We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #292 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed here on the 04/03/2014.10/10. We were geted with cards, chocolates and rose petals on the bed. Excellent hotel! The complimentary shuttle service to Clapham Junction every 15 minutes is excellent and really makes up for the fact the hotel is slightly out. Hotel staff are very friendly and happy to help with everything. The spa facilities were fab! Our room was perfect! it was spacious and light. The bathroom- spotless! Very large shower and a lovely bath tub with a television on the wall which is a great touch! The lights and temperture could be controlled using a remote. We requested breakfast to be delivered to our room in the morning and within 10 minutes it had arrived. The resturant was beautiful, the food, the service and the views were all amazing. I recommend this hotol to all!. You won't be let down. Just want to say a huge thanks to all staff at the hotel who made this stay so pleasureable. Will defintely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllaLondon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,092
    446
    219
    82
    47
See reviews for
157
976
106
331
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner this week, the service was impeccable the hotel room was exquisite. It was our anniversary and upon opening the door to the room we were greeted with a card and chocolates from hotel staff , rose petals on the bed . A private Jacuzzi and a walk in shower with jets . The lighting you could control from our tv remote , they delivered an xbox free of charge to the room with games , the breakfast was faultless , everything about this hotel was certainly 5 star . They have thought of everything imaginable . Even tho location is out of Central london which for us was nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of city life and there are no many amenities in the area all you have to so is call reception and they will get you what ever you like . The shuttle service is brilliant and free of charge . They take you to either clapham common or clapham junction so you can get home easily . The spa facility's you must make use of and the gym is high tech with machines for everyone . They had a library which was filled with some brilliant books and it was the perfect quiet spot to get your head stuck in a book if you felt like it. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone . It's the most amazing hotel I have stayed in so far an I would go as far as to say it beats the savoy any day . Thank you to the staff for there pleasant and helpful attitudes towards our needs your the definition of perfect customer service.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pyramid123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston Point, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I stay at the Rafayel a couple of times a month. Every stay has been exceptional in the quality of the property, the great staff and the outstanding food at the restaurant. It is right on the Thames with many of the rooms having views overlooking the water as does the restaurant. The rooms are well appointed, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are huge. There is a free shuttle to a train/over ground station which will take you into Central London or the West End. It is a bit further but the quality of the hotel for the money is well worth the bit of extra time it can take to get to certain parts of London. You can walk to Battersea Park along the paved riverfront path and enjoy that amazing area with gardens, fountains and a small zoo. Parking is £15/night, half of the price for any other 5-Star hotel in London and there is free wifi which works quite well. Businessmen, couples and families with kids all would enjoy this hotel. the restaurant is reasonably prices and serves cocktails. The breakfast buffet is very good with eggs cooked to order and served to your table.

Room Tip: If you drive, just park in front of reception or the restaurant and give your keys to the reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKWill99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

This Hotel should never be a 4 star never mind a 5 star .My family went to London for New year break and this hotel totally spoilt our stay in |London.The service was terrible in every area.
Ask for a glass in the bar to go with a bottle of wine we ordered that took 15 mins after the bottle arrived.Order a beer 20 mins later you would have to go and ask at the bar again.The rooms were very dark you couldnt see properly in the rooms we had three rooms and they were all the same.The noise was terrible every little car noise from the street could be heard and we could also hear peoples conversations walking past god knows what the double glazing is made from.We paid a very high premium for the rooms as we were staying new year and it was the worst experience in a hotel I have had.I travel all over the world and was still amazed at how bad it was for a so called 5 star hotel.We arrived and there was no conciege or anyone to help with our bags we had valet parking but couldnt find anyone to take care of this so we left the car outside the reception and no one asked for 2 hours about the car.We paid the premium because they advertised that after a new years evening meal you could relax and view the fireworks accross london from the residents roof top terrace it sounded wonderful.

Infact whilst we were finishing our meal we could openly see non residents most of which where friends and family of the hotel staff as they greeted them with open arms. They brought push chairs were piled up outside the lifts blocking access.

We had wrist bands on like in an cheap all inclusive camp to allow us access to the roof top terrace this was a joke as we could not even get in the lifts up to the terrace it was packed with people unable to access the roof as well some of my family managed to get there and others didnt and spent New years waiting in jammed lift the organisation and safety was very bad.
I spent New Years Eve stroke of midnight with the manager/owner appologising saying he didnt know where all the people had come from whilst my Wife and daughter were stook elsewhere.
He offered us a £5 bottle of cheap sparkling plonk as an apology but the stay was the worst experience I have had in a Hotel of any standard.

AS we chedked out the next day, the reception area was full of people complaining about the similar experiencethey had. We were sat with one couple who complained about been served a cold meal and complained twice about having hair in their meal! We didnt have breakfast the next day as we were so put off by this experience we wanted to escape as quick as possible!!!!This is also the first review I have ever written as I was so appalled by this i think everyone should be made aware!

Room Tip: go some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andysenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm_Bass, Director at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Guest


We refer to your review on TripAdvisor. It is evident by now that we as an establishment welcome both positive and negative reviews from our valued guests and contrive to take on board constructive criticism and meticulously incorporate suggestions that help improve the quality of our services. But when a review is misrepresentative of facts and distorted to the extent it would damage the reputation of our hotel, we are left with no choice but to respond comprehensively to correct any misconception such a review might intentionally or unintentionally create.


We were surprised you chose to post an account of your experience at the Rafayel three months after your stay especially when you say your stay was an unhappy one. Unfortunately, we find that none of the points you raise reflect the quality of the hotel in any way nor does your review suggest how we could have improved your experience.


In any event, we have investigated your complaints thoroughly and would like to address them as follows:

It is unfortunate that you felt the lights were too dim in the room. We are an eco-friendly hotel that uses state-of-the-art Philips designed lighting scheme with energy-saving lamps which are installed throughout the hotel. Most guests understand this important feature which is a part of our “green” technology. You will appreciate that any use of ordinary light bulbs while claiming to be eco-friendly would be in complete contradiction of our principles, and a mis-sell of our brand. In your case, had you requested the Reception at the time, they would have gladly arranged for extra lights to be placed in your room.


We are surprised that you could hear vehicles from your room. All our rooms are fitted with double glazed windows and are therefore very well insulated from sounds that even withstand the noise from the heliport.


As far as the New Year’s Eve party is concerned, we had requested all the guests to come an hour early. However, most of them chose to go to the terrace 15 minutes before midnight. The unexpected breakdown of one of the lifts that night caused the crowd to build. Moreover, some of the residents also brought in too many guests despite restrictions. We tried to accommodate and make the best of the situation but these were unfortunate circumstances beyond our control. We do apologise for the inconvenience it caused you and your family. We shall take sterner steps to prevent it from happening the next time. On that note, we strongly deny your comment on friends and family of the hotel staff being amongst the guests. The hotel occupies four floors of the building whilst the rest are private apartments of residents; therefore it is very likely that they enter the lobby areas of the hotel from time to time to meet with friends or family.


We have held New Year Eve parties in the past very successfully with excellent music, good food at very reasonable prices and a rooftop terrace view of the fireworks. The number of guests that New Year’s night lends credence to our popularity. It is but understandable that given the inflated number of people, there may have been some delay in serving drinks but this is normal in any facility on such occasions. It is unfair for you to label our complimentary drink as “a bottle of cheap sparkling plonk,” which was offered as a gesture of apology. We pride ourselves on serving the best quality and we certainly do not sell any glasses of wine or champagne of that calibre let alone bottles.


We absolutely disagree with your comments on the absence of a valet to park your car and lack of luggage assistance. It is mandatory for our Front Desk staff to assist guests with their luggage at the check-in point with the offer to have their vehicles parked in our basement car park by one of our drivers. It is inconceivable for any car to be parked in our courtyard for two hours on day as busy as the New Year’s Eve.


You claim you have travelled all over the world and mention that this is the first time you have ever written a review. With all due respect, the fact that it took you so long to post a negative review leads us to believe you took an impulsive decision to write with the intention to discredit us and tarnish our establishment’s reputation. A bad experience at the hotel usually motivates a disappointed guest to air his complaints immediately rather than wait for 3 months.


Having said that, we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the ‘Rafayel’ and sincerely hope that you give us the opportunity to prove that this was a one off disappointment that you experienced and look forward to meeting you on the occasion of your next visit.


Kind regards
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

You will definitely not experience a stay like this closer into London for the price of a room at Rafayel.

We stayed on February 1st in an Amazon room as a birthday treat for my partner. Arrival is made special by being able to park right outside the main doors to the rear, then a concierge guides you to the underground parking, which cost us £15 for the night. Reception is magnificent and my partner suspiciously began to question how much I'd paid for the night (always a good sign)! Checking in was smooth, it wasn't at all busy there and staff were friendly and happy to help with any information we asked for.

The same concierge showed us to our room, very attentive and polite. Synthetic rose petals had been laid on the bed before we arrived and a birthday card left for my partner, all on my request and she loved it. The room is very big, with a super comfortable queen sized bed, a couch, desk and floor to ceiling windows. The only downside was that our room overlooked the road at the front of the hotel but I did know that in advance; I think it would have cost the same to have a smaller room (Yangtze room) partly overlooking the Thames but I opted for the space instead. A large room with a Thames view was more.

The bathroom is absolute luxury. There was literally enough room to swing several cats in there. You could probably hold a small party in there. A deep bath with TV screen in the wall above one end, a large separate shower with overhead shower and jets facing you, and instructions hanging on the outside of the glass just in case all the knobs leave you slightly confused. We could switch between full lighting and small blue-ish strip lighting on either side of the mirrored wall. Towels are soft and the most important feature of any hotel room: the whole place was IMMACULATE. Not a speck of dust anywhere.

The room seemed to be sound-proofed because we didn't hear a single sound during our whole time in there. There was an ipod dock and some other fan-dangle machinery on the desk which we managed to hook up to our phones to play music through speakers in the ceiling. The room temperature control was digital and really easy to use, it began at 22 degrees which perhaps could have been too warm if we'd stayed later in the year, but we switched between that and 28 degrees accordingly.

If you stay here, do go up to the roof terrace which is open until 11pm I believe. It faces the Thames and is not too high, was beautifully lit and if it hadn't been winter would probably have made a really nice place to chill out, night or day.

We had a peek at the jacuzzi and pool, both very small and too cosy for more than one couple at a time, but it was beautiful and also empty at 7pm, we would have tried it had we brought our costumes.

Leaving the hotel for the evening meant catching a minicab into town (around £15 to Covent Garden) but I've read the hotel offers a ride to Clapham Common or Clapham Junction station every half an hour until 10pm. Arriving back in around midnight we didn't bump into a single other guest and decided to roam the lobby and hallways on each floor for a bit of a nose around. There is space galore in this hotel, and lovely touches like a lounge area on the second floor; we found two massage chairs which unfortunately we couldn't get to work but that could have been the alcohol's fault...

Breakfast was included and we called reception 15 minutes before breakfast stopped being served and asked if it was still possible to eat. They were happy for us to go down but the last guests were leaving and staff had begun putting the buffet away, however a friendly staff member mentioned that we could order from the menu. I had scrambled egg with smoked salmon and it was wonderful, but would have left me hungry if I hadn't grabbed a few bits from the buffet table before they whisked it all away. If you don't have breakfast included, the menu will set you back a fair amount, I think my choice would have been nearly £8 but considering the service, quality of food and the surroundings, still worth it depending on your budget. Also, we were charged in the end for the tea and coffee we had, which I thought should have been included in the breakfast, but not complaining, excellent value overall. The restaurant overlooks the Thames and there is quite a tranquil feel there, asides from a number of joggers running past outside who look as though it might be their regular Sunday morning route.

Before we left we had a quick look around the other rooms as one or two were left open for cleaning I assume. We spotted a small dark room with no view really, still decorated to a high standard but probably more suitable for lone travellers (Mississippi room maybe?).

Checking out was fine and quick, again we were showed back to our car by the concierge.

All in all the best hotel I've ever been to and cheaper than many of those! We will absolutely be returning and hope to try out a river-facing room next time. Thanks to all staff at rafayel for making our stay so special.

Room Tip: If you want space and tonnes of it, go for an Amazon room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LNG85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Had a wonderful time at this hotel as upon arrival we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment with a side view of the river. It was very clean and the view was breathtaking in the morning. Staff were really polite and the gentleman who runs the shuttle service to the station is so polite. Over all I would recommend for anyone looking for the whole package in a hotel to give this place a visit. The place is really affordable and cheap for the service provided. Absolutely amazing and we are definitely returning very soon!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellz0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is a little different from the big chains, and a nice surprise as a result. The location is a little off beat but they run a pick-up and drop-off service from the tube/train station, make sure you take it as the walk isn't that great (I did it). The rooms are slightly different to the typical layout and finishes, part marble part carpet floor, spacious and comfortable although the I thought the space given over to a 'reception' area of the room would have been better utilised with a sofa. The bathroom was very large, well equipped, clean and had a great multi-point shower even though it takes 20 mins to figure out how it works (why do people still put controls where you can't get at them without getting wet and/or sprayed with cold water?!). Nice place, nice service and probably a good location for a walk along the river in the summer. Will book again.

Room Tip: Ring for a pick up or get a cab from the station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DMELHUISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#87 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Property: Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing