We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #319 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2010

this truly was a great hotel from the minute we got through the front door...receptionist very professional and polite and the bellboy took out bag to our very spacious room...the very airy corriders and room itself smelt fantastic and all the eco things they have including the hand made bed,matress and pillows to die for made it a very comfortable day..
they have big floor to ceiling windows so you get maximum light exposure and the fridge is fully stocked..the shower is fantastic with some sort of hydro jet system (not sure what they are called), but all in all we wished we could have stayed longer to see the restaurant and the cigar bar along with the spa treatment!!! also the roof has amazing views over the thames and we will definately be back after the summer and would recommend this to anyone who appreciates a little bit of luxury at an affordable price!!

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank andy7070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,010)
There are newer reviews for Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,826 - 1,832 of 2,010 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2010

A gorgeous room and hotel, which had 5 star quality and luxury but with a unique boutique feel. The hotel provides a great location for easy access to Kings Road, Chelsea, Battersea Square and Northcote Roads for great shopping and dining experiences. Also good transport links to central london. Will definately stay at Hotel Rafayel again, and would happily recommend for both personal and corporate affairs.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seb_b33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2010

I hosted a hen party at the Rafayel this weekend and can commend them for their excellent service, facilities, food and rooms. The staff were brilliant at helping with any request, large or small and were also great in the planning stages of the weekend. We had wonderful spa treatments and delicious food in the restaurant before the team at the hotel booked us cabs to the Kings Road (a mere 10 minute/£10 black cab ride). I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to host an event such as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CO163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

One of the best hotels we have stayed in ages - even being a global traveller. Staff is very friendly, the views are amazing and allthough you don't have the best connections to Central London, you will always enjoy your journey and the brilliant views on the way to Battersea. Did not test room service, however the Banjan Restaurant offers brilliant salads. Tasting an home-made cupcake is also a must.

The rooms are very well equiped, however try to avoid the Standard rooms if travelling as a couple, since they offer single size beds only - but have seen by far much worst in London.

The bathrooms are spaceous and very zen and the organic products and eco-friendly engagement have also convinced us to choose this place.

Only critic point: housekeeping was unable to arrange me cotton buds...

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecletricpuls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2010

The Hotel:
Hotel Rafayel is very new and clean. The Mississipi room was very well appointed if a little small. The shower was great. There is a small cupcake boutique in the lobby which lets you have free tastings...and they were great.
The Staff:
Very helpful and friendly. One of the strengths of this hotel.
Location:
Not great. It is on the River Thames, but the neighbourhood is semi industrial which was odd. The train connections are also not good, with a 10min walk to Clapham Junction. The hotel does offer a great (and free) taxi service to the train station. The best public transport in the 170 bus which stops outside the hotel.

Overall a good hotel, but if you want to see the sights and shops in London, i'd go for something a little more central.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JLaw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

I would like to give these guys a chance.

Great staff and it was never hidden from us that they were trialling their launch

There were faults but there were some serious positives

I would be happy to spend time with the management to discuss my opinions as I would like to stay there again

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2010

First I have to say we did not actually stay, but visited the hotel where two members of family, and very young child, were staying. What I'm giving here is my observations of being in a room,, bar and seeing staff. We got a good looka round and facillities looked very good - gym and room all well equipped and modern. The staff were very friendly and dealt with adding a cot to the romo in a smooth manner - even if the first one was impossible to put up they simply replaced it. All the work was done for you, which was good to see, and done with a smile. The room was well furnished with a good view of the river. The restaurant and bar had a river level view and I expect with summer coming will permit outdoor dining. The menu certainly was good and reasonably priced. Drinks were similar for a London hotel.

The downsides I could see were the location (as well as being it's biggest asset), flats above and the entertainment in the bar.

Dealing with the "lounge singer" first there was a guy singing in the bar/restaurant (they're two levels of the same place) with the taped backgrounds for "swing" music. Presumably called "swing" as he hit so many bad notes as he swung from in and out of tune with a regular rythmn. Definately not 5 star on this point, bordering on crass. It cheapened the place a bit.

The block is actually a lot higher than the hotel space, with longer term accommodation taking up the higher floors. As you walk to the hotel you could be forgiven for thinking it's flats, and possibly council, with the number of toys and such which are clear on the balconies above. It's not an appealing view and again does the hotel no credit. It looks off putting.

The location suggests it is more of a business than holdiay hotel. If you're driving then it's easy to get to and going to be very comfortable to stay. If I was on business i'd be happy here. Using public transport is a different matter or going for a walk outside. The riverside of the hotel is a lovely view. The builders yards and walk back to Clapham Junction train station is not. This is a bit more "raw" London. It's interesting but not the best part of town by any means. There's a nice Thai restaurant about 5 minutes walk (also facing the river) whic his good value and good food.

The Helipad is right outside on the riverside. Watchintg Helicopers take off and land is fun, but noisy. Some rooms in the hotel are going to be very close to this. A plus or a minus, depends on who you are. For me it was a plus.

Very close to Chelsea and Fulham if you're travelling for soccer.

Overall I'd tell people travelling on London for business, particuarly if they have a car, that this is a hotel you should look at. For holdiays or breaks if you've got a car or don't mind getting taxis it's also going to be reasonable. I just think it's good, "got close to very good" but could just be that bit better.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen_Lloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Sunborn London
Sunborn London
#150 of 1,072 in London
2,756 reviews
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Covent Garden
Strand Palace Hotel
Strand Palace Hotel
#442 of 1,072 in London
9,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#229 Luxury Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: £109 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing