We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10/10 for everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #317 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed here for four nights. 7 adults and 3 kids. Everyone had a blast since the spaces are huge, clean and comfortable. The kids had ample space to play around. And the adults had closed balconies to enjoy. The service at the hotel is a must mention since the staff are very helpful and professional. Overall 10/10 for everything!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZSKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

838 - 844 of 2,052 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Best English Breakfast I ever had and the staff is also very professional especially a Polish lady , her name is AGA. The room is very clean and bedsheet , changed daily. Toilet is really very very new and clean.

Room Tip: Highly receommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RADStaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I booked a room here for myself and 2 friends last weekend. We had a very enjoyable stay, made all the better by staff who were extremely helpful and polite. The reception and service provided really is fantastic.

The hotel itself is in an ideal location situated a stone throw away from Clapham junction with all its many restaurants and bars. There is a regular shuttle taxi (every half an hour) that will take you back and forth from the station to the hotel - extremely useful and free of charge!

We got upgraded on the 2nd night of our stay to one of the duplex apartments overlooking the Thames which was fantastic and a very kind gesture. Thank you! Would really recommend booking the apartments as a result.

I had stayed a few weeks ago at the Pestana in Chelsea paying way over the top more for an average size room and experiencing absolutely dire customer service which was almost laughable. Needless to say I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone. I still to this day (after posting my review on TP on my return home) have not received any feedback from the hotel which just goes to show the mentally of the management.

Thank you Hotel Rafayel for a wonderful experience - we will return!

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the Thames
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 117Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked because we had a day planned at Royal Ascot and the hotel was reasonably priced, had good write ups on here and offered a shuttle service to/from Clapham Junction for the train to Ascot.

We telephoned to arrange to be picked up at Clapham Rail station 30 minutes before we new our arrival time only to be passed around and finally told they were very busy but would phone back to confirm. They didn't. On arrival at Clapham rail station we phoned again. This time we were told that the earliest that they could pick us up would be in 35 minutes but that if we got on the 170 bus it would drop us just outside the hotel.

Not a good start but at least our room was ready. The room had a large entrance foyer, huge bathroom with brilliant power shower, plenty of space to make drinks and change in but the bed was cramped in a corner surrounded on 2 sides by full length glass windows overlooking the car park entrance and main road. We would have loved it if the view was of palm trees by the ocean but Lombard Road? The windows were not even 1 way glass - we checked. Loads of unusable space but nowhere to sit and relax.

The shuttle to/from Clapham rail station for our day at Ascot worked ok except that we were advised to book the 9.00 am shuttle service for our 9:28 train. We changed it to 8:30 and were glad we did because it was late leaving the hotel and the roads were clogged with traffic.

We had 1 meal in the restaurant and chose from the cheapest end of the menu. The food was ok. We were a little surprised to find that the bottle of Pinot G was more expensive here than the same bottle was at Ascot racecourse.

Breakfast was good. Buffet style with everything you'd expect and all freshly cooked. They cook your eggs to order but straight away so if you want cereals/fruit 1st then order your eggs after.

Didn't try the spa facilities.

Good Points:
Breakfast
No 170 bus is convenient for Victoria and stops right outside the hotel.
Power shower
Cleanliness

Not so good:
Shuttle service
Location

Probably wouldn't stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank djcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Let me start by explaining that the room we ended up with was great, the king size bed was more than comfortable, giving us a great nights sleep, the air con worked well and the bathroom was brilliant. The bathroom was very clean, and modern with a great shower that was more than powerful enough, and stayed at the right temperature. The bathroom ceiling was a bit tatty, with paint peeling, but I think this was just caused by the steam from showering.

The first room they gave us was on the ground floor, and even with the semi see through blinds closed, every guest entering or leaving the hotel can see you laying in your bed. We complained to reception and they reluctantly moved us upstairs, once we'd promised to eat in their restaurant that evening.
The ground floor rooms are very overlooked, and I'd recommend making sure you call ahead for an upstairs room.

We used the complimentary shuttle service to the train station, which was easy to organise, with about a 10 minute wait from reception, which was fine.

In the evening we decided to take advantage of the 50% off food at the in house restaurant. The food here was absolutely 5*. it tasted great and was well portioned. with the 50% off we found it to be very reasonable for the type of food and service we received.

When we finished our meal, we decided to try the cocktails. As a trained cocktail barman, i was expecting our drinks to be at least a satisfactory standard. When the cocktails arrived we were impressed with the presentation - looking very glamorous. Upon tasting the cocktails, they simply tasted like alcohol hand gel. At this point we decided to save the embarrassment of the staff seeing us not drink our cocktails, so we took them to our room to pour away. Priced at £9.50 each, it's pretty expensive stuff to be cleaning the loo with.

The spa was ok, very clean with friendly staff, and almost empty - the only issue coming when we tried to book treatments. we phoned a couple of months in advance to book a massage, and were told they were unable to accept bookings and we could simply walk in on the day. When we phoned a couple of hours in advance to check what time was best, we were informed that other people had somehow managed to book all the slots, and we were told we should have called in advance. This somehow spoilt our trip, as the reason we booked this hotel was for the spa and massage treatments.


Overall, we had a good stay, and would definitely return for a meal (Without cocktails) but we'd find another spa hotel if we wanted to stay somewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room to avoid being overlooked, avoid the cocktails and insist on booking ahead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one night at the start of June for a theatre trip. We drove and the parking was very reasonable. The hotel is just outside the centre but there is a bus stop just outside that takes you to the Victoria tube station. On arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite which was a lovely surprise. The room was very nice and huge and had a jacuzzi bath and gorgeous neom toiletries. We had an issue with one of the lights in our room that wouldn't turn off when we wanted to go to sleep, this was dealt with very quickly and professionally by the staff especially considering that it was very late by the time we got back to the hotel. A continental breakfast was offered on the house which was a lovely gesture. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful. Overall I was very impressed with the hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sfl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

thanks for a fabulous start to our holiday ..arrived travel weary (2 couples ) travelling from Oz. Booked in here as wanted to be near to my daughter who lives in Battersea. We were there at 10.00am and they booked us straight into our upgraded apartment with wonderful Thames views. 3 huge bedrooms and 2 ensuites and 3 toilets, massive kitchen and lounge area. We felt so spoilt the views were amazing. Property was clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. couldn't believe our luck . just popped on the bus outside the property that took us into Victoria station ..so access to London was not a problem. thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#95 of 1,078 in London
3,510 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London ExCel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Whitechapel
Qbic Hotel London City
Qbic Hotel London City
#111 of 1,078 in London
3,361 reviews
Mayfair
45 Park Lane - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#226 Luxury Hotel in London
#262 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £103 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing