unable to eat at the restaurant Banyan, however it is truly fantastic and we would highly recommend it from the last time that we stayed. Their curries and lobster ravioli were to die for, along with the cocktails!

The staff are always pleasant and welcoming and were quick to ask if we wanted any help with our luggage. There is also a valet parking service which we have used every time and is worth the extra charge as you do not have to worry about your car!

When I booked I asked for a late checkout and was told that this could be granted, however when we checked in we were told this would be at a charge of £20 per hour. This was a little disappointing as we were not told this on the phone but they redeemed themselves by offering us an hour complimentary.

Thank you again for a lovely stay and we can't wait to come back next time - and to stay for longer!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the 3rd floor are slightly more noisy as they are next to the spa and gym, however idea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natmoraviec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We booked this hotel after reading good reviews on here so we thought we'd give it a try.. On arrival we were greeted by a nice person on reception, it was just a shame we could barely understand what she was saying which was frustrating. We were excited to see our room as it was branded as 5* star quality; straight away we were quite disappointed with the features of the room. The bed was very small but claimed to be a king size on the website.. maybe it is for midgets...? The lack of lighting in the rooms also must be to hide the splatters we found of a drink on the side table from the previous guests plus dust that hadn't been cleaned away. I then found some rather botched DIY work in one of the cupboards.. Scratches on the door? not what you should be finding in a luxury 5*star hotel?! We dined in the restaurant which was also distinctly average. It was a 50% off deal with 2 courses from the a la carte menu. There is no way we would have paid the full price £20 each for a curry based on the flavour and presentation. Those kind of prices I'd expect to pay at Gordon Ramsays restaurant, and this certainly was not it. The bruschetta to start with was nothing to write home about either. Staff were less than friendly in the restaurant, and again we struggled to understand accents.

On checkout we found it quite alarming that one of the staff was listening to every word we said to the girl on reception. We guessed this must have been the manager witnessing the conversation as I've noticed they do like an argument on here regarding people's reviews. We were asked how the stay was and didn't feel comfortable in feeding back our disappointment due to the presence of the manager lurking in the background. Maybe the hotel should take the comments off tripadvisor on board rather than arguing back with customers if they want to keep them.

Location is not ideal if you are travelling by tube as it is a 45 minute walk from clapham common. They do a shuttle service however there is only 5 seats and runs every half hour requiring you to ring in advance. London is a busy place to be in and after a long day it's nice to get back to the hotel quickly.

All in all this is definitely not a 5 star hotel if you are expecting it to be of that standard.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Director at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2013

Dear Guest


Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.


We have always acknowledged our shortcomings on this site but also in course highlighted our strengths, and use this space to let our customers know our side of the story. We have been one of the most reviewed places as we encourage it, and subject ourselves to the rigours of public opinion.


Firstly we would like to respond to your comments of our staff. When staffing, we believe in giving equal opportunities. We have over 20 nationalities working for us and spoken English is an essential criterion for employment. We accept the limited language skills of some of our staff, but they do speak English, which is a must to work in any hotel. However their accents differ and maybe you were not impressed the way they tried to communicate. With reviews in excess of 1000 our service is categorised above 4 stars in this forum.


With regard to the comment about our bedrooms, we keep repeating ourselves that there are 5 room categories of rooms which you could have chosen from. All our rooms are equipped with Hypnos beds sized adequately to the category of rooms. They have state of the art Daikin air conditioning which is noiseless and our bathrooms are fitted with Bristan rain showers with more pressure of water but less consumption. A unique Philips-designed lighting scheme which works on sensors in the night, with energy saving light bulbs fitted throughout the hotel. Free high speed Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel as well. We have a maintenance team working day and night, to ensure the property is maintained to the highest standards.


Our Banyan restaurant is renowned for its food and services and we think your view about food is not fair either. We have over 2500 reviews on various websites and forums rating us averaging over 90% positive. We have maintained the prices and the discounts in our restaurant for the past four years and have had many renowned chefs from around the world, who have tasted our food, and had nothing but compliments about the food and the service received from our staff.


We are very surprised that you found it disturbing to find a manager behind the reception counter, as we would have expected you to have been glad to see one as this would have given you the opportunity to voice your dissatisfaction there and then for our immediate attention. We never try to create a false impression of being the best, but certainly focus on ways and means to maximize guest’s comfort and experience. More than 70% of our clients are repeat guests over the past four years which is an indication of the quality of our establishment and staff.


As far as our location is concerned, we never fail to highlight that we are located in Battersea and guests who come to ‘Rafayel’ make an informed decision in choosing our hotel. We have tried to address and mitigate the inconvenience insofar as possible, by providing a free shuttle service. About the free shuttle, it would be worthy to note that we are the only hotel to provide this service. We have never heard of any of our guests walking to the hotel from Clapham Common. You are probably the first guest to do so. However, had you called the hotel, our complimentary shuttle which operates every half hour could have easily picked you up from the Clapham Common station. Further, the bus (170) stops right outside the hotel, which operates between Clapham Junction and Victoria and is a very convenient connection to Central London. In fact, most guests are surprised how easy and quick it is to get to Victoria from the hotel.


Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on another occasion.


Kind Regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#153 of 1,075 in London
2,793 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#108 of 1,075 in London
3,277 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#229 Luxury Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £109 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing