We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A real discovery, and worth crossing the river for...!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Ranked #273 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real discovery, and worth crossing the river for...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

I challenge anyone not to come away from this hotel utterly impressed by the quality of the rooms, efficiency and friendliness of the staff, and on site facilities. The decor and spaciousness of the rooms is particularly outstanding, and for a hotel of this calibre, it is certainly worth crossing the river for - and in my experience of using central London hotels for business purposes, I would definitely choose this over and above others that might be more centrally based.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186390Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    420
    208
    78
    44
See reviews for
148
934
102
324
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thrift
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We can not recommend this hotel enough. We arrived at the hotel and were automatically upgraded to a suite by the hotel as it was a special occassion. On arriving at our suite we could not believe the size ample space and lighting, a dining table, massive bathroom with bath, tv in the bathroom, shower with jets and luxury shower gel and shampoo and conditioner. Fluffy white towels and complimentary dressing gowns and slippers, lounge area with chairs and a tv with 27 channels and music on demand let alone the media panel in the room but most of all the view! The large clear windows looked out on the thames we could see the thames from every area of the room and it was absolutely beautiful. The bed was the most comfortable we had ever slept in with clean crisp comfortable bedding - pure indulgence and luxury.

There was not a spec of dirt it was totally clean and tidy looked completely brand new.

We ate at the Banyan on the Thames and were looked after by Kamin who is a fabulous waiter - nothing was too much trouble and he even gave us a complimentary dessert of chocolate brownies (if you believe you have had the best ever brownies think again) they are absolutely delicious. The Sheik Kebab was marinated for 24 hours and was the best I have ever tasted in fact all of the food was absolutely divine, cooked to perfection. This included the breakfast offering also.

Treat yourself to a cocktail I would recommend the singapore sling - Albert in the cocktail lounge has people come from all around the world for his cocktails and we can see why we have had cocktails in Langham Hotel, Raffels in Singapore and I can honestly say these are the best Singapore Slings we have ever tasted. Thank you Albert!!!

The spa treatments are also excellent and competitively priced.

Our thanks go to all the staff from the gentleman who parked our car, the nice man who carried our bags to our room and especially Alice Dias who made our stay one of absolute perfection. Thank you Alice very much.

We will return here shortly and recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThriftyThrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

This hotel really made the extra effort and made our stay really enjoyable even though we had high expectations in the first place! Food in the restaurant and breakfast was excellent, room was huge and very luxurious, location was the only down point, but the regular bus service every 10 mins or so meant that this wasn't an issue at all. Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri_36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Once we found this hotel (not particularly easy by public transport or car), we thought on first impression that the quality of the interior might make up for the fact that it is, in effect, in the middle of an industrial estate. Check in was smooth, they stored our luggage until the room was ready and offered us the free shuttle service to the tube. So far so good. The rooms are initially fairly impressive, comfy bed, sizeable bathrooms with all singing all dancing showers, but on closer inspection, stains on the walls and fittings hanging on a thread begin to show the hotels true character.
'Banyan on the Thames', the hotels restaurant and bar, offers overpriced bottled beers, nondescript wines and 'fashionable' Franco-Indian fusion food. The fact that as you arrive you are informed that guests have a 50% discount on a two course meal was the only enticement.
Service was pushy and abrupt, and apparently a smile was just too much to ask for at a full price of £60 a head. Breakfast didn't fair any better; we ended up at the greasy spoon 10 minutes away for a full English, at £30 including a mug of builders tea, served politely by a no frills Thai lady.
In short, Rafayel does by no account warrant it's 5* rating, and the sooner some big-wig tells them to pull their socks up, the better for all involved. Oh yes, our final experience was, as we were packing to leave, discovering a strange 'liquid' in our wardrobe, which had somehow leaked on several items of clothing. The staff laundered them and were full of apologies, but the fact that their guess at the liquid's appearance was that 'someone was stealing something, was interrupted and spilt it', suggests that they have no more faith in their establishment than we do.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveller-bxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

The hotel's position is appaling for transport and it can take half an hour before a scruffy mini cab turns up (on a Sat morning).
There were numerous problems with the booking, the wrong rates quoted. Make sure you check your booking confirmation thoroughly.
Also, be sure to get to breakfast quickly, as service is slow and some in our parties were told there was none left, even though they arrived before the end of published closing.
Would defintly not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MartinEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rafayel, Operation Manager- Chris De Saram at Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 October 2010
Dear Guest,

We refer to your review and note that you have given us a one-star rating. While we welcome constructive criticism from our guests wholeheartedly, doing our best to incorporate suggestions and recommendations, we do take exception to unwarranted criticism that does complete injustice to the quality and standard of our hotel.

We are one of the few hotels who take great pride in its location. We sell ourselves as a 'luxury hotel' in Battersea, advertising on our website why we are there, and providing links on all the commutes. In fact, our site is packed with information because of where we are. We do get hit hard on our location, but we can rightly argue that bus 170, which stops right at our doorstep, takes you directly to Victoria in 12 minutes and on the way stops at lower Sloane Square in the 9th minute, which is a 3-minute walk away from Sloane Square.

Our guests make an informed decision when they choose Rafayel. Naturally, they wish to take advantage of our beautiful rooms, their size and quality, excellent beds, state-of-the-art technology, impeccable services, 15 MB of connectivity for free, free phone calls, zero service charges, and other additions at no cost. We are the only hotel that employs a full-time painter to fix stains and wear-and-tear marks which shows that we maintain the aesthetics of our facility with the highest sense of integrity. You may not appreciate the shuttle car but the pick-up and drop-off services are free; the cars will soon be replaced but they are clean and functional. It is because of all these reasons that we are getting numerous rave reviews.

Our guests appreciate that although we are a fledgling business, we go to great lengths to ensure that they enjoy a cost-effective stay in the current economic environment complete with 5-star treatment and amenities. We are a top class, beautifully designed hotel but it is because of our location that the rooms are selling at attractive rates with so many free services. This is the reason we call it “affordable luxury.” Certainly, if one were in West End, prices would be far different; you cannot demand West End with freebies and pay Battersea prices. Therefore it is rather harsh on your part to be so severe in your review. Even our worst critics have lauded us for our stunning design and quality; the hotel’s entrance is littered with designed products. Our eco-credentials are impeccable – we are the only hotel in London where every bulb is 99.6% LED. We have a beautiful spa and Jacuzzi that is available for free, which you completely ignore.

We offer the finest food at our restaurant, Banyan on the Thames, that has earned fastest number of reviews in the shortest span of time - as of today 712 in 8 months - and is gold-rated on Top Table. Our breakfast is part of the restaurant and offers a variety of breakfast food. We realize we have shortcomings, and perhaps on some days are not able to satisfy our guests, but we try to make amends by waiving charges or offering some discounts. We punish ourselves for our shortcomings that is the whole concept of hospitality that we incorporate here.

Any lapse in breakfast service occurs because of an uncustomary influx of customers who live in our neighborhood and walk in for breakfast, as they do for lunch and dinner. The moment a guest complains we address it instantly and rectify the problem. We also say a big sorry. Unfortunately, there is a tendency to take us on task and harshly complain on literally the most trivial and menial of things to wangle a refund.

Having just 65 rooms, we are one that is reviewed with great passion on TripAdvisor. We are more reviewed than many other with far more rooms. The reason being that we are conscientious towards our guests and make sure they enjoy as comfortable a stay as possible.

When a guest arrives, we pick him at the station, his luggage is taken in, and he is offered iced tea or water for no charge while being checked in and then escorted to his room. If a guest experiences any discomfort, we waive the price of that service. Our rooms are expansively described sizewise on our website as Mississippi, Yangtze, Amazon, Thames and Nile. Even if you pay for the smallest room that does not have a river view, it still faces the street giving you a view of London’s cosmopolitan streets. The hotel is not in an industrial area, but right on the River Thames. It is in “The Beautiful South,” as architectural guru Stephen Bayley says. We, along with others in Battersea, are working hard to rejuvenate and regenerate the area. One tends to overlook that we are right opposite Chelsea but are working hard to overcome popular psychology. For us it is most important to bring footfall here going to lengths beyond the call of duty to ensure it, and perhaps being taken unfair advantage of. Such cruel kinds of reviews are not just in bad taste, but are counterproductive to the efforts of all Batterseans. We have the finest of SPA's at 50% discount, we have the best of Gyms with latest equipment, we have a Jacuzzi and steam room plus sauna and an exercise pool plus a great restaurant, all very greatly applauded on professional sites, your one curious judgment is brutal on us and does not help, as a corporation we intend to rebut it at best of our effort.

We enjoy the patronage of guests from all over United Kingdom and other parts of the world. You may not have enjoyed Battersea, but many people love it. There are all kinds of people with varying tastes; some for example who don’t enjoy the dimness of the eco-friendly LED lighting or the no-plastic policy, but we are avoiding wastage to reduce our carbon footprint to make a difference. These factors should be encouraged and are well highlighted before you make your decision to choose Rafayel.

Reviews are most welcomed as is constructive criticism, which we address accordingly. But we object to those that are a blatant attempt to destroy our business, hence this response. Your review that rates us as one star is callous and borders unfairness, we will assure everyone that we are what we promise and that is the challenge and gauntlet we throw to those who are unfair in their reviews.

Our management policy is to be honest, straightforward and completely transparent. We have never misled our customers nor pretended to be the Dorchester. We are a great boutique hotel that offers affordable luxury. More often than not we see customers astounded with our lobby and when we lead them to the rooms, the vow factor does greet us many times, it is a tall claim as we need to deliver on this and we will do it that is our self-confidence. Your kind of review make us work harder and keener, we will try even harder to satisfy but we not yield to this unfair critic. This kind of destructive review makes us as team to believe in working harder to avoid driving our business into the ground, is it fair?

We care and we stand for what we serve. We are open minded corporate people, we don't bury our heads in sand we face the music. Please do come again we will definitely do better, your kind of reviews just encourage us to work harder. Hopefully on value you will rarely find as good a hotel as ours.

Sincerely,


Chris de Saram
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed for a few nights to do the London tourist sights. Firstly it is worth pointing out that the hotel represents extremely good value for money if you are looking for a 5 star venue.

The welcome was very nice with a quick and efficient check-in and free chocolate cake. There was valet parking (£15 per night, but this was well advertised)

The hotel is some way out of the centre, but the 170 bus stop is literally right outside the front door. Make sure you buy an oyster card and pre-load it with credit. it is then easy to get around as the 170 bus takes you straight to Victoria station which is a main transport hub in London. You can get anywhere from there.

We had a standard room and the presentation was nice. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed very comfortable indeed.

Only a few points to mention. The shower cubicle leaked quite badly and this has meant some mouldy staining has appeared on the wall.

The room was quite dark and the lighting poor. I guess this is part of the hotel's aim to be energy efficient but it makes it very difficult to see what you are doing, for example applying make-up.

There is free internet included but there was no WIFI signal in our room. We were able to connect OK with the cable.

So only a few minor issues to sort out. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellercardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton-in-Arden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

My partner had dreamed of staying in a hotel with a thames view and as we we're planning a trip to the globe (which is on the same side of the river and on the same tubeline as the nearest tube to the hotel (clapham common).
What we didnt realise was that the nearest tube was three miles away and that the congestion in clapham leads to come expensive taxi rides. We also found out at the hotel that they do run a complimentary shuttle service to the tube (which inconviently stops at 9pm) We used this on one trip to the tub and despite ringing down to book at the requested 30 min before hand staff seemed to only arrange it once we went downstairs and we had to wait.
Whilst the staff were vagually friendly whilst checking in they continually stopped to do other tasks taking our checkin to take over 30 min and none of the staff really seemed to want to communicate clearly.

They upgraded our room and the room was fantastic (although in the new room there was already considerable wear and tear to the carpets and couch).. unfortuantly there was also an emergency services helepad outside our room so the chance of a quiet evening or lie in where non existant.

Upon departing form the hotel there was also a dead squirrel just outside the doors.

I'm also not sure about its eco credentials as it appears to have the same costcutting measures as most modern hotels and it boasts a carpark.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank firefairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Clapham / Battersea 
Pestana Chelsea Bridge Hotel & Spa London
Clapham / Battersea 
Crowne Plaza London - Battersea
K West Hotel & Spa
#268 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
Southwark
citizenM London Bankside
citizenM London Bankside
#88 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,054 reviews
Southwark
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
The Bermondsey Square Hotel
#243 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa

Property: Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa
Address: 34 Lombard Road | Falcon Wharf, London SW11 3RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clapham / Battersea 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in London
#71 Business Hotel in London
#200 Luxury Hotel in London
#227 Family Hotel in London
#263 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rafayel on the Left Bank boasts 70 designer "smart" rooms, champagne bar, riverside restaurant and conference facilities, exhibition spaces as well as the latest spa and beauty treatments and gym. Rafayel is one of the world's most advanced luxury green hotels and proves that hotels can dramatically reduce their carbon emission output without compromising on five-star luxury, quality or comfort. Located on the River Thames at the heart of London's most dynamic riverside development, with sweeping views across to Chelsea Harbour, Rafayel is minutes from the shopping areas of Sloane Square and Knightsbridge and is close to Victoria Station and London's major attractions. Rafayel provides a free shuttle service to and from Clapham Junction and Clapham Common on Northern line every 30 minutes from 7.30 AM to 10.30 PM. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Rafayel on the Left Bank - Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafayel On The Left Bank - Hotel And Spa
Rafayel On The Left Bank Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing